We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all what I expected”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not at all what I expected”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my parents in a one bedroom room with a separate lounge and pull out sofa bed. This was the most expensive place we stayed in on our trip, and one of the most disappointing.
I can't fault the staff - they were superb.
But despite knowing the room was for three, the sofa bed hadn't even been made up - which it had been in every other place we stayed in. And the sofa bed was without a doubt the most uncomfortable one I've ever slept on.
Plus we didn't like the location at all - the surrounding area was full of beggars, homeless people, alcoholics and drug users. It did not make a good first impression for the city!
I wouldn't be bothered by this kind of stuff usually - but given the price we paid, I expected much better.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Aklnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM-Tanguy, General Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Aklinder,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at L’Hermitage Hotel Vancouver.

I can only say that I am truly sorry if you were left to feel in anyway disappointed with your stay with us. I invite you to contact me directly at jmtanguy@lhermitagevancouver.com or at 778-327-4100, should you wish to discuss your experience in more details.

I very much hope that you will return to the property and experience L’Hermitage Hotel Vancouver once again. Should you consider, please feel free to contact me at anytime to arrange a future visit.

Sincerely,
Jean-Michel Tanguy
General Manager
L’Hermitage Hotel Vancouver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,252
    379
    62
    14
    10
See reviews for
650
2,155
151
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights in July 2014. The staff were so helpful and attentive without being imposing. We stayed in a compact room, which was perfect but the balcony was fairly enclosed, which is great if you wanted privacy but you don't have a view. The outdoor pool was our favourite especially if you go early in the morning if you want it to yourself (or you have jet lag, like us) and the coffee machine in the rooms was a nice touch. Great place to stay in Vancouver, very central and a great city!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMR1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful little boutique hotel and private residence building a block off Robson. Much attention to detail has been paid here and the staff are incredibly attentive and pleasant. Rooms are very comfortable, there's a rooftop pool and hot tub and an overall elegance to this place.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GhengisWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

No complaints at all! Room great, loved the kitchen, Nespresso and washer/dryer. Lots of room, super comfortable bed, nice bathroom amenities.

Breakfast very nice, don't know why someone complained about variety ....... Eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, lovely smoked salmon, waffles, bread, breakfast trifles - all very very high quality.

Don't worry about the work on the holdings over to the road, even in the daytime it wasn't too noisy and the view is never going to be great given that the hotel is right in the centre of town.

Kingston Taphouse & Grille directly opposite is very handy, nice food, craft beers, happy staff and a nice outside patio lit with fairy lights.

Close enough to walk most places, shops and a some nice restauarnts - Homer St Cafe, Gotham Steakhouse.

This hotel is great, deserves the first place on Tripadvisor, well done everyone who works so hard to make it so good!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaynePiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are beautiful, fully equipped with everything you need and the staff is super nice! A special mention to Allie, the concierge who gave us great reccomandations for restaurants and attractions! Great location near Yaletown!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Renen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived to a warm welcome and very helpful staff, the rooms were clean and our balcony was just amazing! The people in the lobby recommended an amazing italian restaurant where the food was outstanding, it is also in a great central area of the city where there is a lot to do such as shopping and tourist attractions! Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Closimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the contemporary L'Hermitage. The decor was simple and beautiful, the fresh orchids in the lobby were stunning. The rooms were sizable and very clean, the staff went out of its way to ensure one's comfort. There was a very beautiful lap pool outside and an I door- outdoor breakfast area was tranquility in the midst of the city. My husband and I loved our stay here and would stay here any time we venture to Vancouver. Wonderful beds and great location.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms were not particularly desirable since there is construction occurring across the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,886 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,381 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,514 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing