We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hopitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Shangri-La in Vancouver for our anniversary and from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The staff went above and beyond for us. Shortly after we arrived, the staff sent up a very decadent "Happy Anniversary" chocolate cake. Staff at the lounge, front desk and concierge were all very polite, helpful and friendly. Upon checkout the valet provided complimentary water for our drive home. The room itseft was impeccably clean and the decor was beautiful. Although we were only on the 14th floor we had a wonderful view of Stanley Park.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

We are humbled that you chose to spend your special day with us and pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,339 - 1,345 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

I love the fairmomt. Bid say the Room was just slightly nicer Location good Lobby not quite the same.

Stayed: August 2011
1  Thank Grahamrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Beautiful Views, Excellent Personalized service, and incredible food. There are T'v's in the marble bathroom mirrors and you get chocolate on your pillow. We were celebrating our marriage and even received special personalized free dessert and specail spa package deals. Honestly the attention to detail, food and incredible service makes me compare every hotel experience to this.

Room Tip: As for a room with a harbour view, absolutely stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmercant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Excellent hotel and extremely good value. Only a 1 night stop over stay breaking up a return from Whistler to home, but well worth it and definitly a good decision on our part. Our daughter's favorite hotel ever in fact she spent 2 hours in the bathroom watching tv from the mirror, taking a bath and then a shower with all the wonderful products provided - perfect to relax her tired and sore muscles from skiing all week.

Top notch service and extremely friendly, without pretenses sometimes found in hotels of this quality. Pool and hot tub were nice as well.

We got 2 double beds and were worried we wouldn't sleep well as we are used to a king, but wanted our daughter to have a bed as well. We were tired, but the bed quality was extremely good and we slept like babies and quite comfortably.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any bad rooms. We did the upgraded deluxe double and it was extremely spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60805Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased that your family had an enjoyable conclusion to your vacation with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

If you are lucky enough to find yourself in the beautiful city of Vancouver BC and you want a well managed, friendly, relaxed, quiet, bespoke, classy & convenient Hotel experience then you should look no further. My wife and I have stayed many times at the Shangri-la in Bangkok and on a recent shopping trip to Vancouver decided to treat ourselves to the far from cheap experience that is the Shangri-la brand. The Hotel in Vancouver is very much in keeping with the world wide brand is really is the epitome of what a good city Hotel should be. The staff from check in to upgrade to valet parking to baggage valet service were so professional so friendly so relaxed yet discreet and formal enough to make you feel special and that you were staying in a Hotel away from the hum drum of inner city life. It is also in the perfect location to access the downtown of Vancouver whether your needs are retail based or foodie or culture based. Do yourselves a big favour, stop looking and book yourselves in, you will have a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Choose an upgrade and you get free valet parking and free breakfast. Ask for a room with a balcony f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petewithleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Spent a Saturday night at Shangri-La for a little getaway. The Shangri-La gets A LOT of hype and so I wanted to see for myself. I offer the caveat that I had high expectations. So, while little was wrong per se, it just was NOT a good value.

The good: Rooms were clean and the toiletries, linens, towels and robes were of good quality. The fitness facility, steam rooms, outdoor pool, outdoor hot tub and the spa are all beautiful. Perhaps the nicest I have seen in Vancouver.

The mediocre: Some of the service was great and some was poor so overall, it was mediocre. Hallway noise was audible in our first room. The standard rooms (Superior King) are very small. The decor is not impressive. Honestly, it is hard to believe that hotel was professionally decorated. Cords, are clearly visible. Curtains and wall hangings clash. Bathroom while lovely, does not compare to other hotels of that caliber.

The story: So we booked a Superior King room and I was very disappointed by how small it was for the price. I was also disturbed by how loud the street noise was with the windows closed. We asked if there was room we could move to but were told the only option was an upgrade. So, we upgraded. For a small increase in price we got a much larger room on the quiet side of the building and without noisy neighbours.

The check-in is located in the parking garage and is small and unimpressive. The line was long and there are only two work stations at the front desk. Slow. I also waited five minutes for an elevator. It took close to 30 minutes to get to our room. Our small and unimpressive room.

We decided to grab a drink in the lounge. The lounge was nearly empty yet after far too long, I finally had to ask the bartender to send someone over. When we finally did get help, their product knowledge was not up to par although their selection was good. Predictably, room service was extremely expensive, edible but not great and the portions were tiny.

Really, I could go on and on about how mediocre it was. Nothing terribly wrong (other than the small noisy room), but for the price, nothing terribly right either (other than the fitness area). Unless your primary goal is to shop on Robson street, head down to the water and stay in one of the harbour front hotels. Stay at one of the Marriott's or the Hyatt for half the price or spend the big money at the Fairmont Pacific Rim. I have to say that the Pacific Rim is in an entirely different league.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade to an Executive King. The Superior King rooms just don't cut it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crickets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We would like to apologize for your less than favourable experience with us. We pride ourselves in providing nothing but the best customer service and we are disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations. We hope you will give us the chance to reconsider in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is the finest hotel I have ever stayed at. The price is steep but you get what you pay for. A great building, huge rooms that are so well thought through that I don't know where to begin. Basic rooms are more like small apartments with three different tv sets, huge bathrooms with separate shower and bathtub and automated lighting programs. Beds are great, staff seem to enjoy themselves (and made me feel very welcome) and the food is amazing.

The location is fantastic as well. There is simply put nothing bad or even less than amazing about this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarewellFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,185 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,805 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,792 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £178 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing