We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Even though we only stayed one day, we enjoyed ever minute. The room was very spacious with asian inspired decor which offered a very relaxing environment. All the public spaces were simple yet welcoming and comfortable. And of course the staff were all professional and very helpful. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and do not have any negative comments about this wonderful property in the heart of Vancouver.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCW416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear JCW461,
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us, hopefully you can stay longer on your next visit. It is so nice to hear that you find our room very spacious and really like the Asian inspired decors and that our staff were all professional and very helpful. We look forward welcoming you back on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 875 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have checked out of the Shangri La Vanouver after 23 straight nights there. We had an A+ stay. The staff couldn't have been friendlier, and endeavored to learn most of our groups name---and there were a lot of us----. The rooms are great and the bed---well---it was so good that I just ordered the same one from the hotel to ship to my home--so I would say that is quite an endorsement for sleep comfort.

Just a block away is Joe Forte's Seafood Restaurant, where we ended up quite often (try Happy Hour there, 50% of the appetizer menu and $1 buck an oyster (4 to 6 PM). We were there…a lot. Also check out their roof bar during the good weather days--easy to not even discover if you don't know it's there.

The hotel breakfast was wonderful….(not a buffet, but ala carte), but a good number of choices (a particular favorite for our group was the maple bacon).

The hotel never lets its (very friendly) bartenders over pour drinks by even a quarter ounce, no matter how loyal a customer you are, but there is also a liquor store one block up the street if you feel like a great room party and want to stock up. Oysters at the the hotel bar/restaurant are great, as is their cheeseburger if you want a bit of comfort food.

The concierge would always be able to get us into a nearby restaurant even if the restaurant itself would say they had no tables, so this was very helpful.

And the hotel is only a few blocks down from the water and the port terminal, so its' a nice walk.

Bottom line: It was a great stay and we'll be back.



  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank WorldTravelerAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear WorldTravelerAsia,

Thank you so much for taking time in writing this review about our hotel and services. It is to nice to learn that you enjoyed your 23 straight nights at our hotel and that you had an A+ stay the entire time. I will pass on your comments to the team as I am sure that they will be very delighted to learn that we had provided excellent service to you during your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Shangri-la chain has always been my favorite in Asia so I was curious how it would translate to North America. I wasn't disappointed. As always, its the staff that make the experience special. The hotel is very nicely located, well decorated, furnished and maintained. But the staff were superb - check-in/out, concierge, restaurant and room service staff, housekeeping etc etc. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank HJF209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear HJF209,
Thank you for your review. I am glad to learn that our staff had made your experience as special as your other visits to our other Shangri-La properties in Asia. We definitely look forward seeing you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I recently visited Vancouver on a quick 3 day vacation from Calgary and decided to spend a little and stay at the Shangri La as a treat. I walked into the Shangri la from the street entrance where I was immediately greeted by a friendly concierge representative who directed me downstairs to the check in. Something about the hotel is that it is not "grandeur", but flawlessly executes understated elegance and luxury. Its not about extravagance, but more about making the whole hotel look well put together and relaxing to be in. I was checked in by an extremely helpful and pleasant lady who had notified that we had already been upgraded to a suite. She offered me an upgrade to a larger suite under the penthouse, but we graciously declined.
The room was fantastic, beautifully appointed, amazingly clean, Nespresso coffee in nice Japanese china, marble everything in the large bathroom.
Our unit had a balcony which unfortunately faces right out onto the construction of the trump tower, which was nice to get a quick vantage point of city, however, was far too loud to sit outside on. I understand that the construction across the street is not the hotels fault, but it ended up being a major pian when it started again at 6:30AM the next morning and we were trying to catch up on some much needed rest in the amazing beds. I room not facing the construction would have been greatly appreciated, or at least a warning, so we could adjust appropriately. For what it’s worth, I am not a very sound sensitive sleeper - this was loud!
The second problem revolved around when we came into the hotel later in the evening. As we walked into the check in area of the lobby we were greeted with an unfriendly a "do you need directions?", insinuating that we (young, casually dressed), did not belong at such a hotel.
Small things that really took away from an otherwise excellent hotel. Location is also amazing for the record.

Room Tip: Away from the construction side of the hotel is a must if your going on a weekday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear NeilCanuk,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad to learn that you find our hotel very relaxing and that our staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would like to personally apologise for the construction noise endured during you stay with us and if you felt that our lobby staff was very unfriendly. I assure you that this is not what we strive for. We hope that you would still remember the wonderful experience with us and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

...it does come at a cost. For a value traveller, this will probably not meet your criteria but it is an excellent hotel with a wonderful workout facility. I did not rate it as excellent because I was disappointed with how long I had to wait to register with the hotel and discovered that a building is being constructed across the street from my room. Coming from the east, I was planning on going to sleep closer to 7 pm but was kept up for a couple of hours because of this construction.

The front desk staff should have notified me of this at such a high-end hotel.

I've stayed a several higher-end hotels in Vancouver and this is one of the better ones. It's very modern, great room and wonderful workout facitities. They're probably trying to compete with the Four Seasons but I'm not sure if they have everything right, yet.

My firm also hosted an event in one of their meeting rooms. My team found their staff very helpful and the lunch served was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Stinkyrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear stinkyrules,

Thank you for taking time in writing this review. I am glad that you had a very favourable experience with us during your recent stay and on your firm's lunch event in one of our meeting rooms. I apologise for the disturbance coming from the construction across the hotel. We hope to see you again at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The staffs were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The location is great. The room was spacious & very clean. A special thanks to Jeffrey Victor (service leader) for making our stay a wonderful one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear E N,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that Jeffrey Victor made your stay wonderful. We hope to see you again at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I LOVE this hotel- It is perfection in action- I recently held a week long event here with IRWA with many opportunities for things to go wrong- EVERYTHING I mean EVERYTHING was executed with absolute perfection. I am very serious. This hotel is truly magnificent heartfelt elegance and luxury in action. I worked with the OUTSTANDING Paul Li and Diane Dillon up in the Exec. Offices- the banquet staff, concierge, housekeeping, valet, dry cleaning-everyone was perfect- Nathan in Market ask for him he is an outstanding server and actually requested him for one of our functions- Eric and Steve up in Banquets, Jui in Concierge, outstanding! This hotel is THE place to stay in Vancouver- I did not get a chance to meet the GM, his name is Kori or Kari, and I KNOW that he must be a great leader because his leadership is reflected throughout the whole hotel- this hotel is way beyond a five star rating! OUTSTANDING!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear D A,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very humbled by your kind words about our staff and our hotel. I will certainly pass along your message to everybody. We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,181 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,800 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,785 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £178 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing