We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property Could Function Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Property Could Function Better”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

First you have to give them credit, this is a nice property, clean and in a great location for sightseeing, however, the staff needs help. Calls to the front desk were put on hold for eternity with no apologies and as if you are bothering them. An attempt to get waited on in the bar restaurant was futile, even after waiting for a long time, other patrons were immediately waited on as soon as they walked in (perhaps it would help if they had diversity training, just my opinion), we left after it became obvious that we were being ignored. Requests to speak to the manager to relay concerns were met by a less than accommodating front desk staff. Rooms are clean but relatively small for the money, in my opinion not a very good value.

Bottom line, loved the location, really nice property but not the service or the staff--training may help.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MDTraveler2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,437
    149
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
296
782
75
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great hotel with excellent staff. Room was extremely comfortable and in one of the most convenient locations for getting around downtown Vancouver. Food was good in Harksworth Restaurant but breakfast was expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed. The last time there wasn't enough time to enjoy the room or hotel facilities. This time we did and it was very relaxing. We stayed 2 nights. Staff were very helpful and pleasant and went out of their way for us as it was our 40th Anniversary. It's a hotel for a special occasion as it is expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuswapmg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was struck by the extraordinary focus placed on the countless touch points a guest encounters during their stay. Everything from the architectural refurbishments, the initial contact I had with the porter (even before emerging from my taxi), the daily interactions with each and every staff member I dealt with or simply passed in the common areas and the food and beverage are top notch. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farrell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This has to be the best hotel in town; why? service, service, service....and then the wonderful rooms (and bathrooms), terrace on the 4th floor, and the restaurant (recommended for dinner...and do make a reservation). Book here and you will thank me. It is centrally located, near great shopping areas, cafes, restaurants. In addition to the Hotel Restaurant, there are two great restaurants I recommend.... most highly: a) the Blue Water Café (recommended by the hotel website), and b) L'Abattoir (Gastown). Eat here and you will thank me again.

Room Tip: get the deluxe room....we stayed on the 11th floor, viewing the Art Gallery. Zero noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was my first trip to Vancouver and I chose Rosewood Hotel Georgia in large part because of its' convenient downtown location. The hotel is an easy walk to many attractions including Gastown and Chinatown.

I stayed here for two nights in March after a week's skiing at Whistler Blackcomb. The room was relatively small, but very well appointed. The service was excellent, especially the concierege desk who were very friendly & helpful. I also had a very nice hot stone massage at the spa - a gift from my wife and very much appreciated after the aforementioned skiing at WBC. I was disappointed in the onsite dining. Hawksworth restaurant at dinner was bit too eclectic for my tastes and breakfast was average at best. Hy's steakhouse aroung the corner is a much better option.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you have to be away from home and you have to stay in a hotel in Vancouver CBD, this is the only one. Only a 15 minute walk to Coal Creek waterfront, 20 to Stanley Park. Very central for Gastown, all businesses and shops in downtown. A 3 minute walk to the train station makes airport access incredibly simple.
Very well remodelled, retains historical decor but with modern ideas. Personnel are excellent, service outstanding. Restaurant has great food and menu, lounge bar quiet, terrace tapas bar good (but I was 30 years older than the rest of the clientele - my fault, not theirs!). Rooms very spacy with excellent wifi comms. Best hotel beds I've ever slept in.
For this standard, the price is extremely comparable with any other hotel, and the actual accommodation is far better.

Room Tip: There is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyRockDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Hotel Georgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Hotel Georgia

Property: Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Address: 801 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1P7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Hotel Georgia 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following its debut in the Roaring ‘20s, the Hotel Georgia came to be known as Vancouver’s most historic and elegant retreat. The opening of Rosewood Hotel Georgia in 2011 has returned Vancouver's most legendary hotel to its place as one of the select hotels worldwide. The hotel reflects timeless elegance, with 156 luxurious guestrooms and suites, Sense, A Rosewood Spa®, Reflections outdoor patio, 1927 Lobby Lounge, 9853 sq feet of function space, a fitness center, 52” indoor saltwater lap pool and Hawksworth restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood Hotel Georgia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing