We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words don't do it justice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our company Christmas party was at the Shangri-La Vancouver Nov. 22. The experience from the start was impressive. Our events manager was more than helpful, accommodating and friendly right up to the day. The staff that looked after our dinner was amazing. The food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The room the party was in was perfect, the decor is very stylish and classic. The guest rooms are beautifully appointed and I thought the bathroom was gorgeous. I cannot say enough of how wonderful our evening was thanks to Stephanie, Eric and Calvin and all the staff at Shangri-La Vancouver.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WetCoastGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with Stephanie, Eric and Calvin. They worked hard on your event and will appreciate your words of encouragement. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at the Shangri-La Hotel in Vancouver in mid October for 7 nights. Superb.

Staff:
The staff at the hotel were fantastic and at the standard you would expect from a Shangri-La hotel. It would come close to being the best staff in a hotel that i have stayed in, anywhere in the world. They made you feel welcome and there was nothing that was a problem for them. They bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable and luxurious. The breakfast staff were great, warm and friendly and made us feel like we lived there. Close enough to feel warm, but distant enough to give us our privacy. I will be definitely be staying there on our next visit to Vancouver. The price value i think is extremely good for the luxury that it is. We were racing off on the last morning to catch our flight and the repacked our breakfast for takeaway, but it is the way they do it, style, thorough and the attention to detail was sincere and just what you want.

Rooms:
The rooms were also wonderful. We had a King corner room with a balcony and it was a good size. Was not tiny. It had the usual desk and chair but also a lounge area as well. The quality and elegance of they finishes again, is what you would expect from a Shangri-La Hotel.

Restaurant:
The restaurant serves stunning food and we had dinner in the hotel restaurant a few times it was so nice. Breakfast is also a wonderful luxurious experience and looked forward to it every morning. You were served breakfast off a menu rather than a typical buffet style and it was perfect. Not wanting for anything else

Location:
We were very central and walking distance to all the retail shops and many great restaurants. Although Vancouver is a walking city and you can cover most of it in walking, i felt where the hotel is located is central to just about everything.

Overall, 5 star without a doubt and deserve to be recognised for it.
Thanks to all the staff for making our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a King corner room and was a good size. We didn't spend much time in the room but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel was the best ever. Superb service, excellent large and comfortable rooms, exquisite decorations and wonderful attention paid to details. The best bed ever and the best shower too.
The Staff were perfect and the breakfast on the terrace was just delightful. Concierge most helpful with restaurant choices which were fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Typical Shangri-La hotel - well conceived and executed, with great attention to detail, and outstanding service. Loved the sleeping room - electric shade and drapes, one of the best beds I have slept in - ever. Great layout, and amenities.

The staff at the hotel is one of their strengths - bell men, chamber maids, concierge, reception desk, hotel operator, etc., all are very friendly and truly want to help you. Even the hotel operator went out of her way to help me figure out how to turn off the light in the closet. (It took some effort to figure out the high tech solution!)

The design of the hotel is different than most - it is more like a boutique-style property than a standard five star layout. Partly because they did not have a large footprint into which they could build the hotel. The reception lobby is on the lower level (this is where you register, pay your bill, etc.), and the concierge is on the ground floor. This might be odd for some. However, the layout works. After we arrived, we did not need the registration desk - all needs were met by the concierge.

The only draw backs, and they are minor, were: when the elevator doors open to the ground floor, it looks like you are entering into a service corridor. It isn't really a problem. You turn left and there is the lobby, but the look and feel is not consistent for a five star property. Finally, you REALLY have to look for the mini-bar prices. At one point, I thought there were free. Fortunately, I did not use anything because the pricing was clearly "five-star" hotel levels.

This is a well located, beautiful, comfortable, friendly, home in the middle of a great city. If you can afford it, I would be hard pressed to suggest that you stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get one of the corner executive suites - windows on two sides with a small balcony. Great layout an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradH786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Overall, this is a very nice hotel with friendly, very well trained staff and attractive rooms with a slightly Asian interior design. The food and the spa are excellent, the downtown Vancouver location perfect.

The hotel has one major disadvantage though. The website (per October 2013) suggests a grand lobby, but in reality guests arrive underground in a crammed, small and dark driveway and are forced to check in and out at a tiny single desk where absolutely no discretion is possible. You never have another chance to make a first impression, and this Shangri-La’s point of arrival and departure is worthy not even of a contemporary 3 star hotel, and features design elements of questionable taste. There is a larger lobby on the ground floor but it is shared with the residents of the condominiums on the building’s upper floors and has no hotel function, which feels strange. It also feels strange to encounter residents who are walking their dog and are greeted by their name by the concierge, while hotel guests are not greeted by name. There was no umbrella available at the concierge desk and I was asked to go downstairs to the basement “lobby” to obtain an umbrella.

This hotel is very well managed, and the hotel staff deserves 5 stars. But it suffers from some startling mistakes in its conceptual design, as well as some questionable interior design decisions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologise that our Lobby did not meet your expectations but am pleased to hear you found our staff to be trained will. I will be sure to share your comments with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Overall great exp. Very well mannered staff. The food at the market was great and the staff also. I like the elegant feel of the hotel compared to others that seem boring. Also the whole shangri la background being from Asia is great. Its really a diff exp.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Harp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I just stayed at the Shangri-La this past weekend, and I have never been so impressed by a hotel! In the past, I've had horrible experiences with other hotels (that I won't mention) in regards to the rooms, room service, and customer service. Let me say, that the Shangri-La is literally the best hotel choice I have ever made! Everything was top notch, including the rooms/sleep quality (considering I am a total insomniac and don't fall asleep new places very well) Some hotels I've seen the service is just awkward, or won't be as helpful as they sought out to be, but the service here was amazing, everyone was genuinely very nice, and I can't wait to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank revJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,041 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,214 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,830 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,824 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £178 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing