We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and wonderful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miku

Miku
Reserve with OpenTable
Miku is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 3,680 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$45
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Gastown
Cross street: Howe Street & Canada Place Way
Description: We specialize in Aburi, or flamed-seared sushi, which was developed nearly a century ago in Japan. The act of applying fire directly and lightly sear is known to enhance the natural flavors of the fish. Miku owner, Seigo Nakamura, innovated the Aburi concept by creating speciality sauces, using non-traditional Japanese ingredients, to complement the unique taste properties of each fish. Miku Restaurant is within walking distance from the Pan Pacific Hotel, Canada Place, Trade & Exhibition Centre, IMAX Theatre, Cruise Ship Terminals and Sea Bus. If shopping downtown, join us for lunch and re-energize. It's entrance is at the corner of Howe Street and Canada Place Way, overlooking the east cruiseship terminal at Canada Place.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was the best meal we had on our trip to Vancouver. We went for lunch and were lucky enough to get a table with a view of the water. The service was excellent very efficient and friendly, even if the place was packed. The food was tasty, creative, very well presented and extremely fresh. I would especially recommend the gyoza's, they tasted amazing. The sushi was also excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gromit72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    313
    73
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
247 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Tasty but don't go if you're very hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

A beautiful location down by the waterfront and near the convention centres. The restaurant is well appointed and has stunning views of the harbour and coastal mountains.a lovely atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the service was truly very good. The menu was quite creative with many interesting variations on what you might expect in a Japanese establishment. The food was elegant and the flavours excellent - but the servings VERY modest. None the less an interesting experience and memorable...... Just make sure you aren't very famished if you go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herrliberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sushi in a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We thankfully had a reservation when we visited Miku on a Saturday evening and we got a great table with a view to the waterfront. After some discussions with the waitress to understand how the game is played here, we ordered some sushi for starters, buying some time to study the rest of the menue for a main course. Well, after the first course of sushi we knew that sushi it would be! They are special and very innovative, mainly those which have been exposed to a very hot flame very briefly - not typically Japanese and not something we would have found during our numerous trips to Japan, but everything tasted simply great! The place has a nice sake selection and we drank a lovely, rich junmai with the sushi and enjoyed a wonderful meal. The waitress was very friendly and also very competent. The evening was a success overall.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank uhu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mostly very tasty / All pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Went with old friends to catch up. Too noisy to catch up, and rather crowded. Harbor view was stunning.
Lots of people! Do get a reservation - you will need it.

Overall, most food was good, but most was not that special.
Only one I would eat again was the the Salmon Oshi Sushi - the salmon was flamed on the top before serving, which gave it a lovely charred surface on top of the raw fish.
I thought it was trying too hard to be trendy at the expense of flavors.

Bring a well-packed wallet - pretty expensive for what you get.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank W0rld_Traveler8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sets the Standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Miku sushi astounds in every way -- from uber-creative, highest-quality sushi offerings to fine service amid a beautiful urban setting. The best sushi in Vancouver, by far.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank declwestciv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miku also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Miku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing