We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, front desk staff unintentionally comical”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went to Vancouver for a getaway in late December. After narrowing our hotel choices to 3 in the same area, we chose the L'Hermitage. Upon arriving, the first thing I noticed was the massive construction across the street (not mentioned when we made the reservation). It was explained by the front desk staff that it was a 22-story building in progress and the work was done 6 days/week. We asked for a room as far as possible from the construction and were accommodated. We heard very little noise.

We were assigned a room on the 7th floor which our key would not open. While my husband went down to get a new key, a very nice woman carrying a tray of wine, glasses, and ice down the narrow hallway offered to open the door to the room. Beautiful and spacious. However, I knew the Dior lipstick on the counter and the fedora in the bedroom were neither mine nor my husbands (and the woman said they weren't hers), so after slightly panicking, we headed back out to the hallway. Turns out, we were assigned the wrong room. Thank goodness, the occupants weren't having a moment at that time. Our room was a couple of doors down and was equally beautiful and spacious (and the wine was ours, ordered earlier by my husband). We had a suite with a full kitchen, queen bed, and small bathroom (not a lot of room for "stuff" on the counter). There was also a couple of nice sized closets and a washer/dryer. We had a view of the pool and hot tub, which was being utilized on a very cold day, so it must have been steamy.

The location of the hotel is ideal. It is within walking distance of the Vancouver Art Gallery (nice displays and café), Canada Place (Flyover Canada was fun), Gastown (great restaurants) Robson Street ( great window shopping and beautifully decorated for the holidays), Vancouver Lookout and the Vancouver Christmas Market which was a fun way to spend a chilly morning - less crowded.

The tapas restaurant next door was fantastic. Service was professional and friendly and they were able to accommodate our schedule as we had tickets to a show.

The front desk staff was almost comical at the L'Hermitage. After sending us to the wrong room, they had a tough time getting and keeping cabs for the various guests in the lobby. At one point, we asked the concierge for a restaurant recommendation in the Gastown area. He declared himself a "foodie" (is that like a "trekkie?") and so was unable to come up with just one. We'd have to narrow it down. Ok, how about French? He had the perfect one, but when he called, they were closed and, while there was another (even better) one, we would never be able to get in on so short a notice. I finally convinced my husband to leave "the foodie" and we'd find one on our own. In our room, I was able to make a reservation online at that very restaurant. Now, while we aren't "foodies", merely hungry tourists wanting to explore and eat in an interesting part of town, the very French restaurant was tres bien. And we didn't have to tip the concierge!

So, while there were issues, I would recommend the L'Hermitage as long as you are fairly self-sufficient. BTW, there's a grocery store down the street and a nice little liquor store around the corner. Told you the location was good.

Room Tip: Away from the construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,231 - 2,237 of 4,068 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

What else can we say that hasn't already been said? Great rooms, awesome location, and wonderful service. You're right in the middle of downtown, walking distance to most major sights. We had a "petite" room that was bigger than some of the flats I lived in. The bathroom was very big, and had excellent water pressure in the shower (one of my biggest pet peeves when travelling). If you're staying in Vancouver, stay here.

Enough said

**Do note, there is some major construction happening just in front of the hotel (shocking, a new condo in Vancouver) which they (the hotel) profusely appologize for ... but to tell you the truth, I never heard a thing ... and I tend to sleep in on vacation. Don't let that deter you from staying here.

Room Tip: Try to be on the 5th floor .. closer to the pool and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverAzzurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My stay at L'Hermitage Hotel was fabulous. Hotel’s GM Jean-Michel makes this place truly great and welcoming. A complimentary upgrade to two separate rooms – instead of one that was booked – offered to my friend and I by Jean-Michel (after I told him about our failed ski trip to Whistler, worst season in 8 years), felt like a warm hug after a not-so-great holiday. The service was immaculate so I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of travelling to Vancouver!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

When we arrived to L'Hermitage they had our room ready. The room was lovely and very well furnished. The hotel is nicely central and the staff were lovely. Our flight back to Australia wasnt until Midnight the next day and the hotel kinda kept our bags for the whole day whilst we went and explored the city for our last day. We did not opt for the Breakfast (additional cost) but everything else was lovely. Upon arrival we were informed of the road works opposite the hotel and provided with ear plugs just in case. The noise was never noticable and the stay was lovely and peaceful. It was very pleasent stay all in all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ker_schnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our stay at L'Hermitage was fantastic. The location is great - close to many of the sights and attractions in and around downtown, including being walking distance from Gastown, Granville Island, BC Place and Rogers Arena.

The hotel is small and quaint and the service was great throughout our stay. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Best city hotel I have stayed in for a long time. As a seasoned traveller,and after 24 hours of travelling,it is the best thing which could happen to you.Service,ammenities,comfort,cleanliness,personnel,all close to perfection and more than professional.Price good for the standard proposed.One little remark: for breakfast add some veggies.....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giora g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is beautiful, has large rooms and the decor is lovely. Very clean and tidy. It is also very central to the shopping and restaurants. The service is exceptional, everyone at the front desk was super helpful. When checking out we were running late for our bus transfer and they made every effort to follow up cabs for us and even offered to help take our bags to the station to help us get there on time. What a pleasure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,859 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,601 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
3,242 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £132 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing