We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not like most chinese, recycle oil greasy taste, I liked this one !”

3G Vegetarian Restaurant
Ranked #1,132 of 3,704 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Shaughnessy
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not like most chinese, recycle oil greasy taste, I liked this one !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Today Sunday April 22nd 2013 we decided to go to the 3G in Cambie village because 2 friends who are conaisseurs of vegan food recommended to us one of my friends is the owner of the vegan pizza house, we liked it very much, the staff was kind, the food came on average faster than in other restaurants and the facilities were clean, there was a high chair for our 13 month old baby girl and the gentleman who serve us suggested to sit her close to the wall so he could put every dish far away form her I appreciated when people are that gentle. The food was very good one thing that I don't like about the asian restaurants that dominated the city is that most of the time especially if you go late on a Sunday the food taste like they recycle the oil too many times, I have studied enology and I can smell and taste every ingredient on a dish I can tell you that the ingredients in this place were fresh, this is definitively a great choice for vegans, vegetarians and also for people on a SAD lifestyle, great variety of choices and flavours. We enjoyed the tranquility of the space and the overall cleanliness and also their patience since my daughter is learning how to eat I almost feel embarrassed because she dropped so many pieces of food on the floor and even proposed the waitress to help cleaning it, she just smile and said don't worry Ma'm, and not because of the tip since since my husband has already paid, so we truly enjoy it. We had the vegetarian chicken drumstick fried with pepper and salt taste like chicken but better those are so yummy, the mixed vegetables baked in portuguese sauce, the fried rice noodle with vegetables in thai style and the sweet and sour veggie chicken for the 4 items and 2 beers we paid $59.73 including the taxes the tip we paid it separately it was a little more pricy since we order 2 items each but we think it was worth it. Not a crumb left behind !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabiola604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Greasy Bland and Expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Firstly, I don't get how anyone could label this place as inexpensive. The portions are ridiculously small, and I am a very light eater.

I went here with my husband and daughter to celebrate our anniversary. We went because we're vegan and enjoy going somewhere where we can order freely and not have to worry about what the ingredients are.

When we first entered the restaurant I had to take my young daughter to the washroom. I was disgusted. It was filthy. Hair, urine, toilet paper on the floor. Gross!

I tried to disregard the washroom as best I could but when I sat down, I was really put off by the waitress bringing out our water in grimy coffee mugs that were wet on the outside, half-full and clearly just tap ran. I don't mind tap-water. That's fine. But if you're running a restaurant, shouldn't you at least have some in a pitcher with some ice, or serve with small wedge of lemon? I'm genuinely not a picky person, but this really struck me as lazy.

They also had nothing in the form of a booster seat. This is partially my fault. I should have called first and found out, but I honestly thought that it was standard that a restaurant have at least something for their youngest patrons. The table was unusually tall and when our daughter went to kneel and eat her entire chair flipped sideways on her. It was a very awkward uncomfortable set up.

When we ordered tea, the waitress poured the tea for us and before either of us could stop her, she placed a cup of hot steaming tea in front of our three year old daughter. Who gives tea to a three year old? She reached for it and nearly spilled it all over herself. I was blown away that there wasn't even a moment of hesitation on the part of the waitress to give a three year old freshly boiled tea.

We placed our and it did come quickly.

It was the slimiest, most greasy food I have ever had the unfortunate luck to pay for. The dishes were composed entirely of fake meat, grease, over cooked rice noodles and some form of over boiled, tasteless vegetable.

If you enjoy fake meat, and are the kind of vegetarian that loves to eat fatty deep-friend soy and seitan a lot then this may be the place for you.

I was really just turned off by this place for so many reasons. Vegetarians and Vegans of Vancouver, why oh why do you like this place? Maybe there was something we missed, but it really did seem like instead of creating dishes with spices, herbs, fresh vegetables and fresh ingredients, they relied very heavily on the processed faux-meat and salt.

We left vowing to never, ever return. Worst $50 meal ever.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Memie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Abundant choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Was here for lunch. They offer a good selection of vegetarian dim sum, lunch specials, plus a full menu. Food we ordered were well prepared and was served pretty fast (there was not many people in the restaurant). The waiters/proprietors were nice and friendly too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skydancer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Favourite Restaurant in Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I visit 3G at least once a week for both lunch and dinner. The Dim Sum lunch items are delicious, light and very inexpensive. The mock meat they use would fool even the most ravenous carnivore. If you want a delicious Asian meal that won't leave you overfed and short on cash, 3G is the place for you. The owners are very gracious and helpful. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I come here often for their dim sum. Being vegans, it's hard finding dim sum in the city, so we absolutely love this place. The owners are wonderful, and I enjoy it more and more each time I go there. We try to leave room for their dessert, crispy coconut milk. This dessert is to die for! I found only the spring rolls to be way too oily. Everything else is delicious!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dladybug79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 3G Vegetarian Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to 3G Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing