We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a relaxing weekend for my wife”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 March 2013

i wanted to share a relaxing weekend for my wife in our own city. I chose your hotel for personnel reasons. She was treated to a relaxing night at the spa Friday evening. Then saterday after a wonderful day around Stanley park and back, she relaxed in your outdoor hot tub and enjoyed the pool. Saterday night downstairs at the Market for dinner, that did not disapoint. Your staffs service and knowledge of the menu and its ingrediants was a welcomed surpirise. The services that were provided in the room were second to none. My wife went home sunday morning with a huge smile, totally destressed and very very satisfied. In two short days she is relaxed and recharged for another four months before we get away to Europe to visit family.
I thank you and your more importantly your staff from the check in to the spa to the valet service guys, waiters cooks chefs and the very friendly bubbly young lady in the upper loung on the fifth floor by the spa.

warmest regards
Darrel Messer

Room Tip: the service from thier staff is impecable. centrally located in the heart of the city with little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

Friendly staff, excellent facilities and a beautiful hotel. I will not be staying anywhere else in Vancouver going forward.

Parking is the only difficulty. Due to the hotel's prime location the valet parking is located on a sub-street level on Alberni street. There is a small sign and depending on the traffic you will wanting to be driving East.

The parking area is actually great in that is it is separate from the main lobby and allows privacy and reduces the amount of traffic and luggage as in most large hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingkajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The service was outstanding. It was second to none. All the staff was friendly, happy, and very pleasant when helping me with my experience. The service was better than anything I ever had. Including than anything I had in Dubai, UAE. Thank you for a great time and I hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrown18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Yet once again, our stay at this fine hotel ensure that our visit to Vancouver was a true pleasure. The hotel is so tastefully furnished, the staff are so professional and pleasant, and the service is what every traveller ultimately desires. We cannot imagine staying at any other hotel in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerioRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The Shangri-La hotel is a perfect place to stay if you wanna see the downtown of Vancouver. It's walking distance from the main areas of the city.
Facilities and services offered are high level as you would expect from this hotel chain. Room are spacious and furnished in the classic oriental hotel style.
Restaurant serve delicious meals and the breakfast choice in very extensive.

Staff are very kind and they are always at your disposal for any of your needs.

Room Tip: If i have to say something that could be improved, i would say the rooms facing onto the street shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexUga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

They consistently provide the best hotel experiences I have.
Always have a great location, speedy check-in, comfortable & fast elevators, the hotels feel new & comfy ( I've stayed in 4 different Shangri-La locations ), they smell great ( I had to buy the oil diffuser from the spa so our home smells that nice ), rooms are laid out very well & the beds are so comfy. Everything is perfectly maintained i.e. not finicky secure key card reader, or wonky toilet,or light switches that don't seem to have an off/off switch, etc.
The staff always feels genuinely nice & concerned, not like they are fishing for a gratuity.
They have quickly earned my respect & loyalty.

Room Tip: All views are similar since it is downtown. Noise is not a problem. If there is a hotel that is $5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I cannot recommend this place highly enough.
Very friendly and accommodating hotel. Decor very up to date. Rooms are very plush and the beds are really comfy. Liked the fact you needed your room key to access your floor and your room. Everything you'll need in your room, from coffee machines, kettles, iron, ironing board, etc.

Bathrooms nice and usual toiletries provided.
I had a lovely quiet room on the 11th. Views overlooked West Georgia street.

If I had one complaint, it's all those buttons for the lights and the curtains.

Great location downtown. Not far from some nice eateries (I wouldn't call where I visited a restaurant really). 30m and you can have walked to the bay.

The hotel restaurant was nice,I only used it for breakfast one day. Little expensive, but really good quality.

So, would I stay again? Oh yes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,212 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,040 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,830 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,821 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £178 - £459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing