We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, friendly and helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, friendly and helpful staff.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

From the moment we arrived, the staff were friendly and helpful.
Assisting us however they could. They really made us feel
welcome.

I had reserved an Executive room, 1 king bed, with balcony. Because it
was the final destination of our honeymoon trip. And judging by the photos,
description, and other fellow reviewers, thought it would be an extremely
nice way to spend our last 3 days.

The room was nice, bathroom big & beautiful with a nice view. We did enjoy it, no question. It's just the carpet was damaged, kind of ripped and re-glued previously, but started to wear and seperate from the floor. Parts of the coffee table had large holes and the laminate was seperating. One of the wall sconces was very tilted and flickering when on, rotated it back in place & it worked fine. And since it was late when we arrived, too late to stop in the BC liquor store and purchase some wine to celebrate the last leg of our honeymoon, we decided to just open the bottle in the cabinet & pay the very extra fee for the wine. No problems with that, it's expected. But what we didn't expect was really dirty wine glasses. Not just a lot of dust on them, and not dried water spots. But something else all over them. Needless to say, it was dried on crunchy. So we decided just to drink from the bottle.

After reading many reviews and hearing how fresh bowls of fruit were given. We were a little surprised to see only a tiny candy on our night tables. Yes, most places don't put anything. Agreed. But this hotel isn't most places. It's a luxury hotel, and luxury prices comes with it. The other luxury hotels we stayed did put fruit, and fresh flowers in the mid-higher end rooms.

Maybe this was just our experience. But we were a little surprised, after reading their website and seeing everyones' descriptions. I doubt every room is like this one. And we should have said something. But we were tired from our travels, and just didn't want to waste our time at the front desk. We wanted to enjoy Vancouver!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Sean H,
Thank you for taking time to complete a review about our hotel. As we always aim to exceed our guests' expectations, it is disappointing to hear when we do not succeed. I certainly would like to ensure you have a pleasant experience with us on your next stay. Please contact me directly at kari.koskela@shangri-la.com. It would be my pleasure to assist you personally with your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    203
    58
    33
    9
See reviews for
287
699
110
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Excluding the lack of a view, the hotel could not have been better: impeccable service, wonderful food in The Market, excellant concierge service. Would recommend staying here without hesitation.the hotel was also situated in an ideal location to access great restaurants, shopping, and the waterfront.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Joe R,
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize if our hotel did not have much view as you expected as we are located in the core of downtown Vancouver. On the other hand, I am glad to know that we were able to provide impeccable service and wonderful dining experience at MARKET by Jean-Georges Restaruant. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We came to Vancouver to visit family and friends and The Shangri La became the highlight of the trip. We love our friends and family but this hotel made us feel like we were on the top of the world. Our king size bed was like sleeping in a cloud, the staff were friendly, professional, discreet and without any attitude. Breakfast in Market by Jean Georges was exceptional (you must try the Brioche French Toast with Apple and crispy bacon). We've stayed at the Metropolitan, The Hyatt, the Vancouver Hotel, The Pan Pacific and The Four Seasons, and the Shangri La just took hospitality to a whole other level.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Bob P,
Thank you for your review. It is so nice to hear that our hotel was the highlight of your Vancouver trip and that you enjoyed our Brioche French Toast at MARKET by Jean-Georges Restaurant. We hope to see you and your family again on your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in an Executive Suite arriving after staying in Amsterdam and London -- wow, first time at this hotel but was very impressed by size, design, and feel of our room - simply luxurious allowing for us to really wind down, rest and get our bearings in the City before going on to Victoria/Vancouver Island. Have traveled all over but has to be one of the nicest center-city/non-resort rooms I've stayed in anywhere (excluding marquee properties like the Ritz in Paris or Savoy, etc.). Loved the full window in the bathroom, almost got lost in the tub, lol -- shame we weren't staying much longer to really use the incredibly large closet to unpack everything. Staff attentive and very professional; assistance and recommendations from concierge staff spot-on and welcomed. Wouldn't think of even staying anywhere else when we return to Vancouver.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyRockit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Johnny Rokit,
Thank you for your comments. We are very glad to know that you had an amazing first time stay with us and that you were very impressed by our guest rooms and services. We look forward welcoming you back at the Shangri-La on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
288 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Shangrila for 4 nights in August. It's a lovely hotel perfectly located walking distance to everything you need - Robson St, Urban Fare grocery/breakfast & lunch & plenty of restaurants. The rooms are on the smaller size & pricey but the service was excellent. We requested an early check-in (2 months earlier) as we were arriving after a 6hr flight with 2 small children but we never were able to checkin before 3pm. Nice touch to have tea & coffee in the lower lobby. Pool is small & not well heated for outdoors, but the staff were very nice. One of the staff, Vikram, was especially helpful. He deserves a gold star.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MexChilanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear AlwaysOnAPlan,
Thank you for your comments. It is so nice to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy 4 nights with us in August. I sincerely apologize if we were not able to accommodate your early check-in request as summer time is very busy for us. I will pass on your message to Vikram who we will be giving a gold star as per your suggestion. We hope to see you and your family again on your next trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I've had the good fortune of staying at the Shangri-La Vancouver several times over the past three years, and it consistently earns its reputation and high marks for personalized service and attention to detail. The lobby/restaurant areas are quiet and tastefully appointed. Of note, the Fitness Center manager (Aris) is always helpful and offers a great menu of health-focused smoothies. And kudos to the concierge, restaurant, and reception staffs who are always polite and respectful. The fit and finish of the rooms is exceptional and deserving of the Shangri-La brand -- glad they've landed in Canada and looking forward to their arrival in the U.S.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Walt M,
Thank you for taking time in writing your feedback. It is so nice to know that one of our very valuable guests has enjoyed our personalized service. I will surely pass on your note to Aris, he will be very humbled by your words. We always look forward welcoming you back to your second home here at the Shangri-La Vancouver!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Had a great stay in this hotel, staff was excellent. Hotel only goes to 15 or 16 floors , the rest is private residence. Be sure to ask about balcony size when requesting same. Electric blinds and down pillows a nice touch. Several top notch restaurants, average restaurants and fast food within stumbling distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Mauitime2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari K, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Mauitime2014,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that our staff has provided excellent service. We look forward seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing