We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sports bar with good food”
Review of Hurricane Grill

Hurricane Grill
Ranked #970 of 3,750 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: US$9 - US$14
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
vancouver
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sports bar with good food”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Went for lunch and was pleasantly surprised. Great burgers and our yam fries/regular fries were cooked to perfection. Service was prompt and any extras were provided quickly and with a smile.
Lots of T V's to watch the World Cup game in progress but the volume did not inhibit conversation. Parking is difficult to find and a short walk was necessary to get to the restaurant. As the heading said....a nice little sports bar with very good burgers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blanca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    32
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby
Level Contributor
219 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Dine Out Experience”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The food, ambience, location and decor were all very good. The tap beers we ordered were good. We went in a group and our table was reserved and ready for us. The salad for appys was nice. I ordered Blackened Salmon and it was very tasty, good portion and cooked well. My husband's portion was a bit small, he ordered Pork Tenderloin... he could have enjoyed a bigger portion. The apple crumble was also great for dessert. A good experience were food is concerned but an excellent time with my friends, ofcourse.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YaShaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
928 reviews
434 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
“Great deal!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Finally making it here on the last week of Dine Out. Very much enjoyed the location, the atmosphere and the food. One end is the bar while the other side is more restaurant. Other members of the family visited the week before and the big screens were down in the restaurant side to watch, in this case, the hockey game. For 18$ each we enjoyed a three course meal, a great deal. For appies we had the Basil soup and Warm beet salad. Both good. Crackers offered with soup but I would rather have a bread product. We also enjoyed the Chicken Parmigiana and Pork Tenderloin. Good portions and really good flavour. Dessert was the Kahlua fudge brownie and Apple crumble. Needed coffee with these; brownie is very rich but good. I enjoyed the nuts and rum but found the crumble too sweet. (Daughter really enjoyed hers the week before!) Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would like to try other items on the menu. Over food looked very eye appealing. A regular was enjoying the Ako Salad for 14$. Other items on the menu look really good! Gluten free items are identified as are new and Ocean wise items. Staff was friendly and helpful. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
296 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Great Location, good food, but small portions”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Visited this place during the Dine out festivities and I must say I was impressed with the location and the taste of the food itself. The portions were small and maybe that was because of the dine out menu, not sure and someone can correct me on this. A soon as we were seated we had our server come to ask for our orders and we had to request her to come back as we had not decided. She came back a little later took our orders and the appys' were served in a timely manner. It gave us enough time, as we were in a group, to enjoy the atmosphere. The appy I ordered was a warm beet salad which was very flavorful. The main course I ordered a Pork Tenderloin and that too was nice however the portion was that of an appetizer. Did I come to a grill or a Fine dining restaurant? All in all everything we ordered was delicious and we all left very satisfied where the food taste was concerned. The only flip side to this place in my books were the small portions. Our server though not the most friendly, was certainly professional and knowledgeable. All in all a nice place and certainly worth the dine out experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Dine out 2014 experience”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

It's that kind of bar&grill cuisine. The food was okay but we had to wait way to long between the courses, of course, no apologizes or something similar but it worth a try.
The location in Yaletown is nice, facing the waterfront with boats, ocean but the inside atmosphere is so and so.
For sure it will not be a next time or any recommendation for my friends to stop there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hurricane Grill also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Hurricane Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing