We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Heart of the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
VI at Rosedale on Robson
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In the Heart of the City”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Right in the midst of downtown Vancouver. The room was a bit dated and the air conditioner was loud, but those were the only cons. The room was large, had a mini kitchen with fridge and stove top as well.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 on each floor are right at the elevators. The rooms are on the far side of the unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gjh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    36
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
36
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Room needed updating and it was very difficult to sleep due to the noise of the air conditioning. We turned it off and opened the windows, but the noise from the street was too loud. 2 nights and very poor sleep. The bed didn't help. It was a kingsize but was so soft and very poorly made. This facility needs to be updated. The lobby was dingy and poorly lit. Even though we have points with this company I would be very tempted to go to another hotel in Vancouver the next time I am there. The only good thing is that it is in a very good location, but it is very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at VI at Rosedale on Robson, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please accept our sincerest apologies we were unable to satisfy your needs during your stay. Some of the Rosedale timeshare units will be undergoing a complete renovation this winter. As you mentioned this is a great location in the heart of downtown and we hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our 1 bedroom apartment was bigger than we expected based on previous reviews. Rooms were a bit dated but still had all the essentials. Guest laundry was a bonus as we had been on a cruise and needed to wash. We were able to prepare some meals ourselves but there were so many places nearby to eat. Supermarket not far up the road that we found to have everything we needed. Great bus system are d Vancouver. We found that we could get around very easily and a reasonable price. If you want somewhere with a great location that s not going the break then this will be OK. Internet only worked in the foyer unless you paid for it in your room. We sat in the lounge chairs downstairs and did our emails etc without any problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supernanny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The room was alittle small, but who wants to spend Canada Day in a room! So close to the downtown shopping and scene. Easy drive to Stanley park and Capilano Bridge. Easy drive everywhere actually.
had a beautiful time in and outside of town.
Remember to bring your own soap, and perhaps your own towels - theirs are abit rough.
We would go back.

Room Tip: Since you can't choose a room under VI, we couldn't suggest. But on the North side/high woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendachristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 days before a cruise. The timeshare units are actually part of a hotel (they are identical to the hotel rooms) and check in is done with the hotel staff, who seem to know nothing whatsoever about the timeshare side. Less than a week before we arrived, we received a letter from RCI telling us that the "resort" (it is hard to call it that, since it really is just a hotel) had started charging a new fee/tax that would be a maximum of $16.22 per day, depending on unit size. We only had a one bedroom unit, and were charged almost $17 a day, which is more than RCI said it would be. When we asked the front desk about the discrepancy, they told us we’d have to talk to the Vacation International people next door. When we asked them, they said we’d have to ask RCI. RCI said it was the resort’s fee and we’d have to ask them. So basically we paid $50 extra for something no one could explain to us. We also had a housekeeping fee (which is charged for any stay less than 9 days). By the time we added up all the fees and what the points we had to use had cost us in maintenance fees with our home resort, we ended up paying more than we would have paid if we’d have just booked the room directly with the hotel, rather than doing an exchange. We talked to some people who had rented their room outright, and theirs was in a much better location and was much better maintained. So, not only did we pay more, but apparently we got a room that was not as nice or well-maintained as we would have gotten had we booked one outright.

That being said, the room was very clean. It had a separate living room from the bedroom, and a small kitchen area. The living room, unfortunately, was very cave-like because it had no windows (only the corner rooms in the hotel have windows in the living rooms). The bathroom was also extremely small, and only a tiny bottle of shampoo and two small bars of soap were provided. The bedroom had a row of windows, and they opened, which we appreciated because the thermostat was rigged so you could not set it below a certain temperature, and it was located in the bedroom so it was hard to control the environment in the whole unit.

As for the “resort,” it really had no amenities beyond a pool and hot tub. What they called a gym was really just a few very old stair climbers and treadmills put in the hallway area between the front desk and the pool. As exercise "fanatics," we were extremely disappointed that we couldn't get a real workout in while there. There is no free wi-fi, except in the lobby, which can get really noisy and busy. My husband has to work while on the road, and he really needed to have connectivity.

The location was the best thing about the hotel. It was about a mile from the waterfront, and a block away from a Vancouver Trolley stop (hop on, hop off), so was it was easy to get to just about anywhere we wanted. There were several good restaurants nearby. The one downstairs (Rosie’s) was decent and since it rained the whole time we were there, it was nice to not have to go outside to get to it. We really liked Jimmy’s Tap House, across the street from the trolley stop…great beer, great food and great service.

As a hotel, the Rosedale on Robson is okay; as a timeshare exchange, it is simply too expensive because of the fees and points required. We won’t stay there again, because a gym and wi-fi is important to us, and because it just wasn’t that nice (there is a Hampton Inn a block away which friends stayed at, and they raved about it…we could have gotten it for less money than we ultimately ended up paying for the Rosedale, and it had a gym, wi-fi, and breakfast included).

Room Tip: I'm not sure if you can request a higher floor since the hotel staff doesn't seem to know an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TamikoBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed there last weekend (March 31 & April 1) and was very disappointed with this place. First off, there is NO free we-fi in the rooms. How ridiculous. People who have a hotel KNOW that we all need and want wi-fi nowadays, so to make me get dressed and go sit in the LOBBEY in order to read an e-mail is ridiculous and really annoying. 2nd...the smell in this hotel was attrocious. Because the units have kitchens, people can cook whatever they choose. Obviously there is little or no ventilation because I swear I was sleeping in the streets of Delhi. Oh it was awful. When I checked out I was not asked how my stay was, but was compelled to mention how bad my room stunk. I mentioned that my floor needed some air freshener and the guy asked me what it smelled like and I said "kind of like curry" and his response to me in a quiet voice was "oh, you better not say that too loud !! " and that was it. I guess he was referring to the fact that there were East Indians all over the lobby area. Don't get me wrong, I was not insulting them in any way, if the smell was of garlic I wouldn't be worried that an Italian might hear me. It is what it is. The issue is the hotel has no ventilation and the other guests who may not LOVE the smell of curry have to suffer ALL NIGHT LONG. The pool was very cold but the hot tub was warm, so I could at least sit in the hot tub to escape the stink in my room. Very disappointed with this place, although the bed was comfy.

Room Tip: The wait for the elevator is terrible so maybe ask for a lower floor then you can take the stairs if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janica1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. It was a great place to stay. The room was very nice as was the view. The hotel was spotless and the service was great. The resteraunt downstairs was very good as well. Location, perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snappione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,557 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Rosedale on Robson
Rosedale on Robson
#41 of 92 in Vancouver
1,531 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Downtown
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VI at Rosedale on Robson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VI at Rosedale on Robson

Property: VI at Rosedale on Robson
Address: 838A Hamilton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6A2, Canada (Formerly Aviawest at Rosedale)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Yaletown & False Creek North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VI at Rosedale on Robson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfect central location is near trendy Yaletown, and right in the middle of a shopping mecca on Robson Street. You can easily take a stroll to Gastown and North America's largest Chinatown. There's more to see at the beautiful gardens of Stanley Park or the markets of Granville Island. Discover Vancouver's fabulous shops, restaurants and cafes, take in a game or visit the theatre all from your urban oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your VI at Rosedale on Robson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviawest At Rosedale Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing