We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Welcoming Staff”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is located conveniently at the North edge of downtown Vancouver, a short 10-15 minute walk from most of the sights we had planned on seeing during our 4 days in town. The description of their views is a bit off - the harbor view is only accomplished by peering through the surrounding buildings at a thin sliver of the harbour. Best recommendation would be to select a nice city view on a higher floor - as we were usually only in the room during sleeping hours, the lit up city was a great panorama. We found the rooms comfortable and the staff accommodating.

Room Tip: Choose the City View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BigDaddy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    571
    122
    25
    18
See reviews for
386
689
122
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

First of all, check their website for sales. We ended up saving a lot by directly booking with them then any of the other travel websites.

Second, I am disappointed that I live in Ontario and that there are no Coast hotels here for us to enjoy.

Third, this place was GREAT! The location is awesome. 15-20 minute walk to almost everything.

We were greeted immediately by the valet as we had rented a car. We were checked in quickly and we liked that you could only access the floors with your card. VERY secure.

The room was incredible! Corner unit with a great view of the harbour. And we were not in a luxury room. When booking ask for the side on the harbour.The bathroom had large bottles of lotion, shampoo, conditioner and body wash. There were sample sizes for you to take home but it was great to have the large bottles. We did have some trouble with the pumps but we figured it out eventually.

The only complaint we had is that the drawers are not plentiful. There were only 3 and they were not very deep.

It is very quiet. We never heard anyone on our floor. A first in our years of travelling to have that in a hotel.

The pool was great and the hot tub relaxing.

We always received great recommendations for food and where to go for seeing the Canada Day fireworks.

The best customer service was when we were notified within an hour of check out that we had left something behind despite our 3 checks. They have sent it to us and hoping it arrives soon.

Honestly the best hotel experience ever.

Room Tip: Ask for the harbour side for the view but all rooms should be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We has 3 nights here as the hotel we were booked into had had a burst pipe and flooded the rooms , they arranged everything including the taxi fair .

The hotel is bright and airy , staff are very pleasant and helpful.

The rooms are wonderful and the beds especially comfortable.

It's a short walk across the road to a great place for breakfast , Urban Fare, which has also a supermarket inside for all the other bits you might need.

The harbour or sea wall are only 5 mins away and you can even walk to Stanley Park from here.

If we go back to Vancouver then we'd certainly stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank tyredout2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here four nights with my family, two adults and two childrem age 9+11. The location is great, room size ok. The hotel also have a well equipped fitness room, outdoor pool and hottub. Everything seems great, the hotel however dont offer tradition hotel breakfast which came as a big disappointment. You can get a simple continental breakfast at the nearby restaurant for "only" 70-80 dollar! What a rip off! The hotel score would have been 4-5, but taken everything into account I only give it a score 3.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank PMA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Pros: location, good staff, cleanliness and safety.

Cons: the towels could use some bleach. Seriously they really do , kinda grayish color is not what I d like to see in my bath at a 5* hotel.

Wish there was a fridge in the room at least a mini bar with a fridge - none:(

Other than that it was ok

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank usroman0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed there from June 20th til June 22nd 2014. It was a beautiful hotel in a great location. Within walking distance to the harbour. The room was luxurious and we had a great view. All the staff were very helpful. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
5 Thank Judy19472014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Perry, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We just spent two nights at this hotel and really enjoyed our stay. The room was a nice size with a large wall of windows and a view of the harbour. The location was great, just a short walk to downtown or to the seawall and the extremely picturesque Coal Harbour. We were able to rent bikes close by and in no time we were in and exploring Stanley Park.
We had breakfast twice at Preston's. Good selection and food. Only small complaints were - small pool and no bar fridge. If those aren't important factors to you, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank hallake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,515 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,954 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,505 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
3,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing