We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A very good hotel in Vancouver. The location was ideal both from a work and personal side. Many hotel nearby and within walking distance. Shopping was also just round the corner. Overall a very good hotel and a wonderful concierge team. Always helpful and pleasant

Room Tip: Breakfast menu was some what limited and took some time to order. Room service (both quality and foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awahed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Awahed,

Thank you for your feedback. We are indeed located in the downtown core, just a few steps from offices and Robson street which is the shopping area in Vancouver downtown. I am very glad to know that our Concierge Team was very helpful and pleasant to you during your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great hotel in the center of the Vancouver universe! The staff is incredible and so helpful our stay was flawless. From the pick-up at the cruise terminal to our departure everything exceeded our expectations. The room amenities are above 5 star caliber. Stephane and the concierge staff made were excellent and knew every detail about the city. Great staff in a great hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ButterflyGirl_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear ButterflyGirl_03,
Thank you for your review and for the kind words about our Chef Concierge, Stephane Mouttet. I am sure that he will be very humbled by your comments about him. I am very delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was incredible and helpful throughout your stay. We hope to welcome you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Outstanding hotel a few blocks from the waterfront and close to everything. The rooms are large and the bathrooms huge.

The service is outstanding and exactly what you would expect at 5 star property. The concierges, doormen and front desk staff go out of their way to help.

I'd also highly suggest you try their restaurant for dinner. Our meal was one of the best we had in Vancouver.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NumbersAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear NumbersAtlanta,
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that we had provided you an outstanding service and that we had exceeded your expectations in a 5 star property. Our staff are indeed one of our best assets and we take pride for the wonderful service they provide to all of our guests. We are indeed located just a few blocks from Canada Place and a few steps to Robson St (shopping district) and several restaurants in Vancouver Downtown. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very clean and comfortable hotel. Housekeeping was not pushy at all - let us have our privacy when do not disturb sign was on. My daughter and I felt very comfortable staying in this hotel - air conditioning was excellent. Staff is smiling and friendly! Really appreciated that. Would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a really good hotel - convenience of location. However, room rates could be little lower.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Sumi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sumi R,
Thank you for your review. I am glad to know that we were able to provide the privacy needed during your stay with us and that our staff was friendly to you and your daughter. We hope to see you again at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is equipped to a very high standard. The bathroom mirror has an integral tv so you can watch the news whilst shaving!

The staff are excellent, in particular. the concierge spent a deal of time arranging trips for us.

There is an excellent deli next to the hotel, complete with a Starbucks< it sells just about everything you need so if you don't d fancy the restaurant for breakfast this is an inexpensive alternative.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithfromDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear KeithfromDrum,
Thank you for your comments. It is so nice to hear that you found our tv in the bathrooms useful while shaving and that Concierge was able to assist you for your trips. We look forward seeing you again on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I'm a Platinum member with another hotel chain and decided
to try this hotel a while back for a
Couple nights.

It was amazing! I loved how quiet the hotel was no matter where you were.

The food was great and the room we had was beautiful and really well laid out. The hotel is situated perfectly in town and is walking distance from everything.

I highly recommend staying at he hotel and regret not trying their
Spa, next time!

One down fall was they had employees from various cultures that didn't speak great English or had accents and was difficult to communicate with them, I find this frustrating in an English speaking
country, but I guess that's how it goes nowadays.

Light years above the 4 Seasons and right there with Fairmont Pacific Rim.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Fox T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear KevinAimee,

Thank you for your comments and for giving us a chance to show our Shangri-La Hospitality to you. I am glad that you loved our hotel and facilities during your stay. We also have a Golden Circle membership programme which allows you to collect points for every qualifying dollar amount you spend in all our Shangri-La Hotels. We hope that you can visit us again and get to experience CHI, The Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at the Shangri La for three days on a business trip. The Shangri La occupies the first 15 floors in a larger tower with residential apartments on top of it. The room, bed and especially the bath room were excellent. The attention to detail is outstanding. The room is equipped with a very good sound system and electronic lighting system. Interior is elegant. The hotel staff is really outstanding, extremely polite and knowledgeable, a real pleasure. The Shangri La is in walking distance to many excellent restaurants, to the harbor and Robson Street. Free internet is included, I am always getting annoyed if a 5-star hotel charges for internet. The fitness area is well equipped and on par with other 5 star hotels. I did not use the in house Spa which I heard is excellent. The pool does not earn the name, it is outside and way too small for swimming. Also the in house restaurants would fit from selections, quality more in a 3 star hotel. Pool and restaurants would make me in general only give the hotel 4 stars but the outstanding staff and rooms definitely deserve the 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Thomas D,

Thank you for taking time in writing your feedback. It is so nice to hear that you had an amazing stay with us, and that our staff has provided an outstanding service to you during your recent stay with us. I hope that you can get a chance to try our CHI, The Spa on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
3,154 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,983 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,452 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £176 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Splitty, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing