We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Although part of an office block type building the Shangri-la manages to project an image of a stand alone hotel. The rooms are quite large and very comfortable with all the usual fixtures and fittings one expects in a 5 star hotel, except ...the Shangri-la manages to inject an oriental feel with wall hangings, pictures, furniture etc. all carefully chosen to reflect the Far East. Being a very new hotel the rooms have the very latest in-room entertainment systems and even boast a tv in the bathroom mirror. The ambiance of the room can be changed at a flick of a switch...from open and closing the drapes to changing the lighting to suit your mood. The evening "turn down " service is impeccable. We found the staff friendly and ever willing to stop and ask how your day went. This hotel will not suit everyone's taste...but an experience well worth trying.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davepSouthernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,576 - 1,582 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2010

We only spent one night here on the way home from a relaxing trip up to Whistler. Finding the entrance to this hotel can be a bit tricky. It is in the garage on the lower level. We had to circle around the block. It is very easy to drive right by this building and not even realize it is a hotel.

Check in went pretty smoothly. Within minutes we were on our way to the room. This room has to be one of the most spacious and beautifully appointed hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. I would describe the room as modern Asian minimalism. The bathroom was so gorgeous I didn't want to leave. My main criteria for judging a room is the bed and the water pressure on the shower and both were phenominal.

Upon checkin there was a small fruit plate along with a handwritten note from the manager what a classy touch! The staff are very low key yet extremely friendly. Turndown in the evening was great instead of the expected choclates was a bookmark with quotes from the book lost horizon. I could just go on and on with all of the small attention to details of this place.

The hotel is in a great location just a block away from Robson street the main shopping district of downtown Vancouver. This hotel will definitely be my hotel of choice for Vancouver from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbk5276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

My husvband and I stayed at the Shangri La and would confidently say it was one of the best three hotels we have ever stayed at. From the moment we checked in the service was exceptional to say the least. The Concierge was without doubt the best we've ever experienced, recommending restaurants and making reservations for us - nothing was a bother. The decor is stunningly modern but still welcoming and tranquil. The Lobby Bar and Restaurant on 3rd floor, were extremely good. Free internet access in the Business Centre, and a location one block from Robson Street (and fantastic restaurants) are an added bonus. All in all, we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a sophisicated and charming hotel in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Sure I've heard about this chain hotel before but the service is not as expected. Very small hotel parking entrance and the view from your room is absolutely NONE. For over US$300 a night, you would expect to have at least a decent view other than facing directly to an office building where people can look at you during their working hours. Privacy is NONE unless you want to close the curtain all day long. Breakfast is average. Cannot trust everybody's reviews on Trip Advisor anymore. Seating arrangement in the breakfast room is super bad. They seat you so close to each other. Ridiculous for a 5 star hotel. The AC in the room is rather noisy. I have to use an ear plug for my entire stay. You can hear the street noise from the street below even from the 11th floor. Will not be going back to this hotel anymore. Plenty of other hotels in the same area such as the Hyatt, Westin Grand, Four Seasons, Fairmont, etc. If view, breakfast, location, and service are important for you, then this is definitely not a hotel for you. I cannot believe that this is no. 1 Vancouver hotel in Trip Advisor. Why??? just because it's new???

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank World Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

This hotel manages to combine sophistication, hospitality and intimacy. Great asian hospitality influences. Loved the checkin, by the time I walked to the desk my paperwork was waiting. Location was good very close to Robson St. Exciting rooms and bathrooms with automated curtains and lights and more. Beautiful finishes. Great desk for laptop. I was here for only one night wished I could stay more.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Fantastic hotel, exceptional levels of service, good food, just wondeful really, will most certainly be back and would thoroughly recommend to anyone wishing to spoil themselves. Most other hotels could benefit from the staff training obviously given to Shangri La employees, this should be the bench mark for all, regardless of their star rating and price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilolme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

While celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, my wife and I spent one night at the Vancouver Shangri-La following a cruise. The staff was extraordinary, the property is modern, spotless and comfortable and is perfectly situated in the city. We were even unexpectedly surprised with a lovely anniversary cake delivered to our room. The Shangri-La provided a perfect ending to a special trip!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,069 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
3,242 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,851 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
2,865 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver

Address: 1128 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £200 - £567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunlight filters in through the floor-to-ceiling windows, warming the latte tones and golden hues around you. Basking in complete ease, you contemplate your day ahead from the cosy comfort of your room at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. Vancouver’s glittering city skyline against mountainous backdrops. As you tuck into a sumptuous breakfast, a sweeping view of the vibrant metropolis that is Vancouver unfolds before you. Settling into your tastefully furnished surroundings, you catch a glimpse of the majestic firs of Stanley Park in the distance. A leisurely stroll along the sapphire blue waters of its lakes would be heavenly. You decide on a short drive to Grouse Mountain. You’re in the right season for helicopter rides, and skiing and snowboarding off its slopes. The rush of height and speed proves refreshingly exhilarating. Nestled between the Coast Mountain Range and Pacific Ocean, there is certainly plenty to do in this urban oasis. You plan to take it a day at a time. For now, Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver, beckons. You head straight for CHI, The Spa. A soothing organic British Columbia seaweed treatment indulges your well-worked body. Relaxation revives your appetite, and you find yourself at MARKET by Jean-Georges. Elegant contemporary interiors open your mind to the reinvented seasonal flavours conjured by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. You’re in for the best by this internationally-acclaimed Michelin three-star chef and entrepreneur. You’ve had a taste of the finest at this city. And it all began at Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing