We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Stay”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The doorman came out immediately as soon as we pulled up to the entrance. Checking in was easy. The room was clean and had everything that we needed. The heated pool looks really nice but it was too cold to try. Breakfast was decent, good enough to start the day. Everyone is so polite and always smiling. Location couldn't be better. Will definitely return to this hotel when visiting Vancouver again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linhy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,308
    384
    65
    14
    10
See reviews for
669
2,192
153
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Escalon, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Glad I followed previous reviewers! Totally great place to stay. Incredibly helpful friendly staff with sincere interests in helping you make your stay great. Within walking distance of many dining options as well. Spotless comfortable rooms at a fair price.

Room Tip: Breakfast was not included in our package, but a Starbucks is a block away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We booked this hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews and were please even beyond our lofty expectations. The staff here is so welcoming, friendly and helpful. From finding us the perfect restaurant (so many close by!), to storing our ski equipment, to providing directions, the staff was top notch. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready, so we were treated to coffee by the fireplace in the lovely guest lounge while we waited. What a relaxing way to begin our stay in Vancouver! The room was well worth the wait and we found the construction to be a non-issue. We will be staying here whenever we are in Vancouver. On top of everything else, the location and valet parking can't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTmom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel was as good as i had been told. Great location, clean and excellent service by the staff. Very helpful and willing to make our stay memorable. Comfortable beds, spacious room and clean throughout.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Exceptional service. Friendly, kind, helpful staff. We will be staying here whenever we are in Vancouver. Room service was quick and tasty. Room was well appointed and comfortable, didn't notice any construction noise. Hottub and pool were ideal for soaking in after exploring Robson St. Breakfast was tasty. The staff at L'Hermitage will make you feel like royality. You'll have zero regrets staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canukgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

To celebrate our wedding anniversary we decided to take a weekend in Vancouver, BC. We found L'Hermitage through a TripAdvisor recommendation. A boutique hotel in the heart of the city sounded perfect as we were travelling by train and would not have a car. The hotel was well situated, a quick $10 CAD (including tip) cab ride from the train station to the hotel had us in the nicely appointed lobby. Jason at the front desk checked us in and quickly became our best friend in Vancouver.

As we were there well before check in, our room was not ready, additionally, as it was our anniversary Jason upgraded us from the one bedroom Boutique Suite w/o kitchen (640 sq ft) to a one bedroom Signature Suite with kitchen (750 sq ft). He gave us a map, offered us umbrellas (it was snowing) and recommended a restaurant adventure in the Yaletown District for lunch.

After a delightful lunch, we returned to the hotel. We waited momentarily in the private L'Orangerie Lounge on the 5th floor. This was a lovely living room feeling lounge with fireplace and large flat screen TV perfect for catching up on the Olympics. The service was quick which was good as our wait was quite brief.

The suite was great. Although it faced Richards St. and the large construction project across the street since it was the weekend there was no construction noise to disturb our stay. The only noise from the street we heard at all was excited horns honking when at approximately 7:00am the Canadian hockey team won the gold medal.

The suite had a fully stocked (pots/pans, coffee maker, refrigerator, stove, microwave) full size kitchen, a nice sized living room with couch, two comfortable chairs, coffee table, fireplace and flat screen TV. The bedroom featured a comfortable king size bed, two night stands, safe, large closet, bureau and flat screen TV. Off the bedroom was a nice "office" or sitting room space with desk, desk chair and comfortable chair. (This room seemed to be quite cold so we closed the sliding glass door and kept the bedroom temperature a little warmer.)

The hotel sent up a nice congratulatory note and bottle of wine to get the celebration started....Jason at work again. Additionally, Jason made arrangement for us at a lovely restaurant for dinner, which was also within easy walking distance on Robson Street.

The entire facility was immaculate. The service was excellent. The internet was free with great connectivity.

A really nice and very appreciated touch happened on Sunday afternoon. We had checked out around 10:30a and left the luggage while we again went out into the city. By 3:00p we were tired, well fed, shopped out but to early to want to go wait at the train station. When we went to recover our luggage they suggested we wait in the L'Organerie Lounge. It was such a beautiful way to end our stay at this exceptional property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChadPeterson47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I had an excellent stay at L'Hermitage. The location combined with the amenities made for a relaxing and enjoyable short vacation for the two of us. My only complaints are minor things: construction across the street (but our room was at the rear of the building, so not as noisy there), breakfast was only pretty good, and the cable TV wasn't in the right aspect ratio, so to watch Olympics I was always going to the TV menu to make the image fit the screen properly. The steam room was great, the service excellent, and even the weather cooperated.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building are away from street and construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,958 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,629 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,417 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,238 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing