We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-La Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 September 2012

On August 4th my wife and I were married at the Shangri-La. Our experience with the hotel and its staff has always been and continues to be outstanding. A couple years ago my fiance (at the time) and I had an opportunity to stay at this hotel and it impressed us so much that it became a benchmark on which to judge other hotels. When it became time to look for a venue for our wedding we flew out to Vancouver and booked the Shangri-La without giving it another thought.

Throughout the entire planning process their staff was incredibly helpful and a great source of information for an out of town couple. They were able to recommend anything from DJ's to cake bakers, to even activities in the city for out of town guests. The ceremony was held on the outside terrace which was narrow but created an intimate setting. The view from the terrace was a unique blend of urban and nature, the line of sight was frames by tall buildings on both sides of Thurlow street extending down to the water. Beyond that in the distance were the mountains and the skyline. The hotels' restaurant, Market, catered the event for us and the food was amazing. We are still having guests tell us how delicious their meals were. Sally, who is the director of events manager, was meticulous in helping us prepare for the event. She really went above and beyond for us and on the day of our wedding she was at the hotel very early and she was still there checking in to make sure things were still going smoothly for us well past 1am. She was very dedicated to making our day special and we are very grateful to her.

The rooms were immaculate. The beds are large and extremely comfortable, and the bathrooms are all marble. We were married on a long weekend and everything was booked up as it was a busy weekend for Vancouver. Regardless Shangri-La was still able to set aside a more than adequate block of rooms and a great rate for our guests.

The hotel has a great fitness room room and an outdoor pool and hot tub. It was very relaxing to sit in the hot tub in the evening and watch the Vancouver skyline change colours as dusk set in. With this location you are in walking distance to all downtown attractions. The morning of our wedding the two of us snuck of at 6 am and walked to a local coffee shop and took a moment to ourselves while the city slept.

We stayed for an additional 7 days after the wedding. Throughout this time the service continued to be beyond excellent and even though the hotel was booked completely it was very quiet and it was easy to forget that the hotel was full.

My wife I would would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone planning an event or just looking for a great place to vacation. We would definitely stay again and we are looking forward to seeing some of the other Shangr-La's around the world.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VP165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We very pleased to hear that you had an exceptional stay with us. I will be sure to share your lovely comments with Sally. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,659)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Shangri-la and were completely satisfied. The bath was beautiful with double sinks, tub and shower. The amenities are first class, towels large and fluffy, robes wonderfully comfortable. The bed and pillows insured a great nights sleep. The location is terrific. We were in walking distance to Stanley Park, shopping and restaurants. The staff at the Shangri-la cannot be beat. Each one was friendly, attentive and accomodating. I would definitely encourage anyone to stay at the Shangri-la.

Room Tip: We had suite #1501 and it was a very spacious and comfortable room. (If I had a criticism of the ro...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Beautiful hotel in a great location, walking distance to many of the great attrcations. Service was impeccable. I have never been welcomed with such smiles and genuine attention as much as I was here and this was before they knew I was on honeymoon.Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We are humbled that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us. Congratulations! We hope you will return to us for future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Our stay at the Shangra-La was amazing. We were welcomed so warmly it surprised us and made the stay immediately wonderful. The staff was even more friendly and concerned about us than the wonderful crew on our Regent cruise ship. We had several requests and each one was received with pleasure and you were treated like you were the most important person in the world.
The rooms are fantastic. If you like luxury and high tech you will love the Shangra-La. The rooms are stunning with beautiful wood, heavy solid wood doors, and electronics we have never seen before in a hotel. There is a television screen in the bathroom mirror. No kidding. It is so cool. You can play your iPod through the Sony high definition television with a subwoofer sound system. The rooms are extremely quiet. We never heard a single bump or sound at all. Everything is electronic. Even the "do not disturb" sign is electronic and all you do is push the button and on the words are eliminated next to the door where you would insert your access card. No question you want privacy and you will get it.

My wife experienced their spa. She came back almost in a trance as it was that good. She said getting a spa treatment there was an unknown "bucket list" must do that she hopes to repeat soon.

The food was better than the cruise and we thought the six star rated cruise was good. The food highlight was fresh Crab Eggs Benedict for breakfast and French Toast. The night before the lamb was the best I have ever had.

I requested information on their electronics and the staff provided all the information. We have never been treated more warmly and with so much dignity. You would have thought we were the royal family. We will go back and this time we are staying much longer. It is the best hotel we have ever stayed. It was simply wonderful.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Alden S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review and wonderful comments about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

rooms of a 5* but flair, lobby and service as a 3* hotel

I am missing the flair and executive lounges of the Asian Shangs to welcome my business partners.

Additionally I was missing my amenities as a Diamond member of the Golden Circle.

Room Tip: I hope the construction side over the street will be ready soon.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMo9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for submitting your review. Please note that I have addressed your points with the relevant department heads and taken measures to ensure that experiences such as these are prevented in the future. We would hope to see you return to the Shangri-La so we may be given an opportunity to rectify the situation you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The usual excellent service and nice rooms. However the hotel currently has two large adjacent construction sites, one on each side. The week-end we were there there was a massive all-day concrete pour on one side and demolition jack-hammers on the other. Quiet at night, but not very agreeable during the day, probably for quite some time

Stayed: September 2012
5  Thank feldyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you very much for having shared your feedback following your stay with us. I am deeply sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused by the construction next door. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed our Hotel, location and Service. Your comments will be definitely forwarded to our Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in March 2012.
Hotel is beautiful and rooms very large. Staff were very helpful and all that.
We were on the 8th floor, hotel only goes to 15th I think, which was a bit disappointing because it is in one of Vancouvers tallest buildings (maybe the tallest).
Overall still have to give it top rating as the bathroom, room, and hotel were perfectly clean, very spacious, modern and had some nice gadgets like tv in bathroom mirror, pod coffee machine, remote controlled curtains and chocolate strawberries in room on arrival. Also very large shower, with robes.
Has a corporate feel outside of the room, as you would not really spend time in the lobby or around the hotel.
Location is good in the middle of down town Vancouver. You are not right beside everything but close to shopping district, close to water front and close enough to Stanley park, everything about 10 - 15 mins walk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EandO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,075 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,753 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,364 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
2,636 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £196 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing