We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

This hotel is very new and clean inside. The staff are extremely attentive. My room was spacious and bright and had everything I needed, with a nice big bathroom.
I was here for 3 nights in the summer for business. The outdoor pool was a nice place to relax in the busy city. I recommend to anyone staying on business. Also a great location for tourists, but seemed very business oriented to me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Einsteincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    545
    117
    25
    18
See reviews for
366
648
114
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto ON Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

A very centrally located hotel in downtown Vancouver. Clean amenities. Our room was spacious, the staff just fantastic, very helpful and friendly. We embrace the compliementary wi-fi in our room, a concept that hasn't yet caught on at other major hotel chains.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bacchanalwomantt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a tour from England and found the staff helpful, clean room and bathroom and bed very comfy. Had dinner in the Prestons Restaurant, very tasty and a reasonable price. Hotel very central for sight seeing. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kathleen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

This was my second visit to Coast Coal Harbour in Vancouver. The staff are extremely attentive and accomodating. We had an issue with noise in our room and we were immediately offered a new room and help moving. As it was late we waiting until the next morning when we were moved to a balcony suite at no extra charge and we received a bottle of wine and chocolates along with a note of apology for the inconvenience. We could not have asked for better service. The hotel is clean, comfortable, conveniently located to the waterfront and near Stanley Park. The food at Preston's, the hotel restaurant, is outstanding. We thought the choices were limited but no matter what you order, it is delicious!!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LishasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We arrived in Vancouver after travelling on The Canadian from Toronto. We only had one evening and day to see this beautiful city. The location of the Coast made it so easy. Our room had beautiful views of the harbour and waterfront - the staff were great about an early checkin. With the in-room coffee and the gorgeous bath, we re-energized and walked the city, had a scenic stroll from the hotel to Stanley Park (long walk - but saw so much), watched the sea planes taking off and landing on the harbour as we went. In the evening, it was safe and easy to stroll to Robson Street. The next morning we watched the sun come up from the little waterfront park across from the hotel. The staff were very gracious and helpful, the room was sparkling clean, the location made our quick tour of Vancouver easy. Can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Even partial view room is quite good. Glass walls particularly on corner doubles make views great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Graces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Great downtown Vancouver location. Usual amenities. No separate shower, but bathtub shower was clean and serviceable. Comfortable beds. Good size work area. Free wifi. Good temperature control. Nice little sitting area with large windows and city views.

You don't get much better than this for $129/night in downtown Vancouver!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ffghffhhjkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

When my wife and I are in Vancouver, we usually stay at a hotel somewhat nearby but in a better location. However, we decided to stay here after reading the reviews about this hotel. Unfortunately we did not feel the same as others did. We are not normally picky with our hotels, but we found that our room was very small for a standard sized room, the pool is tiny and although it is open year-round, it was much too cold to use during winter months. It would have been nice if they also had an indoor pool, like most other hotels in the area. Prestons was nothing to write home about. Location is good, however it is a long walk to Stanley park considering you'd be walking all day at the park then have to walk back to the hotel.
The major drawback that set the mood for our vacation was the rude clerk that checked us in, Jose. We are nice people. So I did not understand why he had been really snooty with us. Customer service is a keystone for the success of a business. It makes me wonder if he is the same clerk that a few others have complained about. Jose needs to use words to communicate rather then shaking his head and rolling his eyes. It is too bad as we could've overlooked a few things if the service we received was good. Anyways, it was our first time and last stay at this hotel. We'll stick to our favorite where the service is consistently great.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAV224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing