We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Well Appointed, Kitchen and Washer/Dryer”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, tn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel - Well Appointed, Kitchen and Washer/Dryer”
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed here for several days the first week of August on our first trip to Vancouver. We had a suite with king bed and pull-out sofa. This works well for us when we travel with our teenage son.

The hotel had been totally renovated prior to opening 1 year ago. There are also some apartments in some other floors of the building as well. The bedroom and living (seating) area are not large, but were comfortable. We did not expect the kitchen area to be as large as it was. It had high end appliances and just the right amount of white dishes - very clean and European. We don't eat large breakfasts, so it was perfect for coffee, pastries and fruit in the mornings. We would put dishes in the dishwasher and housekeeping would wash them, which was also convenient.

One thing we didn't expect which was great was a stack washer/dryer. Since we were at the beginning of our trip and did a lot of active things in and around Vancouver, we washed everything before we left, which was incredibly convenient.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tugger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,314
    384
    65
    14
    10
See reviews for
672
2,195
153
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Booked this hotel based on location and visual appeal and it lived up to my expectations and more. The Concierge was SO knowledgeable in regards to selection of restaurants throughout the city. He was able to assist in booking and getting us a great table at Glowbal restaurant a very trendy upscale restaurant. While there Robert Pattenson happened to be dining and we were merely tables away, a nice little added bonus! ;) Nite clubs are not far away...many pubs in the area as well. Our room was always clean and re-stocked (need I mention Acca Kappa spa products) with all amenities. The decor is great, very new furniture. It was a bit cool while we were there, however there is an out door hot tub and an outdoor pool that you could swim laps. Morning news paper delivered right to the door...I wasn't able to enjoy it all that much but a nice touch. Complimentary coffee and tea, which we took advantage of one evening. State of the art onsite fitness studio...I never got a chance to check this out, but sounded great. Add to all that complimentary internet access, the perfect spot if you are on a business trip, as they have a library where you can get away to do work.

The location was just perfect, walking distance to shopping on Robson and the Pan Pacific Conference center which we were able to walk to to attend our seminars. We actually walked from Kitsilano after having an amazing brunch at DB Bistro Modern..could hardly walk we were so full, but did not take long to get back to the hotel if you don't mind walking...I think about an hour.

Overall would definitely recommend and would LOVE to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug2080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights in early September. The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of downtown Vancouver, just around the corner from Robson Street and about a 10 minute walk from Canada Place. Public transport is available nearby and there is a pub across the street and a supermarket at the end of the block. We had a studio room with a fire place and the room was large and bright. The bed was so comfortable and the room had a large flat screen TV, radio alarm with ipod dock, small refridgerator and an ample sized bathroom with seperate toilet, bath and shower. Every evening between 5 and 7 the hotel staff come and turn down the bed. On a couple of occasions we were left a complimentary lip balm and pillow spray. The reception desk is staffed 24 hours a day and the staff were extremely helpful. They called cabs for us, changed travellers cheques, sold stamps and found us a sewing kit when we were in need of a needle and thread! We had access to high speed internet which was faultless.This really is a great hotel and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angies-eye-patch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

My husband and I spent 4 nights here on our first trip to Vancouver. L'Hermitage was a perfect base for us - it was perfectly located downtown as we could walk pretty much everywhere. The staff there were incredibly helpful, polite and always remembered who we were as we walked through reception every day so nice personal touch. The room was incredibly spacious, small touches of luxury. All at a reasonable price. Only negatives were the view we had of the car park opposite the hotel and the breakfast which was very expensive for what it was. However we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseekinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights in mid September.

We had a standard studio suite. The suite was about the size of a standard hotel room with a fantastic bathroom with seperate walk in shower and bath tub. It was decorated in a modern style to a high standard and immaculately clean. There was a nice view of the skyline over the pool area.

There was no room service or bar with only breakfast being served (which we didn't take at the hotel). We did have a fridge so it was no problem to buy drinks and leave them in the fridge. There was a convenience store and a liquor store just around the corner so we bought some beers and soft drinks.

There is a lovely small pool and hot tub which we made use of in the late afternoon due to some fanatstic september weather and a wonderful library/lounge area with free internet access.

All in all a fanatastic hotel and I wouldn't hesiate to reccomend it.

Only downside was lack of room service. There are plenty of places to eat out/get takeaway within seconds but on one night after a trip to Victoria it would have been nice just to call room service and chill out.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed there 2 nights, very clean ( partner has allergies), and the rooms were elegant. It was a pleasure to stay there. Concierge was very helpful with tour and restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I, along with my husband and pre-teen daughter, stayed 3 nights at L'Hermitage in downtown Vancouver. -- our first trip to this beautiful city. We had a king suite - living room with pull-out sofa, bedroom with king size bed; large bath and separate shower, wet bar and mini-fridge. Everything was deluxe about this hotel except for a) the price ($159/night) and b) the absence of room service. Room was beautifully decorated and appointed. We loved the fitness center and pool; my husband especially loved the steam room. Service was attentive w/o being intrusive. Yes, they charge $25/night for parking. But in hindsight, we didn't need the car except for our last day when we drove to Grouse Mountain. Otherwise we walked or taxi'd everywhere (Stanley Park, Granville Island, Yale Town, etc.) Vancouver has TERRIFIC food, so we really didn't miss the room service. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,968 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,637 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,422 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,246 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing