We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel for sure”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is a truly luxurious city centre hotel. It is positioned perfectly both for downtown shopping and easy walking access to Yaletown and Gastown (being roughly equidistant from both).
The demolition across the road caused us no annoyance.
The terrace with plunge pool, the Nespresso in room, and top-end bathroom, bedding and furnishings all hit the mark.
Breakfast, although limited in range, was of exceptional quality - and at $17.50 was reasonably priced.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank abracadabra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,931 - 2,937 of 3,949 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

My partner and I recently stayed here and we both feel that L'Hermitage Hotel is the best hotel we've ever stayed in for many, many reasons. The staff at all levels from reception and concierge to housekeeping and the breakfast room here are all genuinely friendly and will go out of their way to help you, nothing is too much trouble and it is a very personalised experience. These things make for a very pleasant stay and a feeling of being at a 'home from home'. The hotel is also of a very high standard throughout and very comfortable, impeccably clean and well maintained.

On arrival we were informed that we had been given a room at the back with a view of the terrace and pool because of the building work across the road from the hotel. This is where I have to disagree with another reviewer who felt he/she should have been personally contacted and given the option to go somewhere else or given a discount - the building work, though at times noisy, was no more or less noisy than staying at any downtown hotel anywhere else as there is other typical city background noise such as traffic and occasional sirens, and with windows closed you couldn't hear much. I believe it's part of staying in a city downtown hotel rather than a country pile.

Our room (boutique room) was wonderful, well furnished, spacious, huge bathroom with bath and separate shower, fabulous comfy bed, and seating area. Breakfast was excellent (and in line with what we have paid elsewhere, including London). There was great choice, it was always fresh and cooked in small batches so cooked food isn't standing around too long, and the staff at breakfast very helpful and friendly.

My partner and I were celebrating 21 years on the day of our arrival, and prior to arriving I had arranged with the concierges Raymond and David for a floral arrangement to be delivered, and they did an amazing job, and Raymond was very helpful with tips on where to go and what to do, and providing money saving tips for attractions too. Being quite independent travellers we didn't make full use of Raymond or David this trip, but when we did they were great. However, my plan is to liaise with Raymond to plan our next visit because he is a great guy and a mine of inside knowledge.

In addition it was good to see the manager, Glenn, on most days front of house mingling with guests at breakfast and chatting, a good sign I think to have a manager who is visible and not tucked in an office out the way.

The outdoor pool and hot tub were great, and we used them most days, and my partner made use of the gym everyday and felt it was good.

We had an amazing trip to Vancouver, made all the more special by L'Hermitage Hotel and the very special service you get here. As noted earlier, we plan to return to Vancouver, because even in 10 days we didn't get to do all that we could, and we won't stay anywhere else but the L'Hermitage, it's just a fabulous little hotel (I prefer small boutique type hotels to huge multistorey ones with hundreds of rooms). Can't wait until next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with a view of the terrace and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

On our way to Whistler, we stayed 2 nights here. We arrived early and were luckily given our 1 bed suite immediately. Whilst wet and cold outside the hotel was warm and cosy. Our room just perfect for my wide, son and I. Our 17 year old loved the doubled bed sofa - unlike many places this was long and comfortable. Our room was gorgeous as was everything about this hotel. Special points not to miss are the outdoor, heat spa baths, wonderful breakie and brilliant doorman's service. Easy walking distance to everything - including a great sports bar across the road. Room had plenty of goodies and luxuries from coffee to bathroom stuff. We found the washing machine and dryer with all soaps absolutely brilliant. The only down was th bathroom - whilst modern and new, just seemed a little basic compared to everything else. If we went back to Seattle, we'd stay again.

Room Tip: The one bed suite was more than enough for 3 of us, no need to go larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Callum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights between 3rd and 6th July and as many other reviewers have mentioned this hotel has many positive advantages. Great central location,spacious suites ,friendly service and a breakfast(although a little pricey) that had 5* quality food and service. However there was a downside and that is the construction taking place opposite. The noise on one of the mornings was deafening. Now that isnt within the control of the hotel but the way in which they deal with it is. We were not advised of the noise when we checked in and so having booked this hotel 6 months ago it came as a shock . When we complained at reception the following day we werent offered a room change and no one ever came back to us to talk about it. Not well handled for a hotel that prides itself on exceptional service.
Subsequently we were offered a small discount on checkout which was gratefully accepted but a little more honesty up front could have prevented our frustration at the time
However overall still a positive experience and i would recommended the hotel .

Room Tip: Dont stay in rooms at the front at the moment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dontparkatno14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

a little late submitting this but.......... the hotel is very central in downtown Vancouver, walking distance to all the main attractions, as well as from the train /underground station, but I also found it to be fairly quiet. There is a supermarket on the same block, as well as a car hire depot, and a pub/restaurant over the road, with many other places to eat within a couple hundred metres, all handy if you've been out and about all day. The suite was VERY spacious, separate large lounge, with a small bar area, nespresso machine etc. Very spacious bedroom, plenty of storage, as well as storage in hallway. The bathroom was lovely, having a luxurious feel, and I like a bath and a shower to be separate, no tripping over. Too busy to utilise the pool etc, but everything was spotless, everyone helpful and attentive.
I felt the very roomy suite gave it a home from home feel, especially when staying a few days, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: although our room faced onto the street, because of the double glazing, noise was minimal, we were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ammark57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed in the L'Hermitage for 5 nights in July and couldn't have found a better base for exploring downtown Vancouver. Exceptional standard, superb breakfast and helpful and informative staff which all contributed to a memorable stay. Will stay there again if ever we're back in Vancouver

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor - same floor as the pool, restaurant and spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesterRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Our 10 day stay in a very complete and clean suite was a pleasant experience thanks to Raymond and the rest of the courteous, eye contacting, staff. Raymond provided outstanding service, advice and personality. His recommendations and cost saving tips were appreciated.We will be coming back from Miami in the near future. This place is special to us and Raymond is the jewel in their 5 star crown. N & V

Room Tip: There was no spa to rate. The patio door shade admitted early morning light which disturbed the slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VALmatelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,117 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,723 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,769 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £154 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing