We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Nearby Hotels
Opus Hotel(Vancouver)
US$566
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$402
Opus Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$511
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$472
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Granville Island Hotel(Vancouver)
US$397
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$407
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$454
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$435
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$551
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$443
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$409
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$425
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$412
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,307)
Filter reviews
3,307 results
Traveller rating
2,822
369
65
28
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,822
369
65
28
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbathroom mirrorlobby loungeoru restaurantwillow stream spagiovane cafebmw bikesstanley parkhigh techgold floorcar serviceconvention centercanada placeroom servicebeautiful hotelsoaker tubcorner suitecoal harbour
Filter
Updating list...
2,028 - 2,033 of 3,307 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We planned a weeklong vacation in Canada that included flying staying in Vancouver for three days, driving to Lake Louise for a five day stay, and then a two day stay in Calgary. We did not have a compelling reason to pick the Fairmont Pacific Rim. It simply seemed to look good "on paper."

As we emerged from our car, the doorman eagerly greeted us, attended to our luggage, and showed us where to go. Inside, the staff had us checked in and shown our room in a matter of minutes.

The room was as shown on their web page. However, there were some pleasant surprises. Our balcony had an outdoor fire place, the bathroom had a tv built into the mirror, and the entire lighting and climate control was managed through an IPAD. We loved it. We rarely make use of minibars, but the one made available was very nice. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were soft. In the evenings, the beds were turned down and the TV's were set to soothing ambient music. Staying in the room was a pleasure.

It was just as pleasing outside our room. The hotel has bicycles with helmets that are complementary. Also, if available a hotel car (a nice BMW 750i) could whisk you away to nearby spots. In the evenings, live music played in the 'hip' restaurant / bar near the lobby. It got a little crowded, but the hotel also had a wine bar open in the evenings for those desiring a more quiet ambiance. The bartender was fantastic and one of the few I had come across that knew how to make a vesper martini. Another bartender suggested to us a winery at which to have lunch on our drive to Lake Louise. It was Quail's Gate and turned out to be a superb choice.

Bottom line is that as long as we could afford it, we'd stay at Fairmont Pacific Rim. It was among the best stays we have had at a hotel.

Unfortunately, the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a different story and will be the subject of a different review.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your kind compliments and feedback on your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the amenities in your guest room and the complimentary access to our BMW cars and bikes. We hope you had a wonderful time at Quail’s Gate Winery and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pacific Rim for another vesper martini on your next trip to Vancouver!
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I stayed one night prior to our Alaska Cruise from Vancouver. I contacted this hotel prior to arriving to ask the best way to get from airport to hotel and they were very helpful advising me to either take the Train or a Taxi. We opted for the train and are glad we did. It was a fun experience and dropped us off just a short walk to the hotel. (if you don't have too much luggage I recommend taking the train!) The hotel is beautiful and right in the middle of everything! We walked to Stanley Park (about a 20 minute walk) and absolutely LOVED the area!
From our room on the 16th floor (partial harbor and city views) we could see EVERYTHING! the cruise ships were docked almost directly below us... and the city view was beautiful.
Before bording our ship for our cruise we had lunch at the TOP OF VANCOUVER revolving restaraunt. This is a MUST DO when visiting Vancouver!!!! Amazing views as the restaraunt slowly spins to show you 360 degree views.
The concierge service at the hotel was so helpful answering all of our questions and offerin an umbrella (just in case). the doormen are pleasant, and helpful too!
The ameneties in our room were awesome... had a great soak in the tub while listening to music through the (mirror tv ... that was cool!)

we were very happy with our stay at Fairmont Pacific Rim and will plan to return to spend more time exploring Vancouver! Feel free to contact me with any questions about our trip or our Alaska Cruise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Debi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback on TripAdvisor from your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our amenities and that you had the opportunity to experience the Canada Line transit line and the beautiful views from the Revolving Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pacific Rim soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us at VPR.Concierge@Fairmont.com and we would be pleased to assist you with making arrangements for your next trip to Vancouver. We hope you had a wonderful time on your Alaskan Cruise!
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in Fairmont Pacific Rim for two nights in June. We were on a family holiday to meet one of our daughters who works in BC. We choose the hotel as a special base to begin our canadian experience after a long journey, 23 hours. We were looking forward to relaxing with our daughter in the evenings as our youngest slept upstairs. The rooms, food, staff are all great but where this hotel fails completely is with the lobby. The ACOUSTICS are awful. And when the live music plays it's just horrific. As well as being unbelievably loud we thought the music was terrible. It's impossible to have a conversation there. I am stunned that a hotel of this calibre does not have a quiet area in which to chat and have a drink. We did look for one but there was nowhere for us to go. I've never come across that before. It was all we wanted. Instead we got noise and stress. Mellow it is not. Seemed to be full of non residents. We complained on the second night having abandoned all hope of a conversation due to the din. We were told that yes there was an issue and that a sound engineer had been on site the previous three days. My ears were ringing for ages when I returned to my room. I wonder about health and safety issues for staff and guests with the current acoustics. After we had left the hotel we received an email offering us a room upgrade and a bottle of wine to drink in the Giovane restaurant should we ever return. A nice gesture but NEVER AGAIN. I joined Trip Advisor to write this review, that's how upset I felt about our experience. We put a lot of thought into our holiday and were so disappointed and frustrated with our Fairmont stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
11  Thank Ellybanelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our guestrooms, service, and culinary offerings however regret to hear The Lobby Lounge did not meet your expectations. Please note we are currently working through the transition of our sound system and have been actively working with a sound technician to improve the quality of sound. I would welcome you to contact me directly at Philip.Barnes@Fairmont.com to discuss your experience in further detail. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Fairmont Pacific Rim.
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Quick check-in at arrival by doorman Wow! quickest check-in ever!
Great room, very clean. comfy bed and quiet in general.
Hotel is very comfortable and personal is extremely polite and friendly.
Truly enjoyed my stay and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Nadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We are pleased to hear you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to having you with us again at Fairmont Pacific Rim!
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

One fine day my reservation at Shangri La got lost (by Shangri La), so I was "homeless" in Vancouver. Contacted Pacific Rim on a recommendation and have NEVER looked back.. Everything from the location to the amenities to the staff to the Lobby Lounge to the way the place smells to the rooms to the food.. Best place in Vancouver to stay without exception.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your kind compliments and feedback on your most recent stay with us. Though we are disappointed to hear your initial arrangements fell through, we are grateful to have had the opportunity to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pacific Rim on your next trip to Vancouver.
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews