We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Orcas”

Wild Whales Vancouver
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had an outstanding trip on the semi closed boat. We followed (at a safe distance) the J pod of orcas for about an hour and it was magnificent. Our guide and captain were lovely and very knowledgeable. The total trip was about 5 hours and scenic the entire time. We travelled with our children (12 & 15) and they loved the ride as well. Well worth the time and money for this one.

Thank JennGriff14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orca2009, Manager at Wild Whales Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks for the great review! J pod has been hanging around for quite a while now and been putting on amazing shows. They must be finding lots of food here, which is a great thing to see. Thanks for mentioning that we followed the whales at a safe distance. We want to make sure we respect their space and don't want to impact their natural behaviour.

Thanks again and what a fantastic picture!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

661 - 665 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Jody, our naturalist was wonderful, her passion for Orcas, contagious. We really enjoyed "knowing" who we were "seeing" in J pod! The open boat experience was the only way to go, so it was worth putting up with motor noise. Those anti-climate suits! we looked like convicts coming back from a day of picking up trash on the highways, but they did keep us warm and dry. Highly recommend this experience, and it gave us an opportunity to experience Granville island too, which we may not have done if we'd taken an excursion from Victoria.

Thank Librarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orca2009, Manager at Wild Whales Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks for the great review!

Granville Island is a unique place to leave from and glad you appreciated it. It's a very different experience than leaving from Victoria and we are proud of that. Thanks so much for the great recommendation and happy to pass on your kind words to Jody.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I try to make sure my reviews are informative not just gushing or critical so here goes....

Watching orcas in their natural habitat is wonderful and hard to beat so for that 10/10!

The boat (Quick Change II) was exceptionally loud and uncomfortable which when you've got a 90km trip out and back is a little unpleasant.

Your guide (Jody) was nice but it was possible to hear her over the sound of the boat and I was surprised she wasn't looking to see what we passed on the way.... We saw eagles and we think some dolphins as we went past at high speed and it was a shame not to know more....

It's not a cheap day out but it's a long trip from Vancouver so fair price. But we didn't appreciate the guide ending the trip by saying her and the Captain (Dennis I think) don't earn much so any tips welcome.....

So in summary - I'd recommend whale watching, prob best do e from Victoria not Vancouverto reduce journey.... And id avoid the loud covered boat....

Orcas though..... Made it all worthwhile!!!!!

Thank M1SS_G1GGLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orca2009, Manager at Wild Whales Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us and glad you enjoyed the whales! The boats can be loud so we do offer ear plugs on all of the boats.

Whale watching from Victoria is quite different than going out of Vancouver, you're right about that. The down side to the Victoria departures is that they schedule multiple trips in a day. This means that if the whales are closer to Vancouver, which happens frequently, they can't come up here because they have to be back for their next departure. We only schedule one trip per day so we have no rush to get back and can go as far as Victoria if the whales happen to be down there as they did our your trip.

The naturalists do mention sometimes that tipping is optional and they let people know that they have a tip jar in the office. I have spoken with Jody about how she approaches that, so thank you for bringing that up.

Thanks again for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had perfect weather and went through the Street of Georgia to a bay where we saw about seven different Orcas. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and she told us everything about the biology of these mammals and how to distinguish different individuals. Besides the Orcas we saw Seals, sea eagles and of course the beautiful landscape. The whole round trip took 7 hours with a total distance of 250km. As the boats have a flat bottom this trip is definitively nothing for people back disorders.
This is really a must do if you are visiting Vancouver or British Columbia.

Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orca2009, Manager at Wild Whales Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks so much!! We have had a huge range in trip length so far this year. It is usually around 5.5 hours but sounds like you had one of our longer ones. We are glad that you were able to see the whales and had such a good time.

We really love when people call our trip a "must do" here. We couldn't agree more!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This whale watching tour was amazing. We went with the open boat and our guide was Jasmine. From the moment we boarded until we were back in the harbor she told us about the orcas and the wildlife as well as the scenery. It was very informative and Jasmine is very knowledgeable.
As promised on their homepage they will take you out for up to 7hrs in order for you to see the Orcas. Useful to bring your own lunch (but they will remind you the moment you check in).
Get your reservations in early as there is only limited space on the open boats (believe something around 20pax per boat).
We saw orcas, seals and eagles and the Captain will do anything for you to get up close and take some great photos.
A must do if you are in Vancouver!

Thank Wunderbar_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orca2009, Manager at Wild Whales Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks for the awesome review!

Jasmine has been doing this a long time and has become very good at it. She will be thrilled to see your review. Thanks for letting people know to book early! This time of year especially we fill up quickly. Our captains and naturalists do everything they can to provide you with an experience that guests won't forget. Glad you feel it is a "must do" in Vancouver.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Whales Vancouver also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Wild Whales Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing