We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New property, large spacious room, great view but not luxurious” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New property, large spacious room, great view but not luxurious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

the hotel , location and staff are all very good. the lobby is a little sparse. The bathrooms are a little small and plain. we had a large corner room on teh 17th floor. i would reccomend the corner rooms. They have great windows and a very good view of the harbor. The location is excellent and is great for walking to shops, restaurants and the waterfront. The pool is quite small . The 37 parking charge seemed steep but maybe that is the going rate. I would rate this 3.5 if possible.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlsLincoln_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    534
    116
    24
    18
See reviews for
348
635
112
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Wow! what a steal! Rooms are spotless, spacious, and large. Front office is very friendly, and the price is right. They also offer FREE high speed wireless or wired internet. (unlike the surrounding hotels) Long story short we LOVED our stay. The pool and hot tub was also very nice. The hotel is also very green! (Eco friendly) What a nice change.

Allan
Kootenays B.C.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poster_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Spent 2 nights recently. Rate was their "wedding special" - show a wedding invitation and it gets you a great rate. Room was on the 15th floor with great views from floor to ceiling windows. Location of the hotel is very convenient, on a quiet street near the water and within easy walking distance of both Gastown and Stanley Park. Service was very good (great job Nicci - you're cut out to excel in the hospitality industry). Only minor negatives, the room was a little small, no fridge and the A/C was quite loud. Overall this is a great value for money choice in an expensive city. Also had a very good meal at Preston's.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2fromTrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed for two nights after booking a great discount rate through the hotel.

We chatted nicely with the reception staff and (cheekily) asked if we could get the nicest room possible even though we had got such a cheap rate already. We were very pleasantly surprised when we got a high floor with a great view of the harbour.

As others have said the location is great. Easy walk up to Robson street and even easier to get on to the 'hop on-hop off' bus which is a great way to get around the city. A block or two from the waterfront which is a definite for a stroll along.

Staff are super friendly, rooms (as expected) are modern, clean and fresh.

For the price we paid we got a real bargain in a very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Prior to even arriving at this hotel I was impressed. I had a need to contact the front desk on a couple of occassions to co ordinate a few things. I received great advice and 100% assistance from the reception staff.
The hotel was surprisingly easy to find.....for an out of towner. The position is excellent, just a couple of blocks back from Canada Place. An excellent place to stay prior to heading out on an Alaskan cruise......very close to the ports. The light rail system is easy to access from the hotel...just a very short distance. My husband arrived from the airport using the Canada line and i drove in on Hwy 1/ Hastings Street. Neither of us had any difficulties.
The staff looking after the cars/valet parking are all delightfully helpful and super efficient. Their local roads and traffic knowledged was spot on...While at the hotel we ventured off in many directions and each time was given extra tips by the lads taking care of the vehicles.
We stayed at the hotel on two occassions...pre and post cruise. We experienced both the comfort room and the superior room. Both room types are well appointed with plenty of room space. Great bathrooms with everything we needed available.
The hotel rooms were both very quiet. We didnt ever hear any other outside noises.
We enjoyed our breakfast at the hotel's restaurant.....but didnt have every breakfast there as the hotel is situated in an area where there are many eateries and interesting cafes to explore.
I was impressed most of all with the staff. This hotel must being doing something very right to have so many happy helpful staff ....all the time. Well done Coast Coal Harbour.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

My boyfriend and I spent one night (though I wish it had been more) at the Coast Coal Harbour and, having experienced many hotels on our 2-week west coast vacation - all of them very nice in various ways - this was our favourite. We had king room on the top floor with a gorgeous view of the harbour. The room was spacious, very well appointed and the bed was a dream. The staff was super friendly, happy and helpful (thanks Jeremiah!). Some of the things that put this stay at the top of the list:
- Eco-consciousness (recycling AND compost bins, low-flow toilets, large pump-action containers of body wash, shampoo, etc. ~ we didn't have to waste the small travel containers which are also provided)
- Reliable free wireless internet connection
- A fantastic gym facility, complete with locker room and lockers, which lead out to the pool and whirlpool. You don't have to go back up to your room to change into your swim suit and take a dip after your workout. Really loved the convenience of this!
- Speedy elevators! Even though we were on the top floor, we never waited more than a few seconds for one.
- Noon checkout. It was nice to not feel rushed (made us feel like we got an extra day) without having to ask for a late checkout.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulajean68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Stayed a week, beautiful premium room with a large balcony and view of the harbour. I rented a bike for the week to explore gorgeous Stanley park and the staff stored and delivered it whenever I needed it.
Vancouver’s Insiders Tips: 2 Starbucks within a block but Caffè Artigiano on the same block is the best coffee spot in town (Coffee lovers - The Coast’s own in room decaf is to die for, best decaf coffee I’ve tasted.) Best ice-cream in north America is at Gelarmony (formerly Mondo Gelato), a couple of blocks away on Robson also another near English Bay on Denman.
Extremely comfortable bed in a quiet hotel which is hard to find downtown in most cities. Large bathrooms. Gym is small but well equipped with an outdoor pool and hot tub. Ate at Prestons twice, good food and very pleasant staff. Have had good experiences in all Coast hotels and this one is exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing