We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service in Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My first visit to the Shangri La in Vancouver and it lived up to every expectation I have experienced in other Shangri La hotels around the world. Rooms were spotless and elegantly appointed, lounge lovely, room service on time and excellent. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Executive room in the corners are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 946 of 1,670 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We recently spent 4 nights here and we found it to be one of the best hotels that we have stayed at worldwide. We received a complimentary upgrade to a suite which was quite roomy, very clean and in excellent condition without the signs of wear and tear that are so often evident even in high end hotels. The staff throughout the hotel was unfailing friendly and courteous. Our room rate included breakfast which was a la carte and it was first rate. Service was efficient and uniformly excellent.
We visit Vancouver frequently and have stayed at many of the top hotels. This was far and away the best of the lot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel twice on a recent visit to Canada for a Family wedding, and found the hotel & it's staff to be exceptional on both occasions.
On our second visit we were upgraded to a junior suite, which was a fantastic room, with large balcony & great views of the city.
We could not fault the attentiveness of the staff in any area & would particularly recommend trying afternoon tea at the hotel. A very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your recommendation of our afternoon tea and for posting a review of your stays with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as my sister was getting married nearby. Fantastic city centre location, walking distance to everything we needed. Staff were very friendly and professional, the rooms we had were of a high standard and we always felt welcomed. I would highly recommend staying here whilst visiting Vancouver. The gym was a prefect size, and whirlpool just the right temperature.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank kazandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Long story short, the Fairmont Pacific Rim essentially went back on an agreement to host a large birthday party in a suite I booked at the Fairmont. I called up the Shangri-la Vancouver once that happened (spoke with Daniel Tennant), and within minutes, him and the manager at the Market (David, I believe), had 3 different solutions to accommodate my party of 90 guests. The Shangri-la helped put together a private party for my friends and I that included a private bar, canapes, DJ, all within the heated terrace of Market. Despite a short turnaround time and many guests, the team at Shangri-la salvaged what was initially a poor situation with the Fairmont Pacific Rim into an amazing evening. I'm really thankful to both Daniel and David, the amazing staff at the Shangri-la, their quick turnaround time, and their dedication to offering great service. I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: I booked using my Amex Platinum and received a complimentary room upgrade, complimentary breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It was certainly our pleasure to assist with the last minute arrangements. We hope to have the honour of hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed at the Shangri-La for five nights in early October.
Staff at check in were really helpful with top tips on planning our trip and some good restaurant recommendations.
Our room was on the 9th floor so afforded a good view of downtown Vancouver. It was a little on the small side however, which was a disappointment. The bathroom was well appointed with a large bath and shower with good water pressure.

Service within the hotel was excellent, our request for ice was answered in under three minutes and they helped me mail postcards home.
The pool/fitness area was well laid out with large changing area and showers. It was a shame that there was only a steam room (and not sauna) for the ladies.

The cocktails in the lobby bar were amazing, (I would highly recommend the one that arrives in a tea cup) although the ambience was a little lacking. We ate only once in the hotel but it was an above average breakfast in a relaxing setting.

I would definitely stay here or at another Shangri-la hotel again but would choose a larger room (especially for a longer stay).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toysietoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel is one of two of the best that my husband and I have stayed in on the planet. The service is uncompromising, the rooms are luxurious and the spa is magical and the food at Market is delicious. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with city views and couldn't have been happier. It was a very romantic 3 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichelleAkimow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,117 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,769 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,409 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £185 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing