We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!!!”
Review of 1886

1886
Reserve with OpenTable
1886 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,220 of 4,038 Restaurants in Vancouver
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Description: Fine dining Chinese cuisine, named after the year Chinatown emerged in Vancouver; 1886 offers innovative dishes from four culinary regions of China: Canton, Szechuan, Hunan, and Shanghai; with an exclusive dining experience highlighted by impeccable preparation and seamless service.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Douglas hotel next to the JW Marriott and saw this restaurant by chance.
I am Cantonese and am always craving genuine Cantonese style cooking—dumplings, noodles, veggies and Peking Duck—this restaurant was as good as any I have tasted in Shanghai and the wait staff was better than excellent! We had an amazing time and an incredible meal! I will be back everytime I come to Vancouver!!!

Thank Gladys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParqVancouver, Community Relations at 1886, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gladys,

Thank you for your wonderful review and your patronage at 1886. We are thrilled to hear that your dining experience was enjoyable, highlighted by the service offered by our team! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to 1886 and Parq Vancouver in the near future.

Best Regards,

Emily Davis
Community Relations
Parq Vancouver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Located in the JW Marriott this is a higher end , fancier Chinese food .. Some really unique great tasting dishes .. Peking duck is also very good .. A tad expensive, but service , food and wine list worth it .

Thank Joann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParqVancouver, Community Relations at 1886, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Joann,

Thank you for your fantastic review and your patronage at 1886. We are delighted to hear that your experience was enjoyable, highlighted by the Peking Duck and the service offered by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to 1886 and Parq Vancouver in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Emily Davis
Community Relations
Parq Vancouver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

First visit to Parq casino - easy to park and beautiful venue . 1886 is divine. They have all-you-can -eat dim sum on weekends . Tried it today and was very impressed - the dumplings are hot and tasty, the mango pudding and egg tart are excellent . It is difficult to find a Dim Sum restaurant with any ambience in Vancouver but this is a real treat as you eat on real porcelain china and the service is top-notch.

Thank Jody45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParqVancouver, Community Relations at 1886, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Jody,

Thank you for your review and your patronage at 1886. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Dim Sum and ambiance and that you had the opportunity to try the egg tarts. We look forward to welcoming you back to 1886 and Parq Vancouver in the near future.

Best Regards,

Emily Davis
Community Relations
Parq Vancouver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Its clear that 1886 is set up for the high end crowd from the adjoining casino. Because of this I was slightly intimidated and prepaired not to like it.
The quality of the food redeemed the restaurant for me.
The 3 cup style black cod was cooked to perfection and their Dim Sum was delicate and flavorful
Try the tasting menu, I did and was impressed

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParqVancouver, Community Relations Specialist at 1886, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear David,

Thank you for your review and your patronage at 1886. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to try our Dim Sum and our innovative tasting menu. We are so glad that you enjoyed the quality and flavours! On behalf of the 1886 and Parq Vancouver family, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Emily Davis
Community Relations
Parq Vancouver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

From beginning to end this place was amazing! Excellent service and the best Chinese food I have ever had. Dim sum is creative and the tasting menu is a great value for what you get! Atmosphere is upscale but very comfortable. They also have very unique choices that set it apart.

Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParqVancouver, Community Relations Specialist at 1886, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Danielle,

Thank you for your fantastic review and your patronage at 1886. We are delighted to hear that your dining experience was enjoyable and that you had the opportunity to try our Dim Sum! On behalf of the 1886 and Parq Vancouver family, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Emily Davis
Community Relations Specialist
Parq Vancouver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1886 also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to 1886? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing