We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice indeed”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. We weren't disappointed. The hotel takes up three floors (5,6,7) of an apartment building in central Vancouver.

It was convenient to just about everything, and the hop-on hop-off buses have a stop about a 2 minute walk away. There are any number of restaurants and meal-serving pubs within an easy walk.

We stayed in a Signature Den. The suite had a living room, bedroom a full, well equipped kitchen and a small 'office'. The furniture is comfy as comfy furniture can be. There are two TV's which is important for couples. If we go again (and if we return to Vancouver we will) we would probably choose a room without the den. I am retired and don’t need an office.

The suite was at the front of the hotel, and there IS a building site across the street. However we were not bothered by noise at all.

The coffee was good, and supplies readily available. Wi-Fi was as efficient as Wi-Fi should be. Plenty of space for travellers to put their travel purchases too.

We didn’t have breakfast included in our package, but there were heaps of tasty breakfast-servers nearby. There is also a Tim Hortons which must meet a specific and peculiar Canadian taste set.

The staff were friendly and helpful and offered useful advice. We had asked for an early check-in, but we were unable to be accommodated. This is because the check out time is relatively late. We appreciated this when we left, but it was a bit inconvenient when we checked in (we'd arrived on a cruise ship).

It's a very, very good hotel. It's central and it's comfy and it's friendly.

On a general note, Vancouver has a LOT of homeless folk who will often approach you for financial assistance. Be polite! It's not their fault, mostly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serene_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,338
    388
    65
    14
    10
See reviews for
680
2,210
154
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This place was really nice. Loved it. The room was great, bed was comfy, and we had a really nice balcony. The service was great too!
The decor was oustanding. Very classy and modern with a touch of elagance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitanee1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights last week at L'Hermitage Vancouver on the front end of an extended trip to BC. The entire experience was excellent. Raymond Wong, the Chef Concierge was outstanding with his recommendations and thorough directions. The bathroom was fabulous though the toiletries were a bit skimpy in terms of selection. The room was very comfortably appointed with a sofa and large outdoor terrace off the room and electric fireplace for ambiance. The room was clean and modern with enough luxury to make it quite comfortable. Breakfast at L'Orangerie was outstanding and a good value at $19 for a high quality buffet with a good selection of relatively healthy (and delicious) choices. Very convenient to restaurants and public transit. All in all, L'Hermitage exceeded our expectations. By contrast, we stayed at the Wedgewood at the close of our trip and were not impressed -- it was dated and the service was far inferior. Definitely go with L'Hermitage -- a much better overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCDurhamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daejeon, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked two nights at L'Hermitage two-bedroom signature suite and one-bedroom boutique suite for our wedding and can't say enough about our lovely accommodations, the wonderful staff, and excellent location of this hotel. The hotel staff were extremely courteous and friendly, and customer service was truly top-notch. Me and my husband can't wait to return to Vancouver and accommodate in L'Hermitage!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sion Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Wife and I drove up here for two nights as an aside to our Seattle vacation. Never been to Vancouver before, and this Hotel was a winner. The doormen and desk personnel couldn't have been more accommodating. You can't get to the front door faster than the doormen; they have the door open before you can touch the door handle! The room was amazing with a separate bedroom.
The location turned out to be great; only a few blocks from everything-all walkable.
Great restaurants all walking distance, and only a few short blocks to the waterfront.
Of course a Tim Horton's around the corner as well as a grocery supermarket a wine/liquor store, and across the street a Starbucks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved our stay at L'Hermitage! We stayed for four nights as we vacationed in Vancouver. The location is terrific -- steps away from Yaletown and just a few more to Gastown and the main shopping area on Robson Street. (By the way, we LOVED Yaletown. It's just so cool. Endless restaurants/bars, seemingly all with outdoor seating, intermixed with shops. And, like I said, it's practically next door to L'Hermitage)

We opted for a one bedroom boutique suite, which was a spacious 640 sq. ft. Since we were staying for multiple nights, having the extra space was totally worth it. Oh, and we had a balcony for enjoying Vancouver's beautiful summer mornings and evenings. So awesome.

You should know that through the Fall, there is some pretty major construction going on directly across the street. I forget what the official "posted" times for them to work are, but they start between 7:30-8 in the morning, and later on weekends. It seemed like they wrapped things up around 5-5:30 in the evening. Anyway, this didn't bother us because we're early risers and we were out doing stuff most of each day.

Having the pool was a godsend. It's pretty small, but being able to take a dip felt amazing.

The folks who staff the concierge desk are great. They assisted us with directions, recommendations, and even reserved taxis ahead of time for us. Both times, a cab was waiting out front precisely when we asked, and the front desk called our room to let us know that the cab was waiting.

I almost forgot to mention the Wi-Fi. It's blazing fast, which is a rarity for hotels!

All in all, if you're looking for an oasis in the middle of a busy city (and you've got enough money to upgrade to one of the bigger rooms), don't hesitate to stay here.

If we ever come back to Vancouver, there's no doubt in my mind where we'll stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLizzle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic staff and hotels. The entire staff was so very friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful and can't beat the location for being close to everything as well as the sky train. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,013 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,453 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,284 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing