We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, better, Shangri-la!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Shangri-la exceeded my expectations for a hotel.
I've traveled a lot in the world, Tokyo, Tel-Aviv, Prague and Berlin alone this year and have stayed at 5 star hotels HOWEVER: Shangri-la beats it all

Everything is just a bit better. (or a lot)
In addition, authentic and beautiful art on the walls

Shangri-la Vancouver is perfectly Placed. Walking distance to everything.
The staff are friendly, helpful and very welcoming.

Just opposite the hotel there is a sushi restaurant; Ki which I also can recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback as it is essential to our success. It is guests such as yourself, who are able to identify the excellence we try to achieve by creating engaging experiences straight from our hearts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,387 - 1,393 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed an overnight stay with my family, including our dog. The hotel and staff ensure all amenities are provided including a dog bed, bowls and water for the pooch.
Dinner at XiShi Lounge was delicious with great live entertainment as well. For me, the highlight was the WestCoast Wave massage at Chi Spa. The therapist used the perfect amount of pressure and even worked on areas of stress I didn't realize I was carrying. The atmosphere in the spa and in the client room was so tranquil. The experience from start to finish was incredible. The Shangri-la is as its namesake describes: a paradise on earth.

Room Tip: If traveling with older kids, you can choose end suites that are connected by a private hallway. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Island G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear to your family and your pooch had and enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Very pleasant experience and stay. Excellent customer service and very nice room. Central location and walking distance to subway and Robson. Complimentary wifi but expensive parking. Very hard to find the lower lobby entrance which is for parking and check in for visitor who is driving

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed here recently on a business trip and have to say this is one of the most state-of-the-art hotels where I have stayed. Everything is automated, and I was amazed by the presence of the tv screen in the bathroom mirror. The staff treated me like royalty, and everyone was more than willing to help with every request I had related to our board's group stay, including when I walked into the business center and found someone to help me print some documents on the fly. I cannot say enough about how polite and helpful everyone was, and what a nice element this is when you have a lot to accomplish in a short time with a large group. I wrote out the comment card and I know it was read, because they sent me a nice desk calendar to boot. VERY pleased and now I understand why my company loves this hotel. Best stay ever--I wish it could have been longer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. We certainly do read all of our guest comment cards as guest feedback is the only true way for us to measure the effectiveness of our service delivery. I hope you enjoy your calendar and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Suberb service, a true Shangri La experience. The bed was probably the best hotel bed that I have ever slept in, even better than my own Hästens bed at home. Clean, stylish, quiet and sophisticated without being posh. Well worth the money, indeed. Recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EL_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to be recommended from an avid traveler such as your self. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have stayed here before and will stay again. It is so fun & wonderful to stay at a top notch hotel. The tv mirror in the bathroom is awesome! Fresh delicious coffee! Comfortable bed! And everything (lights, drapes open & close etc) is right at your fingertips!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy045Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Our stay at the Shanri-La Hotel Vancouver exceeded my vision of a weekend get-a-way. It truly was my shangri-la. Thanks so much to everyone who made our stay a dream realized. Mary Ringwald

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryRingwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,212 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,039 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,830 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,821 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £178 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing