We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Near everything at walking distance from Canada Place and tons of restaurants. We got lucky and had a corner room on the 20th floor with a nice view over dowtown as well as a peek over the mountains between 2 brand new good looking skyscrapers. Full height windows from floor to ceiling gave us plenty of light even on rainy days (yeah... it's Vancouver). Bed very comfortable, very modern hotel with all you would expect. The onsite restaurant serves very tasty food that we strongly recommend. We would return to the Coal Coast anytime. Got a nice deal through a web travel site where we got 40% off regular price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spmit2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,418 - 1,424 of 2,341 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Travelled to Vancouver with my son for the Marathon on the first week-end of May. Had booked here as it's the offical hotel and right at the finish line, but would easily stay here again for the great location, comfortable rooms, pleasant amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
4  Thank wdpreshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is great but the room I was in had a terrible bed. I am shocked that the core component was so terrible.

The TV is off to one side in the room. I had a king size bed. The side of the bed closest to the TV had a very defined slump - so much so that even trying to sleep on the 'unused' side of the bed was almost impossible.

Everything else was great though. Nice and clean.

If anyone can figure out how to get the floor lamp turned on please tell me!

Room Tip: Go visit the room first and check the bed out. The issue I had could have been just my room or perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
1  Thank Jensenbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

While it doesn't have a gift shop or spa amenities, I found the hotel to be clean, staff to be friendly, cocktails to be delicious, the bed to be comforting, the soaking tub to be something I longed for in my own home, and the view to be calming and peaceful. It came at a price though, but I was completely satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
3  Thank TurleySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After having stayed here in January for a week on business and experiencing exceptional customer service, I decided to book a room for 5 nights with the family for a little spring break get away in March, again there were no disappointments!

From check-in to check-out everything was as close to perfect as I could ask for, it's clean, it's classy (not pretentious), it's well decorated and most of all it's a very comfortable pace to stay. The staff are all friendly and quick to answer questions, get you a cab or give you directions. We stayed on the top floor and had a nice partial view of the city and also the harbour. The rooms are very clean and the beds very comfortable, as there were 4 of us (2 adults and two kids) two slept on the pull out sofa bed. The gym is great and they have a small pool & hot tub as well.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in downtown Vancouver, it's close to everything and being only 1 block from the seawall, it is just a beautiful area to be in. We decided to not rent a car this trip so we walked everywhere, with in a few minutes walk there is a huge abundance of restaurants, shops (including famous Robson St.), malls, theaters etc. Even Rogers arena and BC Place are just a 20 minute walk. For breakfast, their restaurant is very expensive (about $100 for the 4 of us) but there are a handful of good breakfast spots with in a 5 minute walk or less.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank frombeautifulBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for one night only - unfortunately, as I really loved it here. I booked n Expedia and without asking got a corner room, lovely, spacious, and comfortable. Lamps have sockets for your electronics which was very useful. My window came out on more skyscrapers, but that was OK as I didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Staff was courteous and helpful. There was a coffee machine equipped with a Starbucks coffee - a must for visitors from the East; I also had one of the supplied herbal teas, and it was good. I loved the bed - I had a king size with a lovely duvet. Bathroom was also spacious and comfortable. The only issue that would weigh weigh with had I been staying there longer, was the lack of a fridge. I would very strongly consider staying there again next time I am in Vancouver.
I had breakfast in the restaurant and it was slightly overpriced (but then it is in every Vancouver hotel), but tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Did not know this hotel chain from my previous visits to Canad but got a good deal directly from their reservation office.
Located a short walk from the train station and before you arrived to the hotel, you must pass some of the interesting places in Vancouver.
May roo, was nice but plain, with excellent bed, TV and modern and super clean bathroom with great shower.
The staff was super helpful and welcoming.
I stayed for 4 nights and used thefree busines scorner which provided internetand printing options.
I will definitely return if I travel to Vancouver again!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,067 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,694 reviews
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,599 reviews
West End
Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £109 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing