We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate hotel”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“First rate hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

A wonderful hotel!
We absolutely enjoyed our short stay at L'Hermitage, and left for our destination wishing we had stayed there longer to bask in the luxury a bit more. The rooms in the hotel are beautifully and thoughtfully appointed, clean as a whistle, neat, and very quiet. The beds are extremely comfortable. The kitchen in our room was excellent, with high end appliances and what seemed to be brand new dishes, glasses and silverware. The staff - from doorman to concierge to manager - were unfailingly courteous and professional, and attentive to all of our needs. It's great to be in a hotel where you are always greeted by name, and where the staff are friendly to kids. They even gave our kids stuffed bears to take home - a very nice and thoughtful touch, especially when kids are tired and cranky after a long flight.
The food was excellent. For a health conscious family of five like us, the breakfast buffet was superb: fresh tasty organic dishes, a wide variety of offerings, great coffee, and a very reasonable price.
If you are looking for a top tier luxury hotel with personalized service, forget the huge downtown luxury hotels. L'Hermitage sets a new and, in our opinion, unrivalled standard of luxury. It's where we will stay next time. We will also be recommending it to all of our Vancouver-bound friends, acquaintances and colleagues.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8888dj8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,250
    379
    62
    14
    10
See reviews for
650
2,153
151
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Recently got back from a wonderful holiday in Canada. While in Vancouver, we stayed at the L'Hermitage which we booked about six months prior to our stay after having read all of the incredible, amazing reviews. However, after actually staying at this hotel, we left feeling very confused as to how this hotel could be rated so highly. Somehow, we missed out on all the "luxury" others described and were presented instead with some disappointing challenges.

We arrived in Vancouver after having taken a tour on our last day in Victoria which provided transportation to any downtown hotel. When this local Vancouver tour company asked us the name of our hotel, we told them the L'Hermitage and they said they'd never heard of it. Luckily I'd written down the address and after providing it to our driver he said he could get us to the address, but we'd have to find the hotel because it's not a well known Vancouver hotel (which seemed odd). However, our driver dropped us off right at the corner of Richards and Robson and there was our hotel and one thing we did enjoy about this hotel was the location (close to transportation of every kind and easy to get to all of the fun this great city has to offer.

Check-in was smooth and quick and after it was over, we were left to pack our bags up to our room and get settled in. Since the weather can be very unpredictable, the first thing I wanted to do was turn on the TV and get the weather forecast so we could begin planning our activities according to the weather. When we've stayed at "Luxury boutique" hotels in places like Prague or Bali, there was always someone to show us our room and explain any features, etc. on the first day, but not so at the L'Hermitage. So, when I turned on the TV and none of the channels worked, I found it really strange. Was the TV broken? Then we opened the curtains and discovered there was no view except for some shrubs which partially separated us from the pool and jacuzzi. I don't mind having a view that overlooks the pool, but in this case, if people at the pool stood up, they could look down and see us in our room. "OK, looks like we'll be keeping the curtains closed for most of our stay." Our room was one class above the "Petit" class and now we were wondering if we should have booked a Petit instead.

We decided to forget the TV problem for now and look for someplace to eat since it was getting late. The central location of the hotel made it easy to find a nice place fairly quickly. When we got back to our room, we tried the TV again, but to no avail. Finally at the base of the TV we spotted a little card that explained all of the steps and all of the buttons that needed to be pressed and in what order so that the TV would actually work. It appears that we'd simply pressed the power button. Silly us. By now, however, we were already dressed for bed and didn't want to have to call room service to help us turn on the TV. "The TV doesn't matter," we thought. "In the morning when they deliver the newspaper to our room, we can check the forecast then."

So, we went to bed and turned off the lights and as soon as we did we noticed brightly flickering disco lights inside our room. "It's the fireplace lights," I said as I got out of bed and turned the lights back on and attempted to find the fireplace switch to turn it off. I looked everywhere. There was no switch. What a pain!! Since we hadn't been shown around our room on the first day as it done at most hotels, all of these little problems came up. So, we pulled the covers over our heads and tried to get to sleep.

The next morning, I opened our room door just a crack so that I could grab the newspaper. Lo and behold! It was missing!! "Either they haven't delivered our newspaper or someone snagged ours!!" I thought. "Without a TV that actually worked or newspaper, how were we supposed to check the weather?!!" Then I remembered the little clock radio on the nightstand. I turned it on, but unfortunately it was created to only tune to three preset stations. There was no dial nor a button to manually tune and none of the three were set to access news.

On our way out, I dropped by the front desk and asked them to fix our TV and also why we hadn't received a newspaper. "We don't deliver newspapers to our guests rooms, but you can find newspapers in our lounge on the 5th floor" was the response. "Ok, I will check the lounge later." Later that day, I checked the lounge on the 5th floor (the same floor we were staying on) and although there was a nice selection of books, there was not a single newspaper in the entire room. At some hotels, when you make a request for something very basic like this they make a note of it and follow up or really go out of their way, but not at the L'Hermitage. This is not a "luxury" hotel. We finally were able to make the TV work, but we never saw a single newspaper (and we dropped by lounge every evening). Why make guests run through all these hoops?? Are we asking too much to be able to read a newspaper, watch TV or enjoy some peace in quiet? (read further regarding noise issues)

If you do decide to stay at this hotel, make sure they don't give you room 552 or 553. Even with the windows closed and the curtains shut, it's like you're part of the jacuzzi party every night until 10pm. Sure, I like to go to the jacuzzi too, but I also like to be able to LEAVE the party and I certainly don't want to go EVERY NIGHT!

Another noise consideration related to this hotel. Currently the TELUS Garden redevelopment project is being constructed across the street from this hotel. Construction starts at 7:30am and lasts till 8:00pm on weekdays and Saturdays from 10:00am to 6:00pm. Our room wasn't facing Richards Street. So, although we could hear the construction every morning, once we got out of bed, we really didn't notice it. I would think it would be bothersome for rooms on the Richards side, but I can't say for sure. It is something to think about however. However, the nightly jacuzzi party noise was more than enough noise for us.

One other minor point, if you use cotton swabs or Q-tips, bring your own. This hotel doesn't provide these kind of "luxurious" amenities for guests. Like "luxurious" newspapers," they are nowhere to be found. Naturally they don't provide toothbrushes or toothpaste either.

After reading all of the astounding, amazing, breathtaking reviews regarding this hotel, we were more than a bit disappointed by the reality. Next time, we're in Vancouver we plan to book a room at a quieter location, with no jacuzzi, and with all the basic amenities (we're even thinking about going all out and booking a room where people at the pool don't stare at us through the sparse shrubbery when we open our curtains. Now that, is what I call real "luxury" LOL).

Room Tip: Stay away from 552 and 553 unless you like views of the shrubs and noisy pool parties
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HoneyRoasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennEleiter, General Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear HoneyRoasted,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback with the travel community here on TripAdvisor regarding your recent experience with us at L'Hermitage Hotel.

Please allow me the opportunity to comment on your thoughts and observations.

It was a pleasure to read that your check-in was smooth and quick. However, it was so very unfortunate that one of our thoughtful and knowledgable Bellman was not immediately available to escort you to your room to explain some of the features of both your room and the property. This would certainly have alleviated some of the lapses in service encountered during your time with us and for this I certainly do apologize.

Our high-definition BELL satellite TV system is most definitely a little finicky and it does require a click of both the power and the satellite buttons on the remote to function properly. I hope the printed and easy-to-read instruction card was of assistance to you for the remainder of your stay - our team at the hotel would also have jumped at the opportunity to provide assistance with this technical matter!

While it is true we do not deliver a newspaper to each room, we do have a fine selection of daily newspapers available on a complimentary basis in L'Orangerie and it was unfortunate that as a hotel we did not handle your request for a newspaper in a manner more in keeping with our usual level of hospitality and service.

We do not allow pool or jacuzzi parties or other distractions that detract from the natural peacefulness and tranquility of the hotel. There is most definitely not a jacuzzi party each night at the property. While a few of our guests may enjoy time in our Outdoor Salt Water Lap Pool and Jacuzzi in the evening hours, the combination of our lovely rhododendron's (now in full bloom!), perfectly landscpaed Boxwood evergreens and glorious Maple trees provide just enough privacy for all our guests whether enjoying the water or the comforts of a room or suite on that side of the property.

HoneyRoasted, thank you once again for your feedback and for sharing your experience with others travelers. We warmly welcome you back to L'Hermitage and wish you many safe and enjoyable adventures!

Sincerely,
Glenn Eleiter
General Manager
L'Hermitage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

There are very few places I recommend without any qualification or hesitation. This is one of them. Get a room on the 5th floor to have an amazing balcony!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veritasveritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We were excited to stay at this hotel after reading the reviews. L'Hermitage certainly did not disappoint. From the great customer service to the delicious breakfast, we haven't stayed in such a professional place since Hong Kong.
Nice hotels are relatively easy to come by these days, however. What blew this hotel out of the water was the reception received by our children. We were travelling with our two young boys, ages 2 and 4. Upon check-in, they were each personally greeted with a basket of stuffed animals and coloring books. The animals were each adorned with an embroidered maple leaf. As we are Canadians, this wasn't such a big deal to us, but imagine what a great keepsake for the international traveller? The boys loved their animals.
Breakfast the next morning was also delicious, and cappucinos were included! Again, service for the children was amazing. The waitress brought out a pristine highchair,(not a grimy one like we've often seen) and they were also each given to use a complete set of Winnie the Pooh place setting and cutlery. Our boys felt so special!
There were espresso machines in the room, the breakfast was delicious, the pool and jacuzzi were beautiful. Really, I have nothing to say against this lovely place. Can't wait to go back to Vancouver, this is definately my new favorite place!

Room Tip: 5th floor is close to breakfast room, fitness, and pool; and yet, it is not the slightest bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

How nice it is to arrive in a never before visited country and find people like the staff at L’Hermitage. After a long flight a friendly greeting and good service goes a very long way. In all respects this hotel is everything the positive reviews suggest and more. It is beautifully decorated, the staff is friendly and helpful and the amenities are first class. The only possible downside is the CBD location which means you will not have an outlook or proximity to Vancouver’s greatest asset, the harbour. That said, everything else is on your doorstep including a raucous Italian restaurant which won our family competition to find the best Crème Brulee in USA and Canada so don’t miss the maple infused version they serve here. L’Hermitage is near some good shopping and all up a terrific place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't forget to check out the pool and L'Orangerie areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moo628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This return trip to Vancouver was made delightful by the attentive staff at L'Hermitage.
From the comfortable bed, quiet well appointed rooms - with great attention to detail, tto the friendly staff with a relaxed yet professional approach, all was was much enjoyed.

Room Tip: enjoyed a pool view room (653)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinceInCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This beautiful "boutique" hotel has a dog mascot that will greet you in the lobby, and modern touches everywhere you look. We were very pleased with the service from all the staff, and they gave us a free upgrade on our arrival.
Most rooms have a compact fireplace that is completely silent but still completely romantic. The rooms were clean and contemporary, included generous kitchen amenities and were larger than their counterparts at much more expensive hotels.

L'Hermitage is a great value, and has the cool factor to get you some fantastic photos (and memories)

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with a fireplace. Try asking for an upgrade when you arrive (we got one unexp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highTechFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,882 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,576 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,380 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,514 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing