We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Burnaby, British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The staffs were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The location is great. The room was spacious & very clean. A special thanks to Jeffrey Victor (service leader) for making our stay a wonderful one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear E N,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that Jeffrey Victor made your stay wonderful. We hope to see you again at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    206
    59
    33
    9
See reviews for
297
711
114
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I LOVE this hotel- It is perfection in action- I recently held a week long event here with IRWA with many opportunities for things to go wrong- EVERYTHING I mean EVERYTHING was executed with absolute perfection. I am very serious. This hotel is truly magnificent heartfelt elegance and luxury in action. I worked with the OUTSTANDING Paul Li and Diane Dillon up in the Exec. Offices- the banquet staff, concierge, housekeeping, valet, dry cleaning-everyone was perfect- Nathan in Market ask for him he is an outstanding server and actually requested him for one of our functions- Eric and Steve up in Banquets, Jui in Concierge, outstanding! This hotel is THE place to stay in Vancouver- I did not get a chance to meet the GM, his name is Kori or Kari, and I KNOW that he must be a great leader because his leadership is reflected throughout the whole hotel- this hotel is way beyond a five star rating! OUTSTANDING!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear D A,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very humbled by your kind words about our staff and our hotel. I will certainly pass along your message to everybody. We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Had an excellent time Hotel Staff and everything including food and service was the best Including the concierge getting an impossible reservation. The restaurant and food were excellent. A great escape.



Room Tip: Had a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear David C,

Thank you for taking time in writing your comments. We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent time and that our Hotel Staff, food and services was the best. We hope to see you again at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I've had the opportunity to stay at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver many times and I absolutely love it. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are warm and inviting, and the staff is truly incredible. Everyone is friendly and very accommodating. The rooms are both comfortable and lovely. The bathrooms have marble floors and a lot of space. I wish there were more equipment and free weights in the fitness center and a lap pool, but in general, I can get a good workout in, which is very important when I travel. Also, the Xishi bar leaves something to be desired.

Overall, this is an exquisite hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear WillCab,

Thank you for your comments. We are very glad to know that you always stay and enjoy our warm hospitality at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver! We look forward welcoming you back on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I love love love this hotel!! Easy to reach, perfect location, gorgeous property, impeccable service, anything that I can think of they pretty much thought of that already!
So from the airport you can take the train to the city center and once you get out the station just turn left and walk about 3 blocks and the hotel will be on your left hand side. It is the tallest building in downtown Vancouver, all window glasses, there is a Burberry store on the corner and in front of the door they have two big (I think) lion statues. So the hotel located between Thurlow and West Georgia St.
The lobby is modern, clean and you can tell it is well maintained. The concierge will greet you right away..and by the way Steven Mouttet is very nice and he can give you a very good restaurant recommendations! Very friendly and very professional. The reception/front desk is actually on the lower level so you will need to take an elevator down to LL and turn right and right again and you will see the front desk. The check in process was fast and great. They are very friendly, well informed and willing to assist above and beyond.

The room we had was a deluxe king- so it is pretty large in size, we had a sofa, a coffee table and a working desk. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom is also large. We had a tub and separate rain shower. The mirror by the sink has a built in small TV on it so you can watch the news while brushing your teeth or soaking in the tub. awesome feature!

The mini bar was fully stocked. And we had a Nespresso coffee machine in the room as well. and of course a safe deposit box with an electricity outlet on the inside so you can charge your gadget while keeping it safe. =)

We had breakfast at The Market by Jean Georges. I have to say it is pretty good. Except for the Chinese porridge. It's just not what I am used to. but otherwise the pancakes with blueberry compote was good, the yogurt was good, the pastry was good.

Location is just a block away from Robson street where you can shop the day away, a lot of good restaurants around. Stanley park is just about 20 minutes walking distance.

I will definitely come back to Shangri-La Vancouver soon! Outstanding service, world class hotel! Definitely a 5 stars top to bottom!

Room Tip: Get the deluxe room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkfransis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear pinkfransis,

Thank you for taking the time in writing this review. I am very delighted to learn that you had a wonderful experience with us during your recent stay. I will pass on your kind words to Stephane as I am sure that he will be very humbled by your words. We certainly look forward welcoming you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

From the moment I walked into the Shangri-La Vancouver, I knew I was somewhere special.

I've stayed at other hotels in Vancouver, Fairmont, Marriott, Westin, Hyatt, etc, but this one went above and beyond.

Service was excellent. Extremely friendly and accommodating staff.

Room was decent size and bathroom was more than expected. Amenities in the room included Nespresso machine, slippers, L'occitaine products, tv in bathroom. Nice welcome note with mandarins upon arrival along with a jelly treat next to the bed.

This hotel is now at the top of my list in Vancouver.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedy688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Speedy688,

Thank you for taking time in writing this review. It is so nice to hear that your stay with us was very special and memorable. I am glad to hear that our staff was able to provide you excellent and friendly service. We definitely look forward welcoming you back to the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I've stayed at most of the large chain hotels. This was my 1st time here. It was great from the beginning. I asked if they had any upgrades available at check in. They bumped me up to a great 1 bdrm. It was wonderful. Reminds me of the great hotels in Europe only with a lot of space, very modern.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Doug W,

Thank you for your comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your first stay at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Hopefully you will have more stays with you visit Vancouver as we look forward welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,968 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,701 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,515 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,787 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing