We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpretentious luxury, extreme comfort and friendliness”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unpretentious luxury, extreme comfort and friendliness”
Reviewed 17 November 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending two nights at L'Hermitage. Our room was a one bedroom boutique suite facing the street. The room was immaculate and tastefully decorated with high end treatments. The living area was a comfortable size, had sufficient space and included a fireplace and small wet bar area including a refrigerator. The bathroom was quite large with double sinks (marble), a separate water closet and glassed in shower. While the bedroom was small, it was adequate for a king size bed and provided a cozy and romantic sleeping area. Glass doors off the bedroom led to a balcony overlooking the street and included a small table and chairs. Even though the room faced the street, noise was not an issue. Excellent, high quality bathrobes were provided and the bed linens were a comfortable high thread count. Quite luxurious.

The front desk staff and attendants were welcoming, friendly and very helpful with restaurant recommendations and local attractions. While we did not travel with pets, the hotel is extremely pet friendly and have a resident dog Hippo who sleeps quietly in the corner of the lobby and loves attention from guests. Hippo has his own calling card and title of Manager of Canine Services....a cute touch.

The location is excellent and is in easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and bars.

We had a car and parking is an additional charge but the valet service to retrieve the car was fast and friendly...worth the price as parking in Vancouver is a problem.

If you are looking for a smaller venue of relaxed luxury and high quality service with a personal touch this hotel is for you. We loved it and would welcome the opportunity to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HNLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,189
    375
    62
    14
    10
See reviews for
639
2,114
148
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Reservations for 6 nights. Lovely hotel. Attentive staff. Asked for a quiet room - the 5am (unasked-for) wake-up was trucks in back of the building, backup signals blaring, tailgates crashing. I was told by the hotel desk at 5am that the hotel had complained to the city before about the garbage collection noise early each morning.
All I wanted was a nice, quiet room. The hotel could have put me on the other side of the building, away from the noise they new was going to occur. Instead, I was given a room that was blasted by the vehicle noise for over an hour that morning.
I made arrangements around 7am to move to another hotel. At 8:30, when I went to check out I was then offered a change of rooms, even an upgrade if I would stay.
Thanks but no thanks. The quiet room was mandatory, not optional. The hotel I moved to, not as nice esthetically, but quiet.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saxify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The Hotel is centrally located in downtown Vancouver, and is only a couple of blocks from the underground, which gives easy access to the airport. It is amongst the very best hotels that either my wife or I have stayed in - the ambience, the friendliness/helpfulness of the staff, the facilities - are all top notch. We were upgraded to a suite on our arrival, at no extra cost. The suite was exceptionally well appointed and very clean. We hadn't intended having breakfast in the Hotel, tried it the first morning, out of convenience, it was so good we went there every morning! Can't be recommended too highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebarnesfamily78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2010

I checked into L'Hermitage for one night only, but it was a great night! Check-in was smooth, seamless and courteous. Lots of smiles from the staff - it seems like they really enjoy working there - a good sign. My room was modern and beautifully decorated with a separate living room and marble bathroom with a great bathtub. Since I only had a very short time, I relied on Raymond, the concierge, to recommend an afternoon walk and that night's dining. Raymond was an absolute delight and set up the perfect day and evening for me! The hotel is currently undergoing construction, which I could hear but wasn't an issue, as I didn't have the luxury of sleeping in the next day. I slept like a baby after scarfing down the truffles left on my pillow. My only concern (and it is minor) relates to the towels and bathrobe. They were a little scratchy. This only stood out because everything else was so top-notch. I didn't try the breakfast, unfortunately, as I over-slept a little. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again nor to recommend to friends and colleagues. A great find!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caytraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlennEleiter, General Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear Caytraveller123,

Thank you so very much for your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I have already passed along to Raymond that he really made your short trip to our beautiful City that much more enjoyable!
Construcion of our new Italian restaurant, Q4 'al Centro', is nearly complete. Construction noise over the next few weeks should be minimal while the final fit-out takes place. Grand Opening is scheduled for Friday, December 10th.
We will be sure to place a few 'extra' truffles on your pillow the next time you are our Guest! Thank you once again,

Sincerely,

Glenn Eleiter
General Manager
L'Hermitage Hotel Vancover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We wanted to stay downtown because we were going to Hockey Game. Normally stay at the Wedgewood but we thought we would give L'Hermitage a try!! Glad we did. We had booked a Boutique suite and got upgraded to a Signature suite!! Sub zero fridge fully stocked kitchen with granite counters and bar stools. Had friends over for drinks and appetizers before the game and after, our little humble abode away from home!. Had a fabulous breakfast in L'Orangerie. We will come down for 2 nights next time!! Loved the dog concierge "Hippo" he loves to sleep on the desk as likes being same level as humans not on the floor!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianGirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Nice hotel in heart of city....clean, comfortable...rooms good but not great...neighborhood O.K....friendly, helpful staff...buffet breakfast available for additional charge (we paid $15 each): eggs, waffles, sausage, etc....computer available...overall nice place, decent value for price, but not particularly great.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

This review is hard to write. To compare this hotel to any other I’ve stayed at would be unfair. You need to understand, this hotel is far and away something very special and unique. For starters, this is actually a condominium property with a segment of the building dedicated for this hotel. Staff is very friendly and more than happy to assist with any question you might have. An example, when I checked in my room wasn’t ready so I was shown to a cool lounge area upstairs (half of which doubles as their restaurant). The one bedroom suite is just that, a huge one bedroom condo with high end touches throughout. The deep soaking tub was a real bonus. As for price, I’m blown away it’s not much more. I’d expect this to go for $400-500/night, it’s really that good.

As for location, it’s hard to find something better than this. You’re a few blocks away from the main downtown area and still a few blocks away from the waterfront and Yaletown. The subway system (called the Skytrain) is only two blocks away and I’d highly recommend it coming from/to the airport (same speed as a taxi and way cheaper). Side recommendation, if you like sushi, walk 10 blocks south to Kaide Sushi and be blown away.

Other reviews were correct that there is no dedicated restaurant for room service but they are beginning construction on a new restaurant. My only wish (mind you this is a stretch) is they had a higher quality shower curtain and rod. The rest of the room was so high end that the rod and curtain looked so cheap in comparison. Overall, this is one property that must be at the top of your list if you ever visit Vancouver.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grif858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing