We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay- lived up to review rating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
1 review
“great place to stay- lived up to review rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

after reading a host of reviews here and hotels.com, my wife and i booked a 3 night stay and came away very pleased. everything was exactly as described in these reviews, nice/clean upscale boutique hotel in good location with helpful staff. would happily stay there again and recommend to others. was our first time to vancouver so don't have much to compare it to in that price range C$150ish/night for king bed but seemed more than reasonable relative to other options.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m0nad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,066
    360
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
606
2,051
133
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

I had a short break of 4 days in Vancouver. This is a great place to stay. Very convenient for all the shops and retsurants of downtown, You can walk to most of the interesting areas of town. There is a bicycle hire place around the corner so I could take a bike ride around town and Stanley Park (recommened - it is a great bike ride all round the sea wall taking about 3 hours - great views !) . There is a very good supermarket and deli, and wine/liquor store litterally just round the corner. This is great because the rooms have excellent modern equipped kitchens so you can cook if you don't want to go out.. Nice balcony. The bedroom and living area are modern and spaciious.It's just like having a modern appartment all to yourself downtown but with the advantages of top class hotel service when you need it. The staff are knowlegable, friendly and helpful. The whole place has a chic modern feel to it. The outdoor pool and deck is a bonus - as it the free wireless internet which many other hotels charge for. Very pleased with absolutely everything and good value considering the many benefits.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsbeeroclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed here during a road trip to Canada and the northwest US. The location is wonderful - within walking distance to everything. There is a great (small) pool, nice European breakfast and gym. The building is a mix of hotel and condos and the hotel rooms are pleasantly big. Service is mixed. Seanna was a delight in answering all of our questions, but some of the other staff weren't as helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leavingonajetplane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Given that we paid less than $200 for a suite with a gourmet kitchen, I'd have to say that L'Hermitage was well worth the money. Not having to eat out every night really saved us some money and there was a grocery store less than a block from the hotel.

The rooms were beautifully decorated, and while perfectly comfortable, the color palate felt a bit cold and uninviting at times. But that's really just nitpicking.

The pool was an absolute oasis and was nice to relax there after a day of sightseeing.

Another thing that made the room a value was the free high speed internet. Many hotels charge exorbitant fees for this luxury and L'Hermitage gives it free for their guests.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethS0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed in a premium king suite. The room was spacious and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and the full kitchen was terrific. The room also had a washer and dryer. The hotel has a nice lap pool and hot tub on the roof top of the 5th floor as well as a beautiful lounge area.
There is a great food store a half a block away which is great for stocking the kitchen. The hotel is half a block away from Robson St.
We chose to return our rental car as soon as we hit Vancouver because of the reviews we had read about break ins in the parking garage.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelystad, Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed in this great hotel for 2 nights on our trip through Canada.
We had booked trough internet with good rate for luxury 1 bedroom suite, and were given an update to even more luxurious suite, with 2 bathrooms, balcony, study and lovely kitchen.
The hotel is right off Robson street, and within walking dinstance of all the Vancouver centre highlites.
Great service (they even clean up your kitchen and put your stuff in the dishwasher).
We were slightly worried about the parking issues that were raised on Tripadvisor, but they proved needless! There is great valetparking service (same price as self-parking) and your car is in a seperate section behind gates, so nothing to worry about!
There is a lovely swimmingpool with hot-tub on a roof terrace and a marketplace just around the corner with fresh bread etc.
If we ever return to the lovely city of vancouver we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilylady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We just returned from a three night stay and loved every minute of it. We've stayed at many different hotels on weekend getaways from Seattle and we've finally found one that we would love to stay at again! The location is perfect - you can walk to Robson or Yaletown easily. More impressive though was the hotel itself. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our first room (the air conditioning unit vibrated loudly) and the staff helped us find a new one quickly. The outdoor spaces were wonderful (ask for a room on the pool side) and because it is a small hotel, easily accessible. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat breakfast at the hotel and will say that during our stay valet parking was unnecessary as we found parking on the street plentiful.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travel425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing