We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Coast Coal Harbour for a conference June 1 - June 6.
The hotel is very close to the Convention Centre, downtown and numerous great restaurants. We stayed in a Superior room. The room was clean, comfortable and has modern amenities. Above all, the hotel staff were excellent, they were friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
8  Thank Prince D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,397 - 1,403 of 2,341 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at the Coastal Coal Harbour June 1 - June 3rd for a conference. The location was great for walking back and forth to the Convention Centre. I was also happy to see many new restaurants had popped up since the last time I visited. A very short walk, there is Urban Fare, which is a great place to grab your breakfast or a picnic if you have some leisure time. Also in short walking distance is shopping. The waterfront is now a very vibrant beautiful place to visit. Very clean area. The hotel was very clean and friendly as well. No complaints on the room, it was well maintained and comfortable with all the amenities necessary. The staff was also very friendly and welcoming. The seemed like they really cared about their guests. I was also impressed with the hotel's awareness of the environment and their effort to conserve. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennLAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear JennLand,

Thanks for your review. You have described the area and hotel amenities so well and it is wonderful to read at how well our Coast Coal Harbour ambassadors represented the city....truly as Local Ambassadors.
If you would like to reach out to me personally, I would love to hear what we could do to ensure that your stay was reflective of a 5 star rating during your next stay with us.

Warm regards,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Coast Cold Harbor has many good features. Chief among the positive features is customer service. Someone has spent a great deal of time training the employees what it means to be in the hospitality business. The location is quite convenient to the downtown part of the city. Great spot to walk. The restaurant is outstanding in may ways, but that's different review. The downside is the rooms. Someone bills this as a 4 star hotel. Well, if this is 4 star then a Hampton Inn or Choice Suite is a 5 star. Our room was small by any standards; had two double beds; one chair at the desk and one small chair for sitting. Really quite adequate for a Motel 6 but we thought we were getting a much better room. Of course, when we tried to upgrade, there was nothing available so I don't have an opinion on the size or quality of other rooms.

Room Tip: Be careful and make sure of the size and bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dukeman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Dukeman64,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide us with your feedback regarding your stay. Unfortunately square footage is at a bit of a premium in the downtown core of Vancouver and so many new hotel builds have been required maximize on space based on average amount of people in the room and average length of stay.
It is wonderful to hear that your guest service experience was aligned with the purpose that our ambassadors strive to provide on a daily basis.
Hopefully, despite room size, the service and other amenities, will bring you back to the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel on your future travels.
Have a refreshing day,
K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel on room only basis. Very clean, comfortable and modern. Reception staff were really helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Easy walking distance to Stanley Park which is a nice area to wander around. Few blocks away to some really nice shops in one direction, and some good restaurants in another direction. Close to waterfront, as you might expect, the convention centre and other interesting parts of the city ~ gastown being one. There was a good gym, together with pools and hot tub. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, or returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzi1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M, Manager at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Suzi948,
Thanks for your detailed review and for the outstanding rating.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and to providing you with another excellent travel experience.
Have a refreshing day,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Cosy hotel in the heart of Vancouver. Close to the yachtharbour and convention center. Good rooms and beds with great comfort.
Restaurant with a well supplied bar, and the bartender knows what he does.
60 can dollars away from the airport-30 minutes.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lift-in generals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flemmingt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The outstanding quality of the clean, quiet, nicely appointed hotel room was matched by the caring staff, the on-site restaurant and the location within walking distance of the top sites in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Coast Coal Harbour is in a relatively quiet area... but very convenient. Only 2-3 blocks from the Convention Center and waterfront; easy walking distance to Gastown going one direction and only a few blocks to busy and active Robson street in another direction. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed in a modern mode---we had a corner room with large windows facing two directions for a bright airy feel. The hotel had a very nice gym and a larger than normal business center for a hotel of its modest size. The relatively small restaurant had an excellent dinner offering--the bartender Chris was friendly and knowledgeable. I have stayed in downtown Vancouver 10+ times, at some of the most premium hotels over the years---and given the choice, I would come back here in a flash, particularly since the price value combination was so good.

Room Tip: try for a corner room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,068 reviews
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,696 reviews
West End
Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £112 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing