We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels in Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I recently spent the weekend at the hotel. This hotel is well kitted for all your needs. Having travelled around and stayed at various hotels in the deluxe category I found the hotel service to be fantastic starting from the check in till checkout. I was always addressed by my name and my needs were well catered for. Other good things about the hotel was that even though the hotel was sold out the noise level was very low. I had a very restful stay at the hotel and highly recommend it !.
The hotel is well located near restaurants, shopping and important city landmarks.

Room Tip: Try to get a deluxe king with a balcony the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osamamustafa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear osamamustafa28,
Thank you for taking time in writing this review. I am so glad to hear that you had a restful weekend stay with us recently and that you had the chance to walk around the nearby shops in our hotel. We look forward welcoming you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    203
    57
    33
    9
See reviews for
287
690
110
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Recently completed 2 stays at the Shangri La. Once in an Executive Balcony King and once in an Executive Suite. Both rooms were beautiful and modern, though a bit small for 3 people. We loved the breakfast, especially the french toast and waffles. Also breakfast came with fresh juice, fruit, yogurt smoothie (most days) and warm croissant/muffins. The gym was bit small (about 12 modern machines), but otherwise fine. The check in at the lower lobby is a bit cramped, but the main lobby is much nicer. Housekeeping was very responsive to requests for towels and the like. Stephane at the conceirge's desk was terrific and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluePancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Blue Pancakes,
Thank you for your honest opinion. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us during your recent stay. I am sorry to know that you felt out lower lobby was a bit crampled. I will personally pass on your kind remarks about Stephane and our housekeeping team. I know that they will be very delighted. We hope to welcome you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton On Tees
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

A really nice and fine hotel. Although I have given excellent for value for money I do not know what price I paid as it was inclusive in a package tour.Even so from arriving to departure everything was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Martin B,
Thank you for your comment. We are glad to know that you had an excellent stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Good central location. Check in at basement level, concierge on ground floor very narrow corridor at ground level lifts..Its as if the hotel was adapted to an already existing building rather than having been built as a hotel...Room was spacious and large with a balcony. The bedside jelly sweet that doesnt taste of anything should be replaced by chocolate. Breakfast was good although there was no HP souce available but to compliment them they went and bought one from the market next door..The qualtiy and taste of the Dim Sum in the oriental breakfast very dissapointing and needs to be improved as they tasted stale and bitter.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamucum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Mamucum,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. We very much appreciate your feedback. The entire building was purpose-built to accommodate our luxury hotel and private residences. Our lower lobby arrival experience is mostly appreciated by our guests due to its convenience and privacy. Many of our new and return guests enjoy the feel of our property and our convenient location to the best shopping in Vancouver and just 2.5 blocks away from the waterfront. We have taken your comments regarding our Food & Beverage seriously and have reviewed with our leadership team. We hope that you will still consider staying with us again on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel very well located.

Breakfast was very good too although very large!(delivered to my room).

Staff were very attentive and gave sound advice on where to take my morning run...as well as the best shopping area for my one day off on a work trip.

Will return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nidhochartaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear nidhochartaigh,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your breakfast at MARKET by Jean-Georges restaurant and that our staff was able to give you a good location for your morning run. We look forward welcoming you back on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is one of the best hotels in Vancouver, perfect location and very new. The breakfast is very nice and service was perfect. Stayed with two small kids. Spa was out of this world as stated with my wife.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azfar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Azfar N,
Thank you for your comments. It is so nice to hear that you consider us one of the best hotels in Vancouver and that you enjoyed our restaurant and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Spent one night here during a trip to Vancouver in February. Upon entering the hotel lobby, I was overwhelmed by its oriental beauty and grandeur. Many of the staff members can speak Chinese and was very friendly and helpful. It really felt like home! I had a corner room and was able to see the city center and caught a glimpse of the harbor! The rooms are splendid and the decor has a unique oriental charm to it. In addition, they are spacious, stylish, and nicely appointed - the toiletries are provided by l'Occitane and there are so many other things that I simply cannot list (including a Lost Horizon book by James Hilton!). I received a plate of welcoming fruit from the management and it was delicious! This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at in all of North America, not just because of its luxury but also my stay was wonderful cultural experience.

Room Tip: There are no Vancouver Harbor view rooms... best room you can get is a city view room with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fzwa1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear fcwa1964,
Thank you for your feedback. We are very grateful that you find our hotel very grand and our staff members very helpful. Considering is as one of the best hotel in North America is very kind. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing