We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous in every way.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous in every way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here a week. Impeccable service. Pool and hot tub + steam rooms are lovely. We spent 3 nights in standard and then upgraded to a suite w/ kitchen....which was worth every penny. Granted, the bathrooms are not as nice in the suite rooms as the standard rooms -- but the other amenities outweigh this minor inconvenience. We utilized the free bikes (there are 2) and enjoyed the city by bike for 2 of the 6 days. Staff didn't blink when I asked for my daily extra few containers (pods) of espresso for the in-room machine. Gorilla Food is just a few blocks away if your a vegan foodie....or there is a really great supermarket with absolutely everything you could ask for just 1/2 block away. Top quality hotel in all aspects. Merci!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justonetaste203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,063
    360
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
604
2,050
133
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

My husband booked this hotel online, we stayed 2 nights 11/23 & 11/24 and came back for a third (11/28) as our plans had changed. Even though we didn't book the third night online they gave us the same rate. Top notch hotel and top notch customer service, they couldn't do enough for us. The location is excellent, walking distance to so many places. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. W would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McKenzie175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

The wife and I weren't sure what we were getting with L'Hermitage. We weren't sure about the location or the hotel. Our worries vanished about .5 seconds after our arrival. The valets at the door greeted us warmly, discreetly eyeing our bag tags so they could address us by name. At this point, I should mention we had been on the Victoria ferry and we were dressed for "comfort", had "wind-styled" hair, and were carrying food and soda cans and a 1/2 finished bottle of wine. The Clampetts had come to the big city. Hugo, the canine concierge and holder of the greatest job in the world greeted us as a staff member led us to our room.
Between the location and the staff, this is now a must-stay when in Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

This hotel was by far the best of our trip through USA and Canada. We had a two bedroom suite with a balcony overlooking the pool. It was beautifully decorated and the beds were so comfortable. The nespresso machine was a bonus after terrible coffee in the US. Our children loved meeting Hippo the pet concierge also. The staff were always extremely friendly and helpful. The location was fantastic also with grocery store close by too. We can't wait to return on another trip to Canada.

Room Tip: For families ask for the room with the balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanaimo, bc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

This small hotel is within a few minutes' walk of the Queen Elizabeth theatre, BC Place, Granville and Robson street shopping, the Vancouver Art Gallery, and so much more. The staff are very personable and helpful. Our room - a one bedroom suite - was nicely furnished. The marble bathroom was extremely spacious, and I loved having a separate shower and tub, not to mention having the commode being behind another door. The bedroom was cramped; the king-sized bed was comfy. The room was hot at night - stayed at 75F despite our having turned the heat down to 65F. (If we'd opened the windows, that probably would have solved our problem). The fan/vent in the living room was surprisingly noisy, and what little noise there was in the hallway was a bit too easy to hear. The coffee from the in-room espresso machine was yummy.

We brought our small dog with us, and he was made to feel very at home by the staff. The hotel has a no-dogs-left-unattended-in-room policy, so we made use of the services of nearby WOOFection dog-sitting, who did a great job of looking after him while we were out for 5 hours in the evening. I would not leave this particular dog alone in a room even if it were an option (he's a barking risk - too much danger of him disturbing other guests), but our previous dog was a fantastic traveler and I prefer to have the option of leaving a good dog in a room. (I do get how this can become problematic, though!).

Hippo, the dog concierge, is adorable.

All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surf_grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

This was our 3rd time staying in this hotel. Each time we have had a different level of room. We love the boutique style hotel, its cozy atmosphere with a modern style. Location is ideal for shopping and events at The Ford Centre, Queen Elizabeth Theatre, Rogers Arena and Stadium. The beds are super comfortable , Bathrooms and kitchen amenities superb. The 5th floor lounge and breakfast room has a very relaxing atmosphere while looking outdoors at the salt water lap pool and hot tub. The breakfast buffet at a rate of 17.50 is fine. Probably could do better price wise elsewhere, but its convenient and well done. Was all that we needed. To top it off the staff is very professional, friendly, accommodating and attentive. The valet parking is a plus especially on Vancouver's rainy days. Will definately continue to use L'Hermitage as our first choice in Vancouver.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonzBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Everything you could wish for in a hotel is here at L'Hermitage. Location-less than half block from Robson St, The main shopping/restaurant street. Rooms- modest size but with every luxury you could want, espresso machine, great thick terry bathrobes, lighted magnifying shaving/makeup mirrors, and a staff like I've never encountered. They, and especially Matthew, were so gracious and helpful.
For us, there could never be any other hotel in Vancouver.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlwFortLee_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing