We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding anniversary dinner”
Review of La Quercia

La Quercia
Ranked #373 of 3,750 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: West Point Grey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An outstanding anniversary dinner”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I recently had our anniversary dinner at La Quercia, our first here. We selected the 7 course famiglia (sharing dinner) at $50/person, rather than order al la carte off the daily menu of traditional and contemporary Italian dishes found on a chalkboard in the restaurant. The dinner included three small appetizers, two pastas, one entree, and a desert, most taken from the al la carte menu, with some additions, each selected by the chef, and intended to be shared (allergies and things you definitely did not want to eat were identified right up front). We weren't sure what to expect, but both of us were totally delighted. The selections were outstanding, with both new twists on old favourites (a tomato panna cotta with olives and ciabatta croutons) and some completely new (to us) dishes (we both loved the stinging nettle pasta which neither of us had had before). Each course was delicious and beautifully presented. The portions were reasonably small, which we liked, so that after 7 courses were were full and wonderfully satisfied, but not stuffed. Service was friendly and attentive. Wine list (all Italian) was good. My wife described it as one of her best meals out in a very long time, and we certainly will be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AHStryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    20
    20
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,008 reviews
504 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Superb meal; cozy room”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Six of us shared an outstanding meal in this small spot right on 4th Street in Kits. Be sure to make a reservation well in advance - with only a few tables, a spot is hard to come by. For $50 per person, you get 7 courses of absolutely delicious food - whatever is freshest that day. Sounds like a lot, but the portions are just right - you will not feel over fed. Interesting wines too. This is a wonderful spot for a special occasion. Not inexpensive, but well worth every bite!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do you want a really good meal? This is the place!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I am a big foodie, live in Boston and travel quite a bit. So take aways - small restaurant, if you are looking for a bar and someplace to hang out afterwords this is not your place. But if you are looking for a delicious dinner, wonderful service, and just overall a great foodie experience this is your place to be. It is on the other side of the bridge from Downtown but worth the 15 min drive. Each nights menu is dependent on what is available locally, served family style, with a wonderful wine list. This place is a must for all foodie's looking for a great experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hails_beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, good ambience but seriously bad service”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I was invited to a dinner party at the restaurant to celebrate a friend's birthday. There were eleven of us, and we must have paid about $100 per person, inclusive of the tip. Not something to be sneezed at. One would have thought the manager would have ensured that we would get treated well. We were disappointed. The main waitress was arrogant, rude and obnoxious. Probably the worst service I have encountered in years. The food was delicious though and the ambience pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
599 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Reviewer Update - Continued Great food, too bad the service doesn't match up...”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Previously reviewed this restaurant in early 2012 when it was the envy of Vancouver, best Italian at almost any price point. Unfortunately, we have been several times recently and while the food continues to be excellent, the staff are really leaving something to be desired. If you were trying to impress friends or family, you might be embarrassed by the poor service. We were there last week for a birthday/anniversary.

Case in point the staff were brusque and even rude when we asked if we could sit at another table (for 4). We also asked later on how our meal was coming, we had been waiting for half an hour from the starters. Someone should have mentioned that the rib eye steak (for 2) does take 45 minutes, at least the customers would be prepared. Then when we ordered Semi-freddo for dessert, they brought out a tarte/pie, trying to pass off. We mentioned this was not the aforementioned Semi-freddo, only to be told that they had run out. How dare they try to substitute a dessert without so much as an apology.

To their credit, I phoned the manager and he informed me that they are going through some "staff turnover", but they better start getting it right or (as other Trip Advisor reviewers are mentioning), this wonderful little family restaurant will start to (or has been) losing its lustre.

We're willing to try La Quercia one more time, but no matter how good the food, we were left with a bad taste in our mouths. By the way, the manager didn't offer a discount or even invite us back.
Oh well, restaurants come and go...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LHOVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Quercia also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to La Quercia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing