We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
English Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Opus Hotel(Vancouver)
US$527
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Granville Island Hotel(Vancouver)
US$392
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$494
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
St. Regis Hotel(Vancouver)
US$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$437
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$358
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
17
89
66
21
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
89
66
21
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmajor shopping districtolder placedishes and utensilsdon't expect luxuryfridge freezerwithin easy walkingbasic hotelcoffee machinenoisy at nightbike rentalsseparate bedroomeasy accesspublic transportationplumbingplugfoyersafeway
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

One of my fatal error was not to check trip advisor to let me know how users rated this hotel prior to going to booking the place and going to Vancouver. The location is definitely great but the hotel is not. The room we stayed in had the floor air conditioner and had a tube going out of the window. This was not so much of an issue but when we talked to the customer service rep on the first floor, we were dismayed as to the level of "deal with it" attitude from the staff when we inquired about. This I was willing to forego, after all, the rates where reasonable for the location, but when we returned to the room we began to notice other causes for concern. The hallway floors were stained with food droppings, probably left there for a long long time. There is a dank odor that permeated the hallway: a cross between cooked bacon being cooked and stir friend Chinese food that's been stewing in someone's kitchen without power. We further inspected the room, the fridge was not properly attended to: there were old milk and food that prior guests left behind. The toiletries looked like they have not been touched since the disco era. The towels shredded when used to wipe our hands. The towels were all old! There were mold in the drawer where a GIDEON's BIBLE would have been found in other hotels, and when I used their in-room blow drier after a shower, the room lost power! It is no wonder the circuit breaker was in our room and thankfully so! The hotel had such a sub-sub-lower level standard of care. It is a shame since the place is located in such wonderful neighborhood. I wonder if this hotel gets inspected by the authorities for such violations such as sanitary and safety codes? It was harder to bail out of this hotel since we didn't have access to other places and we have been driving for the last 24 hours just to get to Vancouver. Access to the garage is tight. I can deal with that. The smell of garbage from the parking lot to the hotel lobby not so much.....other guests I've overheard say, 'THIS PLACE STINKS!".

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank racquel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Service is the hotel was good, but nothing special. Very friendly staff though.

Rooms weren't bad at all. It was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was a equipped with a stove, sink, microwave, coffee machine, crockery and cutlery, and a big fridge and freezer. Rooms could be cleaned better. We noticed the carpet wasn't cleaned properly every day. Plus, there was a lot of dust noticeable on surfaces.

We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel. It was about 30 degrees when we stayed and the sun is pointed towards the room all day. As there is no AC or double glass, it became very hot and stuffy. Rooms are very outdated.

Also, the hotel is located in a neighbourhood known for its (LGBT) night life. When we stayed the Vancouver Pride was on, so it could become quite noisy at night. However, we sleep with ear plugs so didn't notice anything.

Location of the hotel is excellent. Nice bars and restaurants in Denman and Davie St. They look quite dodgy, but the food is absolutely great. It's also great to have several beaches nearby. English Bay beach can be quite busy, but if you walk 5 minutes into Stanley Park you'll find Second Beach (more quiet) and a big lido. Bus C23 and C21 bring you down right into Yaletown (nouveau rich neighbourhood) and bus 5 drops you off downtown if you wanna do some shopping. Vancouver Aquarium is only a 10-15 minute walk. Other bus stops that bring you to Vancouver's top sights are about 5-10 minutes from the hotel.

The price I paid was quite low, especially when you look at the season (early August) and a location that is highly demanded by tourists. I'd definitely go back as I had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scrvds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is extremely reasonable and the location cannot be beat! Right by English Bay so an easy walk to the Granville Island ferry and all the attractions of Stanley Park. I have rarely seen as many or such a variety of restaurants as are on the neighboring streets. It would be impossible not to find something to your taste. That said, the furnishings are well used, as is all the kitchen equipment. Do not stay here if you are expecting luxury but for a great deal in a fun location it is a great choice.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor facing the street and the Bay. There was no AC in this room so it would be a poor choice if it's warm out but we loved the view!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoolyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

First off, not a glamorous hotel in any way but our room was very comfortable, clean and in a good location and within easy walking or cycling distance of lots of Vancouver attractions. Value for money. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I booked this hotel in order to be close to English Bay for the fireworks festival. In that respect, this hotel met the requirements. In every other aspect, it did not.

We arrived at the hotel and tried to park in the upper garage, but were unable to get in. When I went to talk to the man at the front desk he told me we had to park in the lower lot which is down a very narrow driveway. He also said that there was a parking garage 3 blocks down we could use. I returned to the car, we navigated the steep alley, and were unable to get in again. Come to find out that we needed a key, which he did not give to me even though he told me to park down there. Another woman returned to the lobby at the same time and said that the parking garage 3 blocks down would not let her park there overnight.

When we finally got into our room it looked clean enough; just very run down. They had a portable A/C unit which meant we had to keep our window open at all times for it to vent out. This made for a very noisy experience with busses, garbage trucks, and traffic. The Wi-Fi was so slow it was non-existent.

I would not stay here again, even with the great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gretchen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews