We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitsilano Cozy”
Review of Alma Beach Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alma Beach Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have stayed at the Alma Beach Manor on more than one occasion--and we will definitely want to stay there again. We very much enjoy the comfy Ambleside Studio, situated in the front of the inn. For a couple, the size is perfect. The bedroom/sitting and kitchen/dining areas adjoin each other; separately, off the kitchen, is a bathroom that is sized more nicely than one might expect in a Studio. Everything is well-stocked, prettily appointed, technology-equipped (satellite/flat screen TV and WiFi), meticulously clean, and very quiet. Night or day, we have never heard a peep emanating from other areas, even from the nearby entry hall and stairway. There are some very nice touches--a Nespresso machine in the kitchen (as well as a "regular" full-sized coffee-maker and anything else you would need for food preparation), a telephone in the hall (if you need to use this rather than your own cell phone), and a welcome basket with tasty goodies (including bread to die for). The views to the little garden to the front and side of the property are so gratifying.

Located in the fabulous Kitsilano neighborhood, ABM is conveniently situated about midway between the city center to the east and the University of British Columbia (and its fantastic Anthropology Museum) to the west. A block from ABM are bus routes in either direction. (We once had an auto with us--and never used it!) However, you just may never wish to leave Kits! It provides blocks and blocks of fabulous walks and shopping at a mind-bending variety of little stores, markets, and restaurants. Just a 5-minute walk from ABM begins a lovely stroll to beaches and parks along Point Gray Road and English Bay.

Owners Manfred and Carol (the most congenial and accommodating proprietors you can imagine) have added to the ABM's array of accommodations a second Studio suite (the Locarno, although we were unable to view it on our recent visit). If you are going to have visitors, or just need to spread out, you may want to consider a one-bedroom unit. Manfred and Carol personally showed us a couple that are available on the second floor--larger-sized, elegant, and lovely! If you are traveling with children, family, or others, the owners can make even larger accommodations available.

There are not a lot of properties of this sort and caliber in Kitsilano. We recommend this place without reservation--though be sure to make one as ABM is a very popular place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are absolutely delighted your enjoyed the Ambleside suite, one of my favourites for one or two people. I love the outlook onto the street both in the summer and winter.
The new Locarno suite is now complete. It is cozy on the ground level but boasts a walk in closet!
We look forward to you returning to Alma Beach Manor!
Regards,
Carol and Manfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Parts of our family stayed in two different units Manfred owns in Kitsilano, and we managed to cook a full Thanksgiving dinner in the well appointed kitchen of our two-bedroom unit on Second Avenue, with kids running in and out and everyone helping in their special ways. All these units are well equipped, very well maintained, clean and pleasant; the photos give an accurate sense. (Just beware that, because these are former houses, noise can transfer; we heard music and someone shuffling around with shoes on above the master bedroom for a couple hours one night after midnight. So go for the larger top unit!)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Both Manfred and I are delighted you enjoyed your family gathering at our second property, Bayswater Manor on west. 2nd Ave. Happy to hear the kitchen provided the venue for your family celebration.
Thank you for pointing out the noise issue from the suite above. As a result of your comment we have installed a carpet in the hallway in the suite above. We have tested it and good news, there is barely a muffled sound if you listen carefully. We rely on guest feed back to ensure future guest experience is improved.
Thank you for writing to Trip Advisor, we appreciate your time, comments and ideas.
Regards,
Carol and Manfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The manor was in a great location for a visit to family over Thanksgiving (US). The suite was clean and well appointed and Manfred helped us settle in and made us feel welcomed. We appreciated the notebook with information about some of the local restaurants and amenities.
A perfect place to stay in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milleran1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

WE are so happy you enjoyed spending Thanksgiving with your family at Alma Beach Manor. Sharing special holidays with family is memorable. We are delighted you found all you needed to make your celebration enjoyable.
I personally wrote the "Insider Secrets" of our neighbourhood to share with our guests the experience of living in Kitsilano, we love this area with the abundance of cafes, restaurants, grocery stores, bakeries and boutiques. We walk to all the amenities within Kitsilano.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family for another celebration in our beautiful city.
Regards,
Carol and Manfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Our family was very comfortable at Alma Beach Manor. The location was excellent for the things we wanted to do in Vancouver. The accommodations were well supplied for us to do our own meals. On street parking was available. The owner was very helpful when we had questions about something in the house.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Jonathon,
It was a pleasure having you as a guest at the manor, I am so happy you enjoyed yourself and found everything to your satisfaction.
Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor, we appreciate your time.
We look forward to welcoming you next time your travels take you to our beautiful city.
Carol and Manfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

As our home was being renovated for three months we looked at various places where we could stay. Immediately we were taken with the charm of the manor and were impressed with care and attention the owners, Carol and Manfred, took in showing the suites to us.

We loved it here and moved into the Dundarave Suite. The furnishings are elegant and comfortable. The bed is heavenly. Our suite was beautifully maintained as was the entire manor thanks to the owners and their staff members, Rachelle and Tim.

We felt so at home here and appreciated how both owners and staff were most hospitable always
greeting us and offering to help in any way we might need.

The manor is centrally located making it easy to travel to all destinations within the city.

If you are looking for a vacation rental by owner please be sure to include the Alma Beach Manor.

Room Tip: The Alma Beach Manor has several suites to choose from including studios, one bedrooms, two bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Peter and Lynn,
We still miss having you here with us!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor, we really appreciate your acknowledgment of the hospitality we provide as well as very comfortable amenities in the suite.
As you know we rely on our guest comments as a recommendation for future guests, referral is so important, the best compliment we can receive for our efforts. We are very fortunate to have an amazing team to assist us in our guests enjoyment. I will pass along your kind words to Tim and Rachelle, I know they will be delighted.
It is just not the same without your presence here in Alma Beach Manor. Please come and see us when you are settled in your newly renovated home.
Warmest regards to both of you,
Carol and Manfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

A peaceful, friendly oasis of comfort with a basket of healthful, fresh food as well. And delicious REAL espresso! Clean and spacious. Tastefully decorated and well appointed. A pleasant, safe, short (umbrella provided) walk to everything I needed. Knowledgeable, kind and helpful hosts. What a wonderful haven in a beautiful city. Better than home. I'll be back. Soon.

Room Tip: Very roomy studio, main floor was my choice. Large north facing windows. All other suites are lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank pikesnpynns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor, we appreciate your thoughtfulness.
We are sincerely delighted you enjoyed staying in the Ambleside Suite at Alma Beach Manor. Although a studio it has a certain charm all our guests seem to enjoy. The Nespresso coffee and fresh Baked bread are a new addition to our welcome basket, we are pleased you enjoyed both. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Alma Beach Manor when you return to Vancouver in the future.
Regards,
Carol and Manfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a last minute booking and our hosts, Carol and Manfred, were most accommodating, friendly and made us feel very much at home. The location is very convenient and in a good neighborhood. The apartment (one bedroom) was well equipped and very clean. The decor is superb and the whole house is well appointed. I would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Carmen,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor, we really appreciate your positive comments.
The cleanliness of the suites is of paramount importance to us, happy you enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen and bathrooms.
The location is so central for both downtown and Kitsilano, happy that also worked for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Alma Beach Manor on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,646 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Beach Suites

Address: 2814 W 3rd Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6K 1J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Kitsilano
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: £120 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma Beach Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful fully furnished and equipped apartments (including kitchens) ranging from Studios to Three bedrooms available for rent. There are 3 locations all within the Kitsilano neighbourhood. The model is a "home away from home" which allows cooking in completely equipped kitchens. Management is always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Alma Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing