We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views and location, location, location.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Pacific Rim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning views and location, location, location.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Without a doubt, one of my favourite luxury hotels in Vancouver, The location is outstanding, adjacent to the downtown area and the beautiful Vancouver Harbourfront. The Vancouver Convention Centre is just steps away as is the Cruise Ship Terminal. Even better is the proximity to downtown shops, restaurants and historical areas of Chinatown, Gastown and Granville Island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour if possible, the views of the North Shore and Stanley Park ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,414
    278
    53
    24
    20
See reviews for
595
1,044
126
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Great location and our room overlooked Canada Place and the harbour. Gastown is close by as is the ferry terminal to get over to North Vancouver. Our room was quite large with quality furnishings and a super modern bathroom and lighting system. The bed was heavenly, one of those vast roomy ones with just the right degree of mattress softness and a light quilt for agreeable warmth. The air con was able to be manually adjusted for personal comfort. Checkin was quick although the hotel was very busy. A lovely touch was a young lady playing the piano in the lounge while we waited for someone to bring our luggage. Staff were pleasant, knowledgeable and friendly. A real touch of luxury.

Room Tip: If a view is important, mountains, water, activity, ask for a harbour room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavis25510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We thought the FPR offered excellent value. We had a spacious, well appointed, corner king with a city view for just under $400/nt.
I don't know if it's this hotel in particular that is well priced or Vancouver in general, but a comparable room at a comparable hotel would be a lot more in many large cities in the US.
The decor is minimalist and modern, but also warm and comfortable with nice Asian touches. I found the push-button lighting controls a little tough to use (hard to see what did what), but they worked well.
Next time, we'd probably pay up for water views as the beauty is incredible, and it would be nice to avoid some of the city noise (not awful but noticeable).
The common areas are generally very nice. Gym was large and decent - not the prettiest or most modern, but far from bad. The spa was lovely though we found the treatment pricing to very high. Lovely lobby, entrance, elevators etc.
We loved our daily breakfast at Oru where we found the huge, delicious buffet to be a pretty good deal at $33pp. Service there was fantastic; if you have a little extra time to chat, ask for Josh as a server, as he's a wealth of info on Vancouver and his bubbly personality is a real treat.
I think it's awesome that the hotel provides complimentary bicycles - was great to be able to hop on one and head to the park (and work off some of the breakfast buffet). Was a nice offset to the $14/day wifi.
With the exception of some confusion and delays around check-in and room selection, the service was very good, especially housekeeping.
Two things I'd love to see changed:
1. The daily live music in the lobby in the evenings. It was loud and bad, in my opinion. I may be an outlier in that view, since there was always a bit of a crowd, but I thought it was pretty awful. Would have loved to enjoy a drink or some sushi at the lobby bar, but just couldn't stand that music - was a bummer to return to it every night.
2. May seem strange or petty, but I found the fragrance of the bath products almost unbearably strong and unpleasant, like nasty, cheap perfume. Even the hand soup. Middle of the night, I'd wash my hands and bam! that smell would whack me. Used the shampoo once and my hair reeked for days- yucky. My husband refused to use it. They really need to switch to a different line or fragrance.

All in all we were thrilled with our stay at FPR. It was probably one of the best values we've ever experienced. Would happily stay there again if the pricing were similar.

Room Tip: I think it makes sense to pay up for water views. There's construction across the street on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim &
Regional Vice President,Pacific Northwest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a Saturday night, checking in at 10.30am with no worries which was great after a long flight from Australia. This place is amazing. All the bells and whistles you could ask for. Our room overlooked the pool area complete with hot tub and private cabanas with LCD tv's and fire pits - just awesome. Bathroom has it all - big tub, seperate shower, and a mirror that is a TV. Electric blinds along with lighting schemes that can be controlled by the iPad supplied by the hotel for your use. Beautiful comfy beds, gorgeous hotel, lobby and bar. Staff were great.
Just awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have traveled very extensively in North America, and based on our experiences, this was the best all around hotel we ever stayed in. We started out the first 2 nights in a city view room which was great. We then were upgraded to a corner suite facing coal Bay, which was absolutely fabulous. Everything was wonderful, the location, the rooms, the bathroom, the room amenities, the beds, etc., etc. Especially outstanding was the hotel service, with Ms. Laura Thompson especially deserving of mention. The stay in this property helped make our vacation a memorable one..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliot w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay during your time in Vancouver and will be sure to share your kind words with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pacific Rim in the future.

Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim &
Regional Vice President,Pacific Northwest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We thought this hotel was very central to everything, the staff very helpful and friendly. Lots to see and do in Vancouver. Our tour stayed two nights before we caught our ship Volendam, to Alaska. On our return 7 days later, our arrival was early morning, our room wasn't ready, we were offered an upgrade, but decided to head into town, and come back later, our room on the top floor was ready, it was large comfortable and very clean, with a lovely view of the area. Our only minor complaint was my husbands evening meal, $43 for a very small steak, potato mash with kale on top, which was like eating tough cardboard, very disappointing for him, my meal was delicious. Love the Fairmont and would always stay there again. The staff very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Fairmont Pacific Rim for one night as we were going to a concert that evening in Stanley Park. The room was amazing and the staff were very friendly. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in!! We had a view of the pool as well as Stanley park!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for selecting Fairmont Pacific Rim as part of your travel plans to Vancouver. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the stunning views of the rooftop pool and Stanley Park from your guestroom. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim &
Regional Vice President,Pacific Northwest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pacific Rim

Property: Fairmont Pacific Rim
Address: 1038 Canada Place, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 0B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Pacific Rim 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unobstructed views of the harbour and mountains, Fairmont Pacific Rim is a newcomer to an area rich in history and intrigue. Located in the heart of the historic port and financial district, the hotel fronts one of Vancouver's most celebrated streetscapes with unobstructed views of the North Shore Mountains, Stanley Park and Coal Harbour. Sophisticated and cosmopolitan but casual and contemporary, this downtown Vancouver hotel combines the best of Asia and the west coast in its plan, décor, and culinary offerings. Designed with five star standards and amenities, the 367-room luxury Vancouver hotel features lavish appointments, naturally inspired materials, comfortable furnishings and state-of-the-art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Fairmont Pacific Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pacific Rim Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing