We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying in a posh apartment!”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Like staying in a posh apartment!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I was extremely pleased with this hotel. We booked a fully fitted-out suite, with kitchen and laundry. It felt more like an apartment than a hotel room, and was perfect for a six-day stay. The kitchen was not only modern and well-designed, but fully stocked with good-quality supplies for real cooking -- not just heating up takeaway food. I used, and was pleased with, the newish washer and dryer (a single-use box of detergent was provided, and replaced). The stone-tiled bathroom was spacious, the water pressure in the shower (which had both a "rain" shower head and a handheld shower option) was very good. Toiletries provided were average quality, as were the towels, but all items were replaced when used. Extra towels were stocked under the sink. Our bedroom was comfortable and quiet, the bed linens good -- if not luxurious -- quality (my husband found the rather small bed too hard, but I liked it). Even though our rooms faced the massive, noisy construction project on Richards Street, we didn't hear that commotion at all. Our suite included an entry-hall closet for wet raincoats or overcoats or -- in our case -- a separate place for my husband's clothing so I could have the huge bedroom closet to myself (yes!). The only negatives I would mention were the loud fan or compressor we heard when the climate control system cycled on, and a very uncomfortable, rock-hard, sofa in the sitting room.

Housekeeping was impeccable. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful without being overbearing.

Our booking package included valet parking (highly recommended if you come with a car) and breakfast. Although the breakfast was ample and delicious, the breakfast-room staff gracious, and the range of choices adequate, the offerings do not change from day to day. If I stay there again I will make my own breakfast in my room. (There is a grocery store just half a block from the hotel.)

The workout room is modest but very tidy. The small lap pool is really a one-person affair, so if you want to do more than a quick dip you may want to plan to swim at an odd time when no one is competing for space. The jacuzzi, though, was nice and hot, with powerful jets.

We were visiting Vancouver for a conference at at the Pan Pacific, and we ended up at L'Hermitage only because that hotel was booked up and the pickings were slim for other lodging at or near Canada Place. When we saw that we could book a spacious suite at L'Hermitage for less than the price of a tiny room with hideously dated decor and a view of the harbor (I won't mention the hotel), the choice was clear. I am so glad we chose as we did. I will definitely stay here again if I return to Vancouver!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickypickyme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,183
    375
    62
    14
    10
See reviews for
636
2,112
147
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Staying at this hotel, was one of my best traveling decisions. Everything was perfect. The location couldn't be better, we walked everywhere we wanted to go, and it is sorunded by great restaurants. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very beautifull and confortable, could easily stay in all day. It has a nice library. the breakfast was very tasty, complete and at a reasonable price.
I wil definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therandomnickname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

You feel like your coming home! Wonderful rooms, beautifully kept by the warm friendly staff. Add Raymond Wong to help you find your way and you have a perfect vacation. Just the right size and great location for touring on foot or bike. 3 sisters and Mom found this the perfect escape!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holt2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Realy fine hotel in good location. I cannot recall a more pleasant hotel staff in dozens of recent trips. Salt water outdoor lap pool was perfect for an addicted lap swimmer. Did not go to the restaurant.

Room Tip: We had a room facing large construction project across the street, and it was not a problem. Work d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had been travelling for a few days and had a wonderful dinner reserved in Vancouver but when we got to the hotel, we decided to settle in, enjoy the amenities, order room service and not leave.

The hotel has a lovely pool area and gym. It is also a very warm and welcoming hotel if you are spending a few days and want to either sit in your room or go to the library and enjoy the quiet. It was lovely. A great place on a rainy day.

Breakfast was very good and I would suggest including it in your reservation. The service was first class.

Our room did not have a great view overlooking the construction but it did have a lovely sitting area, a subzero refrigerator, Bosch stove and a washer and dryer. I would have gladly moved in for a week but sadly no time.

The location is very good and close to lots of good restaurants. I would also consider this over my usual hotels in Vancouver for business travel. I just loved the calm, the first class service and the beautiful amenities.

Room Tip: Stay longer than one night if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JECan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful 2 night stay in this hotel. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated. Couldn't have asked for better service. We took advantage of the "Travelers Special" and the breakfast was terrific and the parking was compted. The location is great for walking!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank artistkay92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Mr. Wong provided excellent recommendations for everything and devoted considerable time to us newbies to Vancouver. The Front Desk was also very helpful throughout our stay. Our room was more like a nice size apartment. The WiFi was excellent. After being on a cruise for a week it was especially handy to have a washer and dryer. The fitness center was well equipped with up-to-date treadmill, etc. Our room steward/maid did a super job. The chocolates were a nice touch. TripAdviser is right on with this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul92211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing