We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really pleasant”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here 3 nights and found the hotel to be elegant and sleek, but still laid-back. Good location to walk downtown or see the cruise-ships on the water. Vancouver is not my favorite city in the world, and this hotel is maybe a teeny bit characterless, but my room was great, spacious and well-appointed, and the service was efficient and helpful.

Loved: the tasseled bookmarks on the pillows. The bathroom, floor-to-cieling windows with black-out blinds and all white marble.

Didn't love: room card didn't work when I was getting in for the first time, and because I'm brilliant I told the front desk at check-in they didn't need to send anyone up with me. Had to drag luggage back downstairs and re-do the card. Service was great about it, though, and the desk manager came up with me the second time and made sure everything worked.

Also, in-room dining had a good selection, but the food tipped toward "meh". In-room dining often does, even in luxury hotels, and Vancouver has plenty of good restaurants. I just wouldn't plan on living off of the in-room dining while staying.

If I had to come back to Vancouver I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glassfingers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Glassfingers19,

Thank you for taking time in writing this review. I am glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you loved the tasseled bookmarks we placed on your pillows. I do apologize is your room card did not work for the first time and that you find our In-Room dining selection very limited. We certainly hope to see you again hopefully, on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    206
    59
    33
    9
See reviews for
297
711
114
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I used the Shangrila Vancouver as a base for a Cruise / Train holiday. The hotel was a perfect base and we were able to store excess baggage with the Concierge while on the Train which was very convenient.
Well placed in the city, good food and shopping nearby and excellent in-house facilities. Well recommended for that Vancouver holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank AussieJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear AussieJohnH,
Thank you for taking time in writing this review. We are very humbled for you to call us a perfect base. We hope that you had an amazing stay with us on your pre-cruise trip this summer. Hope that you would choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is an outstanding facility. We booked a room that included a $100 canadian credit at the spa and breakfast at the Market. The Market is an on property exceptional restaurant. The French Toast breakfast was by far the best I have ever had. The entire hotel exudes a sense of luxury. The room we had on the 10th floor was very large and my husband is now planning to redesign our master bathroom to match the bathroom in this room. The room was very quiet, had a jewelry box in the safe, and had all the electronic connections a business traveler could desire. We will definitely include this chain of hotels as our preferred place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Maureen A,
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed dining at MARKET by Jean-Georges Restaurant and that you had an outstanding stay with us. It is also very nice to know that you are looking into re-designing your master bathroom to match ours. We do have Essence of Shangri-La that we sell online which carries candles, reed diffusers and oil which you can place on your bathrooms and home to remember us dearly. We hope to see you again at the Shangri-La Hotel Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotels location, ambience and Market restaurant. Yet our favorite part of all was the tireless and intelligent help from Stephane the concierge. He had great suggestions because he has that je ne sais quoi ability to read people and know their tastes. Thank you Stephane.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyfordogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear luckyfordogs,

Thank you for your kind words about Stephane, I will surely pass on your message to him. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is impeccable. Pricey and completely worth it. Staff is totally anticipatory. Best bedding, pillows and mattress I have slept on. Rooms are spacious with beautiful view. Staff is friendly and cannot do enough for you. I asked for a cab to a local restaurant and they sent their own car and driver. Location is right in the midst of the city surrounded by wonderful restaurants. Alex is the asst manager. He is very knowledgeable about the city and a total foodie. He will advise you on places that are not in the guide books. He is a very nice person and truly devoted to making sure your stay is everything you can imagine a hotel has to offer.
This hotel, the staff and the amenities are simply first class. Next year I will increase my stay there and bring friends. Its like staying in a wonderful environment surrounded by friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 753amyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear 753amyc,
Thank you for your kind words. It is so nice to know that you felt there was value for the money and that our staff was able to anticipate your needs. I will pass on your kind regards to Alex and our front office team as I know that they will be very delighted to learn that they had exceeded your expectations. We look forward seeing you next year together with your friends at the Shangri-La Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A very good hotel in Vancouver. The location was ideal both from a work and personal side. Many hotel nearby and within walking distance. Shopping was also just round the corner. Overall a very good hotel and a wonderful concierge team. Always helpful and pleasant

Room Tip: Breakfast menu was some what limited and took some time to order. Room service (both quality and foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awahed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Awahed,

Thank you for your feedback. We are indeed located in the downtown core, just a few steps from offices and Robson street which is the shopping area in Vancouver downtown. I am very glad to know that our Concierge Team was very helpful and pleasant to you during your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great hotel in the center of the Vancouver universe! The staff is incredible and so helpful our stay was flawless. From the pick-up at the cruise terminal to our departure everything exceeded our expectations. The room amenities are above 5 star caliber. Stephane and the concierge staff made were excellent and knew every detail about the city. Great staff in a great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButterflyGirl_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear ButterflyGirl_03,
Thank you for your review and for the kind words about our Chef Concierge, Stephane Mouttet. I am sure that he will be very humbled by your comments about him. I am very delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was incredible and helpful throughout your stay. We hope to welcome you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,965 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,701 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,511 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,784 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing