We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The start of a Christmas Tradition!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The start of a Christmas Tradition!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Coast Coal Harbour. My husband's company held their annual Christmas party in one of the banquet rooms and it was wonderful! The view was gorgeous! The hotel itself was beautifully decorated for the season, the staff so professional and helpful. Food at the buffet was plentiful, hot and delicious!
This is going to become an annual tradition for my husband and I!

Room Tip: Go straight to the top! 20th floor was amazing! Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Debbie R,

Thank you for allowing us to host your holiday celebrations. These are the kinds of traditions we love to be a part of.
Hopefully there will be occasions for you to join us again before your party next year and we look forward to welcoming you back.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    571
    122
    25
    18
See reviews for
386
689
122
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel is great, view of Stanley park just beautiful, resturant in hotel is delicious
Love this hotel.
. Then the next day went to Stanley park .
I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting vancouver.

Room Tip: Avoid the room close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blonde1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Blonde1201,
Thank you for your wonderful comments surrounding your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

A birthday gift from my wife and it hit all the spots.Thanks to Salomon for the extra touch for my birthday .

Hotel modern and fresh. Small space but in downtown close to all. Waking distance to all of my to do lists. Everyone at hotel was professional.

Room Tip: Nice choice ....ask for 16 floor view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgntexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear dgntexas,
Thank you for writing your positive travel feedback for us to review. I would love an opportunity to discuss with you what would move that 4 point rating to a 5 point rating. Please feel free to reach out to me personally if you would like to share specific growth opportunities from your stay.
All the best.
k
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Coast is known for quality, decent value mid-range hotels. This new hotel is situated in the classy Coal Harbour district of downtown Vancouver with plenty of 5-star offerings. Fairmont, Hyatt, Four Seasons, etc. To summarize, the CCH tries to keep up but doesn't pull off the ambience and service of the competitors. The lobby is empty, unwelcoming and cold. There is no sense of branding, nothing that sets it apart. On the plus side is some fine dinner offerings at Prestons, the one restaurant, and a decent gym. Rooms are quite nice too. Not sure if I'll go back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Zenbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Zenbro,
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate you placing our product and offering in the competitive market within the downtown luxury set of Vancouver. I think the freshness and newness of our product as well as the high level of engagement of our ambassadors often lead people to believe we are competing in that market. From a positioning and pricing perspective, we look closely at the competition which is more closely aligned with us in the Upscale travel set. I think that you will find if you look within this two block radius that we are market leaders from both a price and service perspective. I would love an opportunity to speak with you further about the strategy and direction that we pursue if you would like to reach out to me.
K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a balcony room - very spacious - King bed, separate lounge area (with a balcony), large bathroom including large bath and separate shower, and a separate WC. Good toiletries in large bottles and those of us with reading glasses can distinguish them. There are harbour glimpses from the balcony.
The hotel is located toward the harbour and Canada Place, slightly out of the main down town area, but close enough to walk.
The hotel restaurant (Prestons) seemed more like a bar/grill than a classic restaurant. There is no separate lounge area. However, this is not an issue as there are a range of good restaurant options within an easy 500/600 metre walk (I'd suggest heading up towards Thurlow St), and for breakfast there are numerous options within a block or two (I'd suggest Moo Pennies or Cafe Artigiano on the first corner).
The hotel has a pool and gym but I didn't use them.
There is free WiFi, but we found it very slow. There are a couple of PCs in the business centre on the 3rd Floor - but be aware that I was not the only guest that difficulty finding the Business Centre and you need your hotel room key to access it.
Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzSooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear OzSooty,
Thank you for taking the time to create a review for us. I'm sorry to hear the Preston's didn't fill your specific needs but it is good to hear you enjoyed the accessible options nearby. I will review the speed of the internet concerns that you mentioned to see if they can be addressed.
Enjoy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This was one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The rooms were spacious with views over the water. This was a corner comfort room, the upgrade is really not necessary. The reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. One receptionist worked to arrange bus tickets to whistler at the same time another arranged canucks tickets for us. Nothing was too much trouble. The beds were cosy and comfortable and the bathroom was large, New and had an excellent shower. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank sallyj99
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Sally99,
Thank you for this wonderful tripadvisor feedback. At Coast Hotels we refer to our employees as Ambassadors because we truly believe they embrace all that our brand is about as well as being a great reflection of the city that they are in. Your comments reflect our vision in motion.
Please join us again on your future trips to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel is a real hidden gem. It is fairly new, so the property is in great shape. Clean modern rooms, great location, and really good value. The staff were also very friendly and efficient. Tough to beat this for the combination of quality and price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HilltopOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear HilltopOttawa,
Thank you for this great review. We always strive for feedback that presents us with five stars from both a service and product perspective. I'm thrilled to hear we achieved this with you.
We look forward to welcoming you on future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,515 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,954 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,506 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing