We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant trip”

Wild Whales Vancouver
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant trip”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a great day with Wild Wales Vancouver - and yes, we followed a pod of around 10 Orcas - fantastic experience. Had a really good guide - who not only could tell us about the wales themselves - but all the other willdlife that we were likely to see - seals, eagles etc. The scenery was spectacular - all in all, a well worthwhile trip - we were looked after from start to finish. Advice - do bring a packed lunch, sunglasses and of course a camera!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orca2009, Manager at Wild Whales Vancouver, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thanks so much for the five star review! We are constantly striving to give passengers a trip they will never forget so it's great to see such good reviews. We are thrilled that you had such a good time and got to see the wildlife and scenery that this coast has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    98
    24
    22
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb guides”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

After 27 days of whale sightings, we were optimistic that we'd see something. Catherine was an incredibly knowledgeable, compassionate and eagle-eyed guide and Gary seemed to have a sixth sense about the whales. Twice our humpback went for a deep dive and Gary drove away from the other boats gathered round (to the surprise of the other boat drivers, we overheard on the radio). "An educated guess," he explained, and when the whale twice surfaced less than ten feet away, we realised he really knew what he was doing. After the trip we felt much more informed looking at the wildlife from the land, including the bald eagle nesting in the corner of Vanier Park, thanks to Catherine's explanations. A real highlight in the holiday of a lifetime. Thank you!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orca2009, Manager at Wild Whales Vancouver, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thanks Donna!! Thanks for the review and the "eagle-eyed guide Gary" nickname haha. That was an awesome day with that Humpback! We have hit 51 days of whale sightings now! The streak is still alive.

It is the best compliment when someone says it was the highlight of their trip. Thanks so much for coming with us and taking the time to write such a glowing review. Hope to see you again one day.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful day with a great company!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It was a beautiful day spent in the company of a delightful naturalist/tour guide. Ashley taught us a lot of interesting facts about marine biology and the orca whales we spent about an hour with near the San Juan islands. This was not a quick boat trip, but a 6-7 hour adventure across Georgia Strait, through Active Pass and then south to where the whales were sighted just off the San Juans. The boat (Pod Pilot) was open but large enough that the journey was enjoyable even crossing the chop of Georgia Strait. We would highly recommend this company for a whale watching adventure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoveinwhereIlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orca2009, Manager at Wild Whales Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thanks so much. Ashley is a very knowledgeable guide and very passionate about her job. We are happy to hear you enjoyed all the information she has to share.

Thanks again for the review and great recommendation. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow - more then expected”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A great afternoon with a very knowledgeable guide. Spotted humpback with a calf and a pod of orcas in a very playful and energetic mood, as well as seals and harbour dolphins. Eagles a regular and wonderful sighing. Finished day with oysters and a glass of fizz back on Granville Island.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Goshawk200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orca2009, Manager at Wild Whales Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thanks for the spectacular review! Sounds like you had a pretty epic day with lots of wildlife spotted!! and of course, the glass of fizz back on the island is a great way to wrap up the day.

Thanks for taking the time to review us and glad you had such a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Long travel for nice sightings”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Spend 2,5h on relatively rough sea where we got soaked as the exposure suits are not entirely waterproof until arriving at a spot where several small groups of Orcas were passing. Nice sightings of the orcas for about an hour, then heading back again 2,5h with one sighting of a bald eagle. Luckily the sea was calmer on the way back. All in all we were lucky that it was a sunny day, otherwise it's just a lot of travel in rough sea for some orca sightings in the distance. Actually, coming from Victoria it would have been half the distance through calmer waters - but that of course in our particular case.

Helpful?
Thank Ante S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orca2009, Manager at Wild Whales Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thanks for your review. We don't get wet on the boats very often but from time to time we can get some salt water spray if the waves are a bit bigger. The downside of leaving from Victoria is that if the whales are closer to Vancouver, their boats can't come up this way because they schedule multiple departures. We only schedule one trip per day so we will go those extra miles to make sure we show people some whales.

Thanks again for taking the time to review us and glad you enjoyed the Orcas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Whales Vancouver also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Wild Whales Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing