We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Coast Coal Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Coast Coal Harbour”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I spent one night in this beautiful hotel and we couldn't have been happier with our stay. It's clean, modern, elegant and warm. The location is excellent, right near the harbour front!
We booked off of Hotwire and ended up with a beautiful corner room with floor to ceiling windows and a partial view of the ocean. The room was spacious, bright and very comfortable. We slept like babies!
We also took advantage of the pool and hot tub, located outdoors on the 5th floor. It was fantastic. Nothing beats a hot tub under the stars!
I also want to point out that the service was great. We were checked in by Gustavo. He was very friendly, efficient and helpful! We had a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a partial view of the harbour and it was gorgeous. If you can, choose a room with a view! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your great comments. I will be sure to let Gustavo know that his services were appreciated as well. Ask him to show you to the business centre the next time you are here... he sometimes puts a little dance on for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,330
    575
    122
    25
    18
See reviews for
388
693
122
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a package on a tour of Canada. The room did not have a great view, straight into offices opposite, but it was ok for our needs whilst we were there. The room was extremely clean and comfortable and the beds and pillows ensured a very good nights sleep. All you could want in a bathroom with lovely complimentary toiletries. We found the staff very helpful although we did not need them for much but when we did they were pleasant and polite and could not do enough for you. We did not eat in Prestons so cannot comment but there are plenty places to eat within a few minutes walk. Also good position for the seafront and Stanley Park which is amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room. Apparantly an upgrade is not too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingQueenBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. May I suggest upgrading to our Superior Room cateogory or Premium Rooms, as the views are much nicer...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Canada Place where we were catching our cruise ship. It was a $40 ride from the airport but was a very easy walk (even with suitcases) the next afternoon to catch our ship. The staff was helpful about restaurants nearby for breakfast and were happy to store our bags while we took a quick on-and-off bus tour of the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Good to hear you had a good trip. May I suggest taking the Canada Line from Vancouver International Airport (YVR) the next time you come? The fare is $8.75 per person, one way and the terminal is located right in the airport. You can get off at Waterfront Station and from there it is a beautiful ten minute walk to the hotel. Many of our guests do this already, and it saves you the hefty cab fare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is a modern, sleek hotel located across from Coal harbour and the Yacht Club- beautiful sea walk to take in! If you get an ocean view room you can watch the float planes come in and out. A block from the convention centre which is something to take in as well. Quiet and close to all the great shopping that downtoen Vancouver has to offer. The concierge is fantastic and very helpful, front desk staff is all business and not very friendly though.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This was a great hotel. It's clean and modern, with floor to ceiling windows. We were able to check in a 10 am! Not something we were expecting, but a nice bonus. The location is stellar, especially if you're interested in Stanley Park, Robson or the seawall. Using public transportation, we were able to get to Grouse mountain in 40 minutes. Highly recommended and would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmckerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel. We usually allow our guests to check in early if the room is available. We know that it takes a burden off of your shoulders if you can get into your room a little earlier to get to your appointments or start touring our gorgeous city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Situated between Stanley Park and downtown, the hotel's location worked well for my needs: proximity to the business district, waterfront, transportation, cafes, shopping and restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful too, but the hotel just didn't do it for me. The decor and amenities were ordinary; I didn't find anything that differentiates it from other hotels in a similar price category. I'd give it a solid three and half stars and consider it a no frills hotel. If view is important, pay the upcharge for a room facing the water. Morning coffee is available in the room or walk around the corner to Urban Faire or Sbux.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david_k001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Had three nights at the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel and it was perfect.
The location - superb - within walking distance of the harbour and Stanley Park and close proximity to transport.
The staff - what can I say - they could not have been more helpful and informative and
their recommendations for places to eat etc. were perfect.
The rooms were spotless, spacious and inviting.
Had breakfast there on 2 morning and the food and service were superb - lovely fresh
produce and so beautifully presented.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyWexfordIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just to let you know as well, our restaurant, Prestons will have a new menu coming out shortly. I hope you have a chance to return and try it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,524 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,244 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,515 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing