We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High class hotel in the heart of Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Drumnadrochit, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“High class hotel in the heart of Vancouver”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is equipped to a very high standard. The bathroom mirror has an integral tv so you can watch the news whilst shaving!

The staff are excellent, in particular. the concierge spent a deal of time arranging trips for us.

There is an excellent deli next to the hotel, complete with a Starbucks< it sells just about everything you need so if you don't d fancy the restaurant for breakfast this is an inexpensive alternative.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithfromDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear KeithfromDrum,
Thank you for your comments. It is so nice to hear that you found our tv in the bathrooms useful while shaving and that Concierge was able to assist you for your trips. We look forward seeing you again on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,327
    206
    60
    33
    9
See reviews for
299
715
114
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I'm a Platinum member with another hotel chain and decided
to try this hotel a while back for a
Couple nights.

It was amazing! I loved how quiet the hotel was no matter where you were.

The food was great and the room we had was beautiful and really well laid out. The hotel is situated perfectly in town and is walking distance from everything.

I highly recommend staying at he hotel and regret not trying their
Spa, next time!

One down fall was they had employees from various cultures that didn't speak great English or had accents and was difficult to communicate with them, I find this frustrating in an English speaking
country, but I guess that's how it goes nowadays.

Light years above the 4 Seasons and right there with Fairmont Pacific Rim.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fox T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear KevinAimee,

Thank you for your comments and for giving us a chance to show our Shangri-La Hospitality to you. I am glad that you loved our hotel and facilities during your stay. We also have a Golden Circle membership programme which allows you to collect points for every qualifying dollar amount you spend in all our Shangri-La Hotels. We hope that you can visit us again and get to experience CHI, The Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at the Shangri La for three days on a business trip. The Shangri La occupies the first 15 floors in a larger tower with residential apartments on top of it. The room, bed and especially the bath room were excellent. The attention to detail is outstanding. The room is equipped with a very good sound system and electronic lighting system. Interior is elegant. The hotel staff is really outstanding, extremely polite and knowledgeable, a real pleasure. The Shangri La is in walking distance to many excellent restaurants, to the harbor and Robson Street. Free internet is included, I am always getting annoyed if a 5-star hotel charges for internet. The fitness area is well equipped and on par with other 5 star hotels. I did not use the in house Spa which I heard is excellent. The pool does not earn the name, it is outside and way too small for swimming. Also the in house restaurants would fit from selections, quality more in a 3 star hotel. Pool and restaurants would make me in general only give the hotel 4 stars but the outstanding staff and rooms definitely deserve the 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Thomas D,

Thank you for taking time in writing your feedback. It is so nice to hear that you had an amazing stay with us, and that our staff has provided an outstanding service to you during your recent stay with us. I hope that you can get a chance to try our CHI, The Spa on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The perfect balance of location, room amenities, food, spa/exercise. The room offered a beautiful view of the city from two separate balconies. Meals were spectacular including afternoon tea. Spa services were complete and detailed specifically to individual needs. I can't imagine a better hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Jeffrey C,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the two separate balconies from your room and that you had a spectacular meal at our Xi Shi Lounge. We look forward seeing you again at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Elegant, stylish, modern and one of The best beds I ever slept. Superb rooms with all tech gadgets you may want. Maybe you will need a crash course to get to turn on the Tv as it has so many features and a built in home theater. Of course you can take your time in your room sipping your Nespresso that you can make in room. Eletric blinds, many top notch details makes this experience a must. My friends also were lucky enough to share the elevator with George Cloney who were a guest at that day. Superb service. Excellent hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Brazildude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Brazildude,
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed our superb rooms with all high tech gadgets plus the Nespresso machine which you truly enjoyed during your stay. We look forward seeing you again on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

ive to been to most of the 5 star chain hotel. this place has the best service so far. plus the room is so nice! even has a walk in closet. staff is very patient.location is really convinient. next time i travel i will choose shangri-la again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Niuniuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Niuniuu,
Thank you for your review. We are very excited to welcome you to any of our Shangri-La Hotels worldwide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

A delight in the city core. Easy walk to almost anything. Great food ate breakfast and a dinner not fancy dinner but casual elegance. Had wonderful tea in the afternoon, not cheap but very accommodating if you want something not on their menu.
Rooms were very large, bathrooms to die for and quick service when needed. Used spa and was excellent very relaxing. Pool is small but good for a dip. Change rooms were a problem, women's was being worked on, lockers very difficult to lock showers run cold to ice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Lyn L,
Thank you for your review. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed dining in our restaurants and that you find our hotel rooms very large. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,009 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,721 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,281 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing