We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Antimony, Utah
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A perfect weekend stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I've stayed many weeks with Shangri La in the Philippines over the years and have grown accustomed to being treated like there is no one else that matters. From their grand and elegant lobbies and common spaces to their gracious staff our stay in Vancouver was no different. Although quite small and not as grand as Shangri La in Makati City the Vancouver Shangri La is also residences...pretty cool as they tower above the hotel.

The lobby is elegant with crystals and fire and quiet. Elevators whisk you quickly to your floor where warm colors greet you in the hall corridors. The rooms are great spaces with the amenities that you would expect from Shangri La. I love the beds and pillows and the bathrooms are wonderful and modern. Great use of white marble and glass and the heated floors were a real treat and now I want them in my own bathroom.

Thanks for making the stay memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teek4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you had a memorable experience with us. We look forward welcoming you back to the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,282
    203
    57
    33
    9
See reviews for
286
690
110
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for two nights to celebrate a special birthday. The room had everything even extra toothbrushes and was gorgeous. We had 2 excellent breakfasts at the hotel's restaurant, Market by Jean Georges, The baked goods were exceptional, especially the croissants. The Spa was superb, but the front desk at the spa could have handled our situation a bit better. They told us to arrive earlier for a sauna/ steam prior to our treatment but we never received one.
The location is close to Robson street and lots of great restaurants, the down side to the location is that Georgia Street has a lot of fast moving traffic and can be a bit noisy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you chose to celebrate your birthday at the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver. We apologise if you did not have enough time to use the sauna and steam room facilities. We hope that you celebrate your next special occasion with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A little pretext before hand, this review doesn't focus on their rooms but rather their service and spa:

As someone who's been travelling around the world on business and leisure, I've had the pleasure of visiting spas around the world. (Mostly Four Seasons, Starwood).

So far, the best spa experience I've had was at the Modern Honolulu in Hawaii. But for someone who's been spending most of their life growing in Vancouver, I did not know there was a gem located right here in Downtown.

As part of Shangri-La's Golden Circle loyalty program, I managed to score myself a USD 100 voucher for a spa treatment at the CHI. I booked a 70 minute Aroma Vitality and was assigned to therapist Hannah.

The voucher required me to redeem it at the business centre of Shangri-La, front desk employees were polite, helpful, and promptly processed the redemption for me. Upon entering the spa, I was wondering why I wasn't required to change and/or shower before hand - Your treatment room is small private room with a steam, changing, and bathroom!

Despite it being a massage treatment, expect the whole spa process to be more than 70 minutes, as it includes a foot message/wash at the beginning, and then a 10 minute steam room follows. Hannah, the therapist, was extremely professional, polite and massage was well done. My treatment after the voucher was around 70CAD (with a 100 USD voucher, Original price without tip is $170~CAD) but I added in $100 as tip.

I'll be revisiting this location in about two months, while booking with the same therapist if possible.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudosandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you very much. It is very heartwarming to learn that you found your "gem" in Vancouver. We will pass on your lovely comments to Hannah, I am sure that she will appreciate it. We look forward to see you on your next treatment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

There was a long wait for check in, we had to wait 3 PM to have access to a room. The coffee machine was not working, the mirror in the bathroom had a burnt light, the front desk was hectic....

I had heard a lot of good things about Shangri-la but this property did not measure up.

We will not go back, not worth the high rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camembert33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your honest opinion. We apologise that there was a long wait during check-in, your room was not ready until 3pm, coffee machine inside the room was not working and the bathroom mirror had a burnt light.
It is disheartening to know that your experience with us was less than favourable. Please allow me to apologise on behalf of our team for the inconvenience you endured, and assure you that this situation is not indicative of the standards we want to be known for, or strive to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

"The Suite" for just over $400 a night (before tax) is completely outdated and overpriced, complete with carpet, wallpaper and miniature furniture. Pretty sure the TV was 42" (thats small for a room this price). I would recommend doing more research if you consider staying here. There are much better properties for comparable or lower prices with better views in Vancouver. The one highlight of the stay was the quality of the king size bed, we did have a great sleep at least. The pool and hot tub was also below par, the pool is a very small outdoor pool (only) and the hot tub is comparable to a best western advertising "hot tub". This was our first stay at a Shangri-La Hotel, and with all of the hype around this place I was extremely disappointed. I would not recommend this property if your used to Luxury.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukasnCher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. It is dishearten to learn that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. Please note that I have addressed your points with the relevant department heads to ensure that experiences such as these are prevented in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The hot water does not work during peak shower hours (morning time before checkout). It sputters between spraying you with ice cold water and boiling hot water every few seconds.

Warning, there are no views, don't be fooled by the photos of how tall the building is. The hotel is only the first 15 floors (everything above that is condos), and surrounding the hotel are office buildings all much taller than 15 floors which look right into your room (I was on the 14th floor)

Paying extra for the included brunch is a ripoff. To me it just seems like a ploy for them to get you to pay extra, and compel you to check out of your room early, since the brunch ends before you have to check out of your room. If they really wanted to provide a great service, they would offer a meal after you check out of your room, which is when you're changed and ready for the day.

Also, as far as I could tell, there is only 1 person who works at the front desk, so be prepared for long waits if you need to checkin, checkout, or have any questions or comments. When I checked out, they never asked me how my stay was, so I forgot to mention the lack of hot water. 30 seconds later I remembered and turned around to tell them, but the line was too long and I didn't want to wait again. I decided to wait until they sent me an e-mail survey, however, the e-mail survey didn't even provide me a way to directly content the hotel, instead it just linked to this TripAdvisor website, which is why I'm leaving my comments here.

For the price, I strongly recommend staying at the Fairmont Pacific Rim which is far superior in room quality, or saving a few bucks and staying at the Pan Pacific which has better service and similar decor and much much better views.

Room Tip: The best tip for getting a good room, is to not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We truly apologise that you had problems with the hot water during your stay with us and that you had to wait for along time during your check-out.
Guest feedback is the only true way for us to measure the effectiveness of our service delivery and unfortunately in this case, it has come at your expense as well as a poor way for you to remember us by. Please note I have addressed your points with the relevant department heads and taken measures to ensure that experiences such as these are prevented in the future.
As we would hope to see you return to the Shangri-La so we may be given an opportunity to rectify the situation you experienced, please feel free to contact me on your next visit in Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Langley, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Hotel, Rooms, Service and Spa were all excellent. In fact my wife said the massage and spa experience was the best she's ever had. The beds were top quality (Had a great sleep) and the breakfast at MARKET was excellent as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vito R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are humbled by your kind words about our staff. We are glad that you wife enjoyed her massage at Chi, The Spa. I will certainly pass along this message to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
2,812 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
3,595 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
2,336 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
1,493 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing