We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous spacious corner rooms in a well-located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Im a 40-something english guy who travels a reasonable amount for work and for pleasure. Stayed for 2 nights in June 2011 with a friend. CC Harbour punches above its weight / cost with v large stylish rooms, lovely service and good location
Things we liked about the hotel :
- we both had corner rooms with floor to ceiling glass windows. they felt posh and special. Def 5 star space. good beds and v well equipped ( I particularly liked the range of teas coffees inc proper filter coffee to go ). loved the free wifi, ipod doc and - a nice touch - 3 bins for recycling. ahead of the curve
- large, well equipped and clean bathrooms
- consistently lovely service. no question was unimportant to the front of house staff
Minor quibbles :
- SPARSE. the lobby felt cavernous, a bit loud and under-decorated. We arrived at the same time as a group and it felt like a bus station.Lifts felt like service lifts ie big and empty. The bathrooms were huge but again felt empty with no pictures / softening features. It wouldn't cost that much to fix that to make it feel like a 5 star hotel at a 4 star price. It just felt a little as tho the money had run out at that point.
- the valet parking was a bit expensive
- the breakfasts were good quality but - v un-n.american - too small - portions
- my room was cleaned v late one day.
Overall : v good value for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank london_traveller062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,959 - 1,965 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

This hotel was perfection all around. I stayed in a Premium suite and LOVED it! The bed was amazing, the view was amazing, the bath tub was amazing. It was very beautiful, clean, and modern. The service...oh the service! Top notch service from the entire staff and it never stopped. The turn down service was lovely. I came into my rm after an entire day out to soft music playing, chocolates on my bed, my curtains closed, a fresh bottle of water, and a light on. The room service was also top notch, and the food was DELISH! I, unfortunately did not try Prestons (the restaurant) but I did try both the gym and the pool. Both were LOVELY. The location is just perfect with short walks to all amenities and beautiful Vancouver sights. I would stay at the Coast again in a heart beat. In fact, I was quite sad to have to return home!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yogi_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We were looking for a chance to rest after a stressful time of year. The Coast Coal Harbour definitely delivered! Rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We had an amazing view of the harbour. Proximity to Stanley Park, grocery market, shopping on Robson Street, and Canada Day celebrations was perfect. Staff was friendly and very helpful. The only down side was the costly parking. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stan005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed here in June - great hotel in great location. Staff very helpful, breakfast was nice and room was very comfortable. Location is one block back from the harbour front. Close to Stanley Park and the cycle hire company !! Easy walk into the cruise terminal precinct. Lots of food options around - great whole food deli nearby........would def. stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCPicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed here two nights for business...very good, clean and modern hotel with all amenities...the staff is exceptionally friendly and goes out of its way to help out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djZ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed here for one night pre-cruise. Couldn't have chosen a better location. Arrived earlier than the designated check in time, but it wasn't a problem. We had booked the least expensive room thru orbitz, which meant that we prepaid for the room. When we arrived we asked for a room with a great view as this was our first time to Vancouver. We were told that our room was in the back of the hotel looking at the city, but the great views are in the front of the hotel, which is an upgraded room. So they ask us if we wanted to upgrade for $30 and we did so (when we checked out, they actually did not even charge us for the upgrade). Our room was on floor 11 and it was looking out over the Coast Coal Harbour. Even though the view was between 2 buildings, it was still a great view. The check in staff was very friendly, and the bellhop delivered our bags for us promptly. We walked along the harbour, viewed the incoming/outgoing ships and seaplanes. Got coffee and pastries at Tim Hortons, ate a late lunch as there were numerous choices all within walking distance. We returned for a nap late afternoon, but the beds were so comfortable that we slept thru the night. Rooms are decorated with minimal accessories, but had everything we needed. One of the cleanest hotel bathrooms I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Upgrade to front of hotel for view of harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hctravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Very nice hotel. Fairly new, very modern rooms. Excellent location, right in Coal Harbour, steps to Robson Street shopping and Stanley Park. The gym was so-so, not the best, just average. Staff were great, very friendly. Great room for well under $200/night

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HabsFan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,648 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,776 reviews
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £95 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing