We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Facility; Service Lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

At first glance, this is a gorgeous hotel. It is right on the water, walking distance from Stanley Park and downtown restaurants and sites. The room itself was beautiful - very high-tech, great view, plenty of room. The sushi restaurant is seriously world-class - very surprised it wasn't more crowded! Vibrant bar scene in the lobby bar, great breakfast buffet. The spa was OK - the space isn't terribly soothing, although the outdoor terrace was quite nice. The pool and cabanas were overcrowded and loud - just not a whole lot of space to be had. We were there on a very busy weekend, so perhaps this is not the norm. Disappointments: scratchy sheets, no turndown service at all. Not a good place to take an afternoon nap due to proximity to the cruise ship terminal - the horns were very loud - can't imagine you can't hear them from every room in the hotel. So all-in-all expected more for the price!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback; we sincerely appreciate it. We’re disappointed to hear of your recent experience and I would invite you to contact me directly at Philip.Barnes@Fairmont.com to discuss in further detail. We certainly hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to Fairmont Pacific Rim in the future.
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,740 - 1,746 of 3,118 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just returned from the Pacific Rim and it was exactly what I expected based on the reviews. First I chose this strictly on the TA reviews.

First off the manager of this hotel, Evan was the best I have ever encountered. From our first meeting at the front desk, he personally checked us in and my family feel like royalty. Fairmount cares about their guests and it makes the difference. We were first timers to the Vancouver area so we rely on the concierge for help booking restaurants and getting around. Everyone at the desk was good but we truly liked dealing with Dana who made this fun and understood our needs when referring us to the different venues. Everyone at the hotel is trained to treat everyone special and that is why this hotel works so well.

There are a few negative comments about the noise in the lobby in the evenings from the live bands, but that is what makes this place so unique, the rooms are silent and that is all you need to know, this place rocks for the young and the more mature adult.

I would recommend this to everyone who wants to experience the high level of opulence.

The only complaints which has nothing to do with staff are the following:

there is not enough light in the room very dark even with all the lights on, they need to put in more lights or brighter bulbs
the technical ipad that controls is hard and almost impossible to use-we tried everything and never could get it right

Even with these few issues the location, staff, bikes, car service so you can avoid cabs, water whenever you need it, and pure beauty are worth this place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 4ofuslovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the service and live entertainment in The Lobby Lounge, however regret to hear you were inconvenienced with a delay in the iPads and a mini bar that may have been missing items you required. I would welcome you to contact me directly at Philip.Barnes@fairmont.com should you wish to discuss your experience in further detail. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Fairmont Pacific Rim soon!
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was our second visit a year after our first and we stayed a total of 10 nights across a period of 3 weeks. We got a fantastic upgrade to a corner suite for the 2 nights which were the first part of our stay and the rest of our time was in rooms on the Gold Club floor. The staff were great throughout the hotel, especially the concierges and door staff who were consistently very helpful and polite. The Gold Club lounge was a welcome retreat from the noise and bustle of the lobby area and the breakfasts and dinners in the main restaurant were very good. However I have a few niggles that take it down from a 5 rating to 4.5.

1. The internet was not free in the rooms we booked for our children. You can go over the road and get free wifi in numerous coffee bars and given the price of the rooms I cannot see how such charges are justified given the minimal marginal cost of extending free wifi across all rooms.
2. The curtains in the rooms do not reach the floor and let in too much light from the very early sunrises.
3. The light switches and curtain controls are far too fiddly and impossible to read when you enter
a dark room.
4. I fully appreciate that it is a busy city centre hotel but the pool area is noisy and the sunlight is blocked for a considerable time by a huge building that has been constructed next door.
5. The music in the Gold lounge is sometimes inappropriate to the ambience that should be created in this area - particularly in the evening. You sense that no thought is given to this and the staff don't care what is being played regardless of the time of day.

But I don't want to finish on negatives. Overall our stay was great and the cost of our 21 room nights in total was acknowledged and recognised by many of the staff. We will be back!

Room Tip: If you use the Gold Lounge and wifi in the rooms it is worth upgrading from standard rooms to Gold r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank walnut20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly share this with our team. I would welcome you to contact me directly at Philip.Barnes@Fairmont.com should you wish to discuss your experience in further detail. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Fairmont Pacific Rim is a great property. The staff is excellent - very friendly - very helpful. The views of the harbor are amazing. The food and drinks are excellent. They only real complaint is the Wi-Fi is less than amazing - quite bad actually. Overall would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1550Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback on TripAdvisor from your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the views and The Lobby Lounge offerings. We hope to have you with us again soon at Fairmont Pacific Rim!
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Fairmont as part of our Rocky Mountaineering experience. The location is great and concierge is helpful The hotel staff were very friendly both at the front desk, on the phone and in the hall way. However, there were a few incidences made me wonder whether good service really entails.

First thing, the WiFi does not always work. I called the front dest and was being transferred to the technical support. It did not help. Finally the problem resolved by itself as I moved to a location with better wifi signal. However, what it triggered was two voice messages and at least one phone call from the front dest to apologize for the inconvenience and to make sure that the problem was resolved. I had to admit that this was very attentive service.

One the other hand, we discovered that there was a half-consumed half-bottle white wine in our mini bar and called the front desk to alert them to the problem (we had encountered the similar situation at Fairmont Washington, D.C. in George Town where my husband and I opened a bottle of beer refilled with tap water). In addition, while the other room my son stayed had drinking water and turn-down service, the room my husband and I stayed were deprived of such service until I call to request them the 2nd night.

While I appreciate the thoroughness of the hotel to check on me at least 3 time to make sure that the WiFi works, I find it less important than to ensure the satisfactory delivery of very basic daily service. And especially, I got no phone call nor apology either over the phone or at the checkout regarding the mini-bar and housekeeping mistakes.

Least to say, the check out took us more than 20 mins in the morning as the front desk staff did not know how to enter the mini-bar items.

Room Tip: Both harbor view and partial harbor view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback; we sincerely appreciate it. We are disappointed to hear of your recent experience and I would invite you to contact me directly at Philip.Barnes@Fairmont.com to discuss in further detail. We certainly hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to Fairmont Pacific Rim in the future.
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Staff were amazing. Place is amazing - very new and clean. Wonderful lobby bar - great entertainment. Free bicycles for guest use is a wonderful perk. The drive in registration was also wonderful as it made arriving easy and fast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to use the complimentary BMW bikes to ride around the city. We hope to welcome you back to Fairmont Pacific Rim soon!
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Absolutely loved Vancouver ..... and it was just as nice getting back to our hotel every evening! In this hotel, it's worth upgrading to the gold floor level for the views from the room and the gold lounge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank lovebeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We are pleased to hear you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us on Fairmont Gold and we look forward to having you with us again at Fairmont Pacific Rim on your next trip to Vancouver!
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,410 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
1,771 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,950 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,724 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pacific Rim

Address: 1038 Canada Place, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 0B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £173 - £956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Pacific Rim 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Pacific Rim – Vancouver's definitive luxury hotel – rated the World’s Best Business Hotel by Condé Nast Traveler readers and the #1 City hotel in Canada by Travel + Leisure. This ultramodern downtown hotel offers unobstructed mountain and harbour views, combining the best of the Pacific Rim in its architecture and décor. The hotel features three eclectic dining destinations, resort-style Willow Stream Spa, rooftop pool deck, and lavish guestrooms; while art, music and fashion take centre stage at the city’s most exclusive reservation. Experience a variety of the city’s most luxurious suites including the newest addition, The Fairmont Gold Owner’s Suite Collection: stylish mid-century modern designed suites inspired by what makes a city feel alive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Pacific Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pacific Rim Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing