We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Have just returned from spending four nights at this hotel. Every member of staff I had contact with was pleasant and helpful and went out of their way to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I loved the room (city side) and had fun with the lights and curtains - possibly sad but they all worked. Can't fault the hotel or its location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingSam2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,831 - 2,837 of 3,212 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

In a city that boasts its fair share of Fairmonts (in fact there are several within mere blocks of each other, including historic Fairmont Hotel Vancouver – formerly ‘Hotel Vancouver’), Fairmont Pacific Rim is a relatively recent addition (just under 18 months old) to the line of luxury hotels and perhaps, arguably, one of the best hotels in the city. It is conveniently located downtown, just off Coal Harbor and other attractions like Canada Place – housing the Convention Center, the Olympic Cauldron, Vancouver’s seawall stretch and not to be missed Stanley Park.

One thing you immediately notice upon arrival is the warm welcome by the bellhop receivers at the front entrance--smartly dressed in all black attire complete with fedoras and a welcoming smile—asking to help with luggage while directing you to the front desk attendants. Off to your right is as you enter is a lobby lounge and bar towards the back and, to your right sits the reception area and Concierge. On this particular stay check-in was pretty quick and efficient and we were able to get up to our rooms in no time.

The hotel design aesthetic is the brainchild of Hong Kong born Canadian, James K.M Cheng (also responsible for the Shangri-La Vancouver and Tonronto) and is decidedly ultra-modern but functionally so. Rooms are well appointed and very spacious with either city or bay views and come equipped with all the standards, plus plush bedding, do-it-yourself coffee service by way of pretty smart looking Nespresso makers, expansive bathrooms with rain showers, TV in mirror, and luxurious bath products by Miller Harris.

Oru, the onsite restaurant is a Pan-Asian bistro helmed by Executive chef David Wong who cleverly incorporates east and west flavors in his specialties. I’m a sucker for a nice breakfast spread and Oru’s is pretty much as good as they come. You have the choice to order a la carte or experience the buffet (which includes most things on the menu anyway). My recommendation: go for the buffet. It runs ‘roughly’ about the same amount, ~30 CAD (not terribly inexpensive, admittedly), as ordering a la carte, but with a better value in my opinion. For a grab-and-go option or a more casual alternative, check out bustling daytime café and nighttime wine bar, Giovane café which is also onsite.

For a little R&R, the Fairmont Pacific Rim features a roof deck cabana lounge with a heated pool where you can take a plunge and order drinks pool-side till after dark, or for a more serene relaxing experience, try one of the services at Willow Stream spa.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and highly recommend this property. And, who knows, you may just run into a celebrity or two.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theflyinggazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at the service was fantastic

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackswine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My husband and I were here for 2 nights before our trip on the Rocky Mountaineer. The Pacific Rim was highly recommended by our travel agent and it lived up to our expectations! It is very high tech and we had some problems dealing with the touch pads for everything including the TV in the bathroom mirror (loved this!). The small casual cafe downstairs was perfect for informal meals and free internet connection (not so in the rooms). Our room overlooked the pool and the mountains above, would have asked for a harbor view room because of the early/late noisy swimmers. The front desk (Dinera) were most helpful and professional. Concierge were also very knowledgable. Everything met our expectations!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, Director of Operations at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Thank you for selecting Fairmont Pacific Rim in your travel plans; we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and trust you enjoyed your journey aboard the Rocky Mountaineer! All of us at Fairmont Pacific Rim look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Ruddi Gimmi
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We are from Vancouver, and celebrated our wedding anniversary with a getaway in our own town. We enjoyed excellent service throughout our visit. When we arrived in our room there was a lovely plate of chocolate and fruit as a "happy anniversary" gift from the hotel (I had mentioned when I booked that we were going to be celebrating our anniversary). We were booked in a "deluxe harbourfront room" and the rooms are very beautifully designed and maintained. We looked Northeast, over Canada Place, and enjoyed watching the cruise ships leave for Alaska from our room. Though it was windy, we enjoyed our time at the outdoor pool--there are very nice lounge chairs set up around the pool and we enjoyed sitting after we had gone for a swim. We ran out of time this visit, but next visit I'll definitely book a service in the spa--there is a lovely terrace as part of the spa with outside seating and two hot tubs--it looked very inviting. We had a wonderful stay, and we'll be back.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank petey604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, Director of Operations at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Fairmont Pacific Rim and hope you had a wonderful Anniversary stay-cation! Our team will be thrilled to hear your feedback. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Ruddi Gimmi
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location close to the main train station and skytrain stations in downtown Vancouver. Very modern with great facilites comfy beds and beautiful rooms. The swimming pool is on the sixth floor and has great views over the olympic flame and the seaplane port. The staff could not be more helpful or friendly, i would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaffyBrightonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Lucked out and found the "bed and breakfast" deal for our reservation, which included 2 full breakfasts each day. We chose to have room service for these so that we could eat and get out the door. The food arrived at the chosen time, all was prepared well, and hot food was good and hot. The service staff were polite and efficient.
Our room (2 queen beds, soooo comfortable!) was modern, comfortable and had plenty of space for our family of four. Lights and curtains were on a touch control system. Great once we figured it all out. The bathroom, quite large and modern, marble tile and a huge shower. There was even a T.V. in the bathroom mirror. (My daughter brushed her teeth watching cartoons!) We did not pay the extra for the water view but were not disappointed with the amazing city view. (Spent most of the day out and about with all sorts of water views)
But the best thing about the Fairmont Pacific Rim is the staff. From the moment we arrived, we were greated and treated like kings. Smiling staff, (from the doormen to the in-room dining staff) tending to our every need, questions answered cheerfully, each genuinely interested and asking "How was your day?" Even though we had made many plans, read alot about Vancouver and brought maps and info, we needed and received help from the concierges for much of our sightseeing and outings. They gave us excellent advise, booking event tickets ahead of time and saving us from standing in ticket office lines. In hindsight, this alone made me so happy that we stayed in a "nicer" hotel.
We took taxis, walked, biked and used the free shuttles (to Capilano and Grouse Mountain). We never did try the public transportation. The taxis were so convenient, parked and waiting outside the hotel. For about a dollar more than the bus, our whole family could come and go via taxi on our own schedule.

Room Tip: Try the bed and breakfast deal. Join the Fairmont President's Club, (complimetary), then HS inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,038 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,509 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,821 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pacific Rim

Address: 1038 Canada Place, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 0B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £251 - £673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Pacific Rim 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Pacific Rim – Vancouver's definitive luxury hotel – rated the World’s Best Business Hotel by Condé Nast Traveler readers and the #1 City hotel in Canada by Travel + Leisure. This ultramodern downtown hotel offers unobstructed mountain and harbour views, combining the best of the Pacific Rim in its architecture and décor. The hotel features three eclectic dining destinations, resort-style Willow Stream Spa, rooftop pool deck, and lavish guestrooms; while art, music and fashion take centre stage at the city’s most exclusive reservation. Experience a variety of the city’s most luxurious suites including the newest addition, The Fairmont Gold Owner’s Suite Collection: stylish mid-century modern designed suites inspired by what makes a city feel alive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Pacific Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pacific Rim Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing