We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent base to discover downtown Vancouver!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of VI at Rosedale on Robson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
VI at Rosedale on Robson
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An excellent base to discover downtown Vancouver!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here on a timeshare exchange basis. I agree with other reviewers that the decor in the communal areas was a bit dated which made me wonder what the apartment would look like.

I was pleasantly surprised, the decor was great, colour scheme relaxing and good quality furnishings. The televisions were disappointingly old and not really good quality. My shower didn't work properly, which was annoying, after an very long non-stop journey from London and the air-con/heating unit was unacceptably loud. Once the shower problem was resolved, things were much better.

The apartment had a mini-kitchen, complete with coffee maker, large fridge and cooker. More than enough to self-cater.

The bar/restaurant attached to the hotel was over-priced but the service staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

I'd stay here again, it was an excellent base on a relatively quiet street in the heart of downtown. The location was simply perfect.

Room Tip: I had an amazingly huge balcony which I didn't use, due to the time of year I travelled. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Triplets_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    35
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
35
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We would highly recomend staying at another hotel. The photos online are deceptive as the rooms look nice. Don't be fooled, the rooms are dirty and dated. From the pubic hair on lamp, hair on the pillow, a broken window, sticky marks, bits of food on the phone, dirty dishes in the cupboard, no water pressure, stained carpets, lumpy and staind pilows, to the foul smell, cold 'hot tub' and raised parking rates. Our stay was unpleasant and uncomfertable. Unfortunatly there were no rooms available at another hotel or we would have left. Don't waste your points/money here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VanIsleReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Comox,British Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a two bedroom unit that was clean and had nice decor.The place had a small mini kitchen that offered the conveniance of cooking in.The units are not overly large
The bed was comfy
Overall the best part of staying here I would say is the location,great for BC Place stadium and Rogers Arena,close to Yaletown and pretty much anywhere in the downtown core is in close proximity.
There is a restaurant on site that serves pub food,breakfast,lunch
I would stay again if the price was right

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

To simply confirm what others have said, this timeshare property is part of the Rosedale and occupies the top floors. Rooms, hallways and common areas are very dated. Although everything seemed to be clean, the place is at a level of a decent Best Western.

The location is amazing. My girlfriend and I did not rent a car while in Vancouver and did not need one with this locale. It was close to everything that we were interested in seeing.

A few tips to make your stay more pleasant:
-There is no coffee maker in the rooms. So, be prepared to get your morning fix, elsewhere.
-The in-room air unit is noisy. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to make accommodation for this.
-Internet in the rooms is at a steep charge. Walk up Robson two blocks and use free wi-fi at the Starbucks.
-Yaletown is three blocks to the left as you walk out the front door of the hotel. There are many great pubs and restaurants.
-There is a small grocery store three blocks up Robson. This is great for essentials.

Overall, you cannot beat the location of this place for exploring Vancouver. We were attending a concert at Rogers arena and it was just a 10 minute walk. I would just not plan on spending any time in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Had 2 units there on different floors. The higher floor was more spacious & was great for us with kids. The location was great as it was within walking distances to all the tourist places. Nice & quiet when we want to calm down at the end of the day. Kids had a great time at the pool & the place was well run tho upgradings are over due for the furnishing.

Room Tip: Pick the higher floors without the balcony for more room to move around
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

All we asked of our travel club was a week in downtown. When we were offered a 1br place on Robson at less than $100 a night, I said great. Then I read some very mixed reviews on this place and became a little concerned. But I have always given un-biased reviews, and this is no exception.
Our middle unit was on the 10th floor, looking north, with the library on the left and Robson down below. It was probably the smallest 1br unit they had, but it was just fine for us two, especially for the price. Sure, I would have liked a window in the living room. The bed was pretty comfortable for me, but gave my wife a neckache she never got rid of. Only a foot off the floor, I guess this is an Oriental effect, but not particularly to our liking. I'll bet the maid doesn't like changing the bottom sheet, which was fitted, but didn't fit well.
Large flat screen non-HD tv, with a small tube tv in the bedroom. Bathroom only large enough for one person at a time. Showerhead was nice, but flow was barely adequate. Mini-kitchen was adequate. Small dining table with 2 chairs, along with 3-person sofa and matching chair, made for a tight living room.
Carpet and furniture appeared to be fairly new, but dark finish and dark carpet made for a very dark room.
No problem with any of the staff. Free maid service provided on the middle day was fine. Extra washcloths requested and provided. $25 internet for the week worked well. $16/day parking. Grocery store 3 blocks. We were halfway between Gastown and Yaletown. Perfect location. Food, restaurants, taxes: very expensive town. Like San Francisco, but better.
Elevators worked fine and floor was quiet. Good selection of free movies. Nice umbrellas to borrow.
If we could get a larger living room, with a window, and a normal raised bed, with boxspring, and get the same price, we would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfdog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We just returned from a one week stay at Aviawest. It was a timeshare exchange for us. It is a perfect location in Vancouver, most attractions within walking distance ( very close to Yaletown) and we went swimming in the pool every day. The kitchen was well enough equipped for us. It was great for two people but if 4 were in the unit it might be crowded as there was only 2 chairs for the table. It was clean but the carpet had seen better days with lots of stains and also a few on the furniture. It might be a good idea for them to add a broom to sweep up and carpeting in the kitchen area should be replaced with a more practical flooring. We had a wonderful stay and slept well.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a room were you won't hear the fire and police sirens as much. Also ask if an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,507 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Rosedale on Robson
Rosedale on Robson
#42 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Robson Street
Westin Grand Vancouver
Westin Grand Vancouver
#30 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VI at Rosedale on Robson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VI at Rosedale on Robson

Property: VI at Rosedale on Robson
Address: 838a Hamilton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B6A2, Canada (Formerly Aviawest at Rosedale)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VI at Rosedale on Robson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfect central location is near trendy Yaletown, and right in the middle of a shopping mecca on Robson Street. You can easily take a stroll to Gastown and North America's largest Chinatown. There's more to see at the beautiful gardens of Stanley Park or the markets of Granville Island. Discover Vancouver's fabulous shops, restaurants and cafes, take in a game or visit the theatre all from your urban oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your VI at Rosedale on Robson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviawest At Rosedale Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing